We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very underwhelmed ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband booked this room for our first weekend away in seven years without our son...we were looking forward to a nice weekend escape. The best part of this motel so far is the jacuzzi. The beds aren't uncomfortable. The location is good. Now for the bad parts..and there are a few. One...appliances are OLD....almost retro. For the amount of money we paid, I would have at least liked a flat screen TV and a refrigerator that works. The room had a beat-up vibe...the back of the bathroom door had a hole like it had been kicked in, and the faux wood paneling on the side of the jacuzzi was severely chipped and cracked. The worst of it was the 1) housekeeping...instead if a fitted bottom sheet they had two top sheets, and they didn't even replace the plastic cup from the night before...they just left the original one in the room. 2) NOISY...you can hear everything that goes on on either side of you and upstairs. And OMG the wifi...or lack thereof. They advertise free wifi...but it never worked. And when my husband called to report it, he was told there was nothing wrong, because the room next door to ours was using the internet and it was working fine, then proceeded to say it was our devices (iPads in perfect working condition)... refused to acknowledge there was an issue. I mean, how would the desk clerk know if the internet worked in any specific room...unless they had complained earlier as well about the wifi. All around most definitely NOT worth $500 For two nights. Disappointing to say the least...I think when we come back this way we'll stay at another hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is one of the poorest properties I have visited. Lousy rooms, noisy, heard upstairs feet moving, no amenities in room, lousy pillows, old television, no paper and pens in room, way overpriced to take advantage of weeken traffic for tanglewood festival.

Room Tip: No way. Skip this place if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bobphilip19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This Howard Johnson had very small rooms. The housekeeping service didn't even come the next day, for whatever reason. We had to get new towels from the hotel office ourselves. To top it off, it was over $140 a night for a very low quality experience. Even the room had a distinct odor to it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank grandmotherof3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had a very good stay at the Lenox Ho Jo's. Room was large and very clean. the owners and staff were very friendly and helpful when needed. Our fridge didn't work but the staff brought us a new one immediately which worked good. The bed was excellent, firm but not too firm. The room had a small sofa and a nice big easy chair. The new carpets were nice and soft. There is a nice continental breakfast starting at 7:00am. There was some re-modeling going on (exterior painting) but didn't take away from our stay, the painters were also nice. Pool was nice and clean with chairs & tables and some lounge chairs too. Hotel is in a good location, near stores, restaurants and attractions. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a week. It was business trip. Location of the hotel was very good. Hotel was very clean. Parking area was really big and clean. It was long stay at hotel. I was alone there so was worried about what will I do in my spare time but staff of hotel was excellent. Sometimes I got bore in my room so came in lobby area with my laptop and front desk person was always nice.One day I got up late in morning still they arranged a fresh and hot breakfast for me. Housekeeper did good job everyday. Bed was really comfortable. I enjoyed my stay .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kim1824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here before three years ago for several days, and we stayed here this time for eight days: I think that tells you something. This is an area that's full of things to do that are within a day's round trip, and I doubt if there's a better place to be based than this. It's perfectly clean and with spacious rooms, a supermarket just across the road, breakfast is included, and the free wifi is consistently excellent, allowing me to update my literary/quirks of the world blog as I went along. Friendly (as opposed to perfunctory) and conversational, genuine staff and the price was right.

Our only disappointment: Ken (who was there on our first visit) isn't there any more, meaning the waffle machine isn't there any longer - also meaning my partner didn't get playfully insulted this time: she missed that!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tonyshaw14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.1 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
0.1 mi away
Wagon Wheel Motel
Wagon Wheel Motel
#11 of 16 in Lenox
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
11.3 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox

Address: 462 Pittsfield Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Price Range: £46 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Lenox features Suite Rooms, Jacuzzi Suites, 2 Queen Bed Room, 1 King Bed Wheelchair accessible room, 1 Queen Bed Room, Two Double Bed room, 1 King Bed Room, Non Smoking and Smoking Rooms. Hotel Amenities are Outdoor Pool, Free Breakfast, Free High Speed wireless internet, Free Parking, Truck/Bus Parking, Cable with HBO. Every room has air condition, High Speed wireless Internet, Microwave, Fridge, Coffee Maker, Hairdryer, Iron and Ironing Board. Extra amenities includes ice machines, Extra bed ($10.00), Crib ( $ 10.00), safe deposit box ($ 1.50), local phone, AM/FM radios/ Alarm Clocks. Hotel is minutes away from Mass Pike (Exit-2) and conveniently located on Routes 20 & 7 in Lenox, Massachusetts. Visit nearby museums, theaters, ski areas (Jiminy Peak & Brodie Mountain), cross-country skiing, shopping stores, scenic bike routes, mountain biking trails and hiking trails (including Appalachian Trail & Taconic ) while staying at Howard Johnson Express Inn Hotels in Lenox MA. Tanglewood is only 5.6 miles from this Howard Johnson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel Lenox
Lenox Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing