We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have your own car or are under 55, save your money!”
Review of Liberty Ride

Liberty Ride
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$57.00*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #5 of 19 things to do in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Liberty Ride: A guided trolley tour of historic Lexington & Concord. Visit the birthplaces of American liberty and 19th century literature! Board a classic trolley for a ride along the scenic Battle Road while your costumed guide recounts the exciting events of April 19, 1775 and the literary legacy that defined American identity and culture. Weekends April and May and daily Memorial Day through October 29, 2017. 90-minute tours leave from the Lexington Visitors Center [1875 Massachusetts Ave] at 10:00 am, 11:30 am, 1 pm and 2:30 pm. Visit our website for online reservations, or stop in the Visitors Center this weekend!
United States
Level Contributor
245 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 454 helpful votes
“If you have your own car or are under 55, save your money!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I hemmed and hawed over whether we should take this tour. I thought it would 'bring the place alive', and after conversing with the overly pushy sales woman at the Lexington Visitors Center, we plonked down the $50 (for two people) to go. We wish we hadn't.

The tour guide MUMBLED on and on at such a fast pace into his microphone that it was almost impossible to understand what he was saying. (I can't imagine what it would be like if English is not your first language). He droned on and on and on, hardly taking a breath and became incredibly boring very quickly. I had been hoping for a tour guide that would be animated and inspiring and put pauses in all the right places. Not here.

The tour price INCLUDES entry into 3 historical houses (Buckman Tavern, Hancock Clarke House and the Munroe Tavern) but TAKE NOTE, these are NOT part of the 90 minute tour -- you have to visit them by yourself BEFORE or AFTER the tour. Allow that extra time to be part of your day's schedule. (We didn't realize this when we bought the ticket).

When we later visited the 3 houses along with Lexington Battle Green and the Minute Man National Historical Park, the docent historical stories were so repetitive, I could have told THEM the story by the end of it. Seems to me they each need to say something a bit different (their piece of the pie) and KEEP IT BRIEF. People's attention span is only so much, especially when visiting all the different sights in one day. It just got really boring.

My take away is that if you have your own car and if you are an able under-55 year old, grab a local map and a guide book and do your own tour and save a lot of money! The Minute Man National Historical Park was especially good at making the story animated and interesting and would probably be the best place to head for if you have children. You can also get your National Park Passport stamp there.

Free parking is available with the paid ticket behind the Lexington Visitors Center. (You pay $2 to the lot attendant, then get it back)

I would not recommend this tour for youngsters (Under 55) or if you find it difficult getting on and off a trolley.

If you found this review helpful, please click 'yes'.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank lwew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    35
    10
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
349 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A good opening act for a Lexington/Concord visit”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

A nicely narrated (with guide in period dress) 90 minute trolley tour of the Minuteman historical sites. Great historical tidbits. Entertaining and informative. Really helps you plan the rest of your visit. Ticket price is a bit steep ($25 adults; $10 under age 17) but does include some discounts at Lexington stores and eateries. The ride is seasonal, between April to end of October.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, Arkansas
Level Contributor
167 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A must do in Lexington/Concord”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My wife, brother, sister-in-law and I booked the Liberty Ride, which takes you around historic Lexington and Concord. It was a great decision. The tour guide (in costume) was excellent and we learned so much more than we would have just driving around on our own. This should be the first thing people do when they visit the area. Afterwards, they can decide which sites they want to revisit for photos, etc., although there were a couple of stops for photos. The 90-minute tour was well worth the $25 per person cost.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank siloamjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, NV
Level Contributor
585 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Excellent tour!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Can't rate this trolley tour high enough. Price is very reasonable given the 90 minute guided tour, free parking, and entrance to three other historic buildings. Guide was in period attire and extremely knowledgable. I suggest staying on the trolley and then going back to points of specific interest after the trolley ride. Make sure to be there at least 30 minutes before tour starts. A must "do" to get orientated in the Lexington/Concord area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollis, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This tour tells it all. Even if you grew up in the area, as I did, this tour brings it all back as though it had just happened. A good way for both young and old to learn about the start of the revolutionary war.
This tour includes passes to the most popular homes and taverns as well. Parking is near and good restaurants. Go early for a full day to enjoy Concord and Lexington.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liberty Ride also viewed

 

Been to Liberty Ride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing