We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place in Lenox”
Review of Yankee Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yankee Inn
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Four of us stayed here for a long weekend. We were glad to be in the main building - it's more convenient for breakfast. Weekend breakfast buffets are quite nice although slightly crowded. The room was comfortable and clean with a nice walkout terrace. Good value.

Room Tip: Ask for the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hotel is in a good location, but the older building (South building) is very dated, and these rooms should be much cheaper than what they are. The other buildings may be better, but the South building is not worth the price they are charging. You can get the same type of room at a lower cost any any of the other lower end hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We found the The Yankee inn to be centrally located to museums, various Berkshire towns, Tanglewood, restaurants and theaters.
Indoor and outdoor pools
Continental breakfast included.
Our room had a small balcony

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nadine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was our first visit to the Berkshires, and we had an amazing weekend.

The is friendly, helpful and available. Check in and out was seamless, and our few needs/requests were dealt with promptly and courteously.
Our room (in the Southern Bldg) was small, but very comfortable and worked well for us for the time we were there. Updated (far cry from it’s 50s origins) clean. Good shower, comfortable mattress and pillows--lovely linens. Having a fridge and microwave is always convenient. We enjoyed having breakfast at the Inn, decent selection and well stocked. Omelets on the weekend were a nice touch. Also the access to coffee, tea etc. 24 hours came in handy.
A great jumping off point for Lenox, Stockbridge, Williamstown, North Adams and other Berkshire attractions. We found the Yankee Inn to be a very good value.

Room Tip: For summer--height of the performance season, book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VicPo232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed in the South side- right from the 1950's. The small rooms and bathroom were just adequate, but clean and in repair. Try to shave at the catty-corner sink with the mirror on the right wall... The newer North section is more desirable. The breakfast during the week only includes hard-boiled eggs for protein and no mayonnaise. The exercise room and two pools were nice.

Room Tip: Ask for the new North wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have stayed at a couple of other chain hotel/motels in Lenox and Yankee Inn is far superior. It isn't exactly the charming in the hotel website leads guests to believe but it is spacious and well-maintained. The staff is incredibly welcoming and it is a very quick drive into the center of Lenox. The breakfast is decent and plentiful. The room types vary widely but I loved mine on the parking lot side of the main building. It was huge and had a great little balcony. The beds are comfortable and it is very quiet.

Room Tip: There are different room types. I chose the more expensive room in the main building, and it was wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The facility is older and the rooms reflect some of their age. However, the rooms are clean and the bedding is comfortable. Mini-fridges in the rooms are great to hold the water, wine and foods needed for the picnic meals at Tanglewood and Jacob's Pillow! Sunday morning the included continental breakfast offered omelets to order; an unexpected treat! The breakfast area had three separate dining spaces with the buffet set up in the largest of these. In the evening, a comfy lounge offered a full bar. Picnic tables were available on the lawn for meals. Overall a really good experience! :)

My only negative was the volume of the housekeepers as they started their day; this was my "wake-up call" both mornings :(

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside face open space versus route 20 in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MzEd7882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
11.3 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
8.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Inn

Address: 461 Pittsfield Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lenox
#3 Family Hotel in Lenox
Price Range: £59 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yankee Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yankee Inn is a landmark hotel in the beautifully serene Berkshire Hills of Lenox, MA. The Yankee Inn is cozy and private enough for a romantic getaway, but also accommodating and accessible enough for a family vacation. Our staff works above and beyond to cater to your needs and provide the exact experience you want. The Main Building houses our lobby, cocktail lounge, indoor pool and guest rooms, which included original and newly built hotel rooms. Our South Building maintains the motel style of the original motor lodge, housing smaller and more economical rooms. We provide a complimentary breakfast every morning, leaving you more time to spend skiing or sightseeing. You can also book an in-room massage for ultimate relaxation. Whatever your vacation desires are, we can help you plan the perfect stay. Yankee Inn is your next vacation destination. Book a room with us today and let's get started planning your perfect getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Yankee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing