We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“find somewhere else to stay”
Review of Yankee Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yankee Inn
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2008

this place was not as advertised. The pictures on their web site reek of false advertising. The place smelled bad, there were stains on the carpets, the couches, stains everywhere and dusty. The bathroom was clean but I was so turned off I didn't want to put anything anywhere. There is a Hampton Inn right next door. If I had seen it earlier or we were staying longer I would have left. Really there were so many other options. If I had only known

Stayed: December 2008
3  Thank Lena789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2008

During the last week of September, 2008 we had a difficult time finding a " charming B & B "(our usual driving-vacation preference) under $250!! We love Lenox, Mass, though, and found this motel on tripadvisor.

Staff was great (made arrangement for us to see their B & B in Lee, Mass - lovely.) and answered my many questions. The room was up-to-date,spotless, the queen bed comfy, and buffet-style breakfast (included) was appealing. Everything from make-your-own waffles (fun), to fresh fruits, cereals, yogurt,etc, etc. Better than our breakfast at a hotel in Williamstown, Mass at $10 each!!

And..............with window open all night,No traffic noise!!

Great value!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

The Yankee Inn’s online descriptions and pictures seemed to promise a romantic and luxurious evening. We were sadly disappointed

-The staff at the front desk was rude and unaccommodating
they made us wait without explanation or apology while they searched for our reservation

-Our reservation, made more that two months in advance, was lost and having no rooms left we were expected to drive to another motel where there was an available room, which was not an equivalent replacement, in price or amenities

-It took a rather lengthy and frustrating debate session to have the staff contact management to have them give us the room we had reserved

-The room was another story, though it had the canopy king and Jacuzzi, it also had damp, musty rugs and a window air conditioner from 1970

-After we were told that we were not going to be charged for the room, due to the gross inconvenience, we were, which just led to another long and aggravating hassle to get our money refunded

Save your self from months of FRUSTRATION and AGGRAVATION and DON’T STAY at the Yankee “Inn” in Lenox, Ma

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msbojangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

The Yankee Inn is a good roadside motel in a great location in the Berkshires -- close to Tanglewood, Arrowhead, downtown Lenox, Pittsfield, Pleasant Valley Audubon sanctuary, Chesterwood, Stockbridge and more.

We stayed in a King fireplace room in the main building, overlooking a picturesque wetland.

The main building in this motel is clean and modern, with all the amenities you would expect from a nice motel.

I cannot comment in detail about any of the other buildings on the property, but from the outside they don't look quite as nice as the main building.

If you are looking for an intimate country Inn, this is not the best choice for you, but if you just want decent, clean, reasonably priced accommodations in a great Berkshire location, the Yankee Inn is a place worthy of serious consideration.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FoxySanJoseCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

My fiance and I stayed here last week while we were in town for the Wilco concert at Tanglewood. I don't know if we just got lucky compared to the other reviewers, but our room was not that bad. I did think it was pricy compared to other hotels that we've stayed at, but considering the area that the hotel is in, it was one of the cheapest options.

We had a first floor room in the main building, and there was a cute little patio attached with a nice screened door (a nice feature considering most "modern" hotel rooms don't have windows that open). The beds were clean and the room smelled fine. We did notice a few stains on the wall and on the lampshades, but nothing that we haven't seen in some other hotels.

The bathroom was nice and very clean - there was a new corian countertop and the shower was spotless.

We didn't use the indoor/outdoor pool areas, but unlike a previous reviewer, I did see towels at both pools.

The breakfast was a little small, with just some coffee/tea, donuts, bagels, and cereal, but we are probably a little spoiled from the "hot" breakfasts that Hampton Inn usually serves. However, there is a Friendly's within walking distance across a parking lot, which worked out nicely.

All in all, we were pleased with our room and glad that we didn't chicken out from the reviews and spend $60 a night more to stay at the new Hampton Inn next door.

**Also, since this hotel is north of Tanglewood, we were able to figure out several back roads to take back to the hotel after the concert, completely avoiding all of the traffic going into downtown Lenox. It only took about 10-15 minutes.**

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank silvergrin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Just stayed at this "Inn" (really a motel) with my 8.5 year old daughter while visiting camps in the area. The reason we selected Yankee Inn is that it was one of the only available places and it allowed us to book one night only. We payed $300 for our room.
We had one of the "better" rooms in the main building. Upon entering this room we were hit with the harsh smell of urine. I went back to the front desk to request a room change and when I told the staff why they said they would "spray something" to take away the smell. I informed them that this was not a good idea as my daughter has asthma - they said that was all they could do.
Overall the experience was not a good one. The furnishings in the room were old and worn. There is an outdoor pool but no lifeguard or towels. When I asked for restaurant recommendations to two different staff members they kept trying to push us to one particular restaurant even though there is enormous choice in Lenox. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastCoastMomNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2008

We were looking for an inexpensive place to stay overnight after an evening at Tanglewood. There are lots of basic looking motels on the main strip in Lenox, and we probably should have done a little more comparison shopping. At $160 including taxes, the room was certainly not cheap.

The hotel is located in a congested area of stores and strip malls, which was a little disappointing. It's a little further from Tanglewood than we expected, but only about five miles door-to-door.

The lobby area was OK, and they had an average continental breakfast included in the room fee. Nothing special.

The room was also just OK. There was a new looking, fancy canopy bed but the bathroom area was marginal, with a low mounted tiny sink that had cracks in it, and a faucet that was not working properly and was hard to use. The shower was OK, and in a separate little room with the toilet. There was no trash basket in that room.

There was a medium sized TV in a cabinet located diagnonally from the bed, so it was hard to see, and a gas fireplace directly in front of the bed that we didn't use--the glass looked like it could use a cleaning. There was a noisy room air conditioner we used but eventually turned off. The bay window on one side of the room had two small window that could be opened. The curtains were not attached properly to the rods so they were hard to close. There were two upholstered chairs that were a little worn.

The carpets in the hallways were worn and soiled. The walls had some stains as well. It did look as if they were trying to spruce things up with decorative items placed here and there.

Overall, it was a decent place to spend a night but nothing special at all. With so many similar looking places around Lenox, I suspect there are better accommodations in the same price range.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
8.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Inn

Address: 461 Pittsfield Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lenox
Price Range: £60 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yankee Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yankee Inn is a landmark hotel in the beautifully serene Berkshire Hills of Lenox, MA. The Yankee Inn is cozy and private enough for a romantic getaway, but also accommodating and accessible enough for a family vacation. Our staff works above and beyond to cater to your needs and provide the exact experience you want. The Main Building houses our lobby, cocktail lounge, indoor pool and guest rooms, which included original and newly built hotel rooms. Our South Building maintains the motel style of the original motor lodge, housing smaller and more economical rooms. We provide a complimentary breakfast every morning, leaving you more time to spend skiing or sightseeing. You can also book an in-room massage for ultimate relaxation. Whatever your vacation desires are, we can help you plan the perfect stay. Yankee Inn is your next vacation destination. Book a room with us today and let's get started planning your perfect getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Yankee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing