We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very pleased” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yankee Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yankee Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
palmerMA
1 review
“very pleased”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

Friendly staff, VERY CLEAN room, excellent continental breakfast. Also enjoyed the heated indoor pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmscout55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    202
    69
    20
    18
See reviews for
156
218
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

I and my family stayed in this hotel in both July and September. The rooms were both clean and comfortable with good ensuite facilities.
They had both an indoor and outdoor swimming pool and as a base from which to travel around MA it was ideal.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mollie210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

I posted the following review of the Yankee Inn a couple of weeks ago on Tripadvisor:

-------------------------
This is an extremely average motel on a dingy strip of Route 7 in the supposedly beautiful Berkshires.

Tired musty rooms, less than friendly staff at front desk and noisy neighbours meant that we cut our 2 night stay in half and headed for the east coast a day earlier than planned.

On the positive side, the BSO at Tanglewood was fantastic and some of the local villages are cute - Stockbridge being at the top of the list.

Just don't stay in the Yankee Inn - find a good independent guesthouse, inn or B&B in a more scenic part of the Berkshires.
----------------------

It did, and does still, reflect my personal opinion of the Yankee Inn in relation to my expectations of the Berkshires and the images and description of the lodging on their website.

However, I must premise my negative comments by stating that the hotel management were extremely professional and proactive in contacting me immediately after my posting was listed on Tripadvisor.

They have informed me that there are ongoing renovations of the block of rooms where we were staying and did agree that the current decor is in need of its refreshing and refurbishment. These refurbishments should be completed over the course of the next couple of months (my understanding from the conversation).

I very much appreciated their effort to contact me and understand my issues with their establishment.

However, I have to remain true to my impression of the motel - it is located on the main Route 7 which is busy and commercial and slightly rundown - rightly or wrongly, I did not expect this of the Berkshire experience. If I had expected this to be the case, then I would not have had such a negative reaction to the overall Yankee Inn experience.

It does come a lot cheaper than some of the other Berkshire accommodation options so therein lies the rub. If you are looking for a hideaway Berkshire Inn/guesthouse etc., then be prepared to pay a little more for the experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham, nc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2009

I spent five nights in the Yankee Inn, Lenox, Ma. The room was spacious, quiet and comfortable, their breakfast good, the indoor pool and hot tub clean and comfortable. The Inn is located on the border between Lenox and Pittsfield on Highways #7 and 20.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gyurika87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ludlow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

Would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting in the Lenox Mass. area.. It is such a beautiful place. The rooms were super, had everything you could ask for and more. The personnel were friendly and very helpful. Looking forward to our next trip. Ann Robillard

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigallann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Setauket
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

MLK 2009 ski weekend.

Very nice place! Clean and roomy Rooms (nos. 600+) off the right side of the main building perfectly arranged for family of four and related ski equipment, boots, warmers, bibs, jackets etc. Easy access to pool and breakfast. Continental breakfast alone a great value for family of four and rates were nearly 40% less than competing locations.

For skiers choose Jiminy Peak (16 miles north) or Ski Butternut (16 miles south.) Inn's location on the main strip provides modest selection of restaurants, gas stations, grocery store.

We will definitely be back!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank paddle3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2008

this place was not as advertised. The pictures on their web site reek of false advertising. The place smelled bad, there were stains on the carpets, the couches, stains everywhere and dusty. The bathroom was clean but I was so turned off I didn't want to put anything anywhere. There is a Hampton Inn right next door. If I had seen it earlier or we were staying longer I would have left. Really there were so many other options. If I had only known

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Lena789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
11.3 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
5.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
3.5 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Inn

Property: Yankee Inn
Address: 461 Pittsfield Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lenox
#3 Family Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yankee Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yankee Inn is a landmark hotel in the beautifully serene Berkshire Hills of Lenox, MA. The Yankee Inn is cozy and private enough for a romantic getaway, but also accommodating and accessible enough for a family vacation. Our staff works above and beyond to cater to your needs and provide the exact experience you want. The Main Building houses our lobby, cocktail lounge, indoor pool and guest rooms, which included original and newly built hotel rooms. Our South Building maintains the motel style of the original motor lodge, housing smaller and more economical rooms. We provide a complimentary breakfast every morning, leaving you more time to spend skiing or sightseeing. You can also book an in-room massage for ultimate relaxation. Whatever your vacation desires are, we can help you plan the perfect stay. Yankee Inn is your next vacation destination. Book a room with us today and let's get started planning your perfect getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Yankee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing