We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel for the Price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloft Lexington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aloft Lexington
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lexington
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Best Hotel for the Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

I was very impressed by the layout and general style of aloft. And trust me, I don’t have low standards. I was visiting friends in Boston and looking into hotels $300+. Then I found aloft. It had clean lines to its designs, the staff was friendly, and we had everything we could have wanted at our finger tips. This hotel may not work for those traveling to Boston without a car, but if you have a car it is absolutely the best deal. I wish every hotel would take note of aloft and provide a great experience at an affordable price. I’ll be staying here again soon and I can’t wait.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvs2Trvl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    208
    80
    27
    22
See reviews for
119
130
45
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

A stay at aLoft when I have to travel to my company head office. It is a bit more interesting than the usual run of of hotels. Funky bar, often busy with locals. Pool table. Great self service breakfast. Worth a try, if only for a change.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelallthetime55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

Location - good if you have a car. A little hard to locate even with
GPS. They offer complimentary shuttle service to the subway station on weekends and was nice enough to offer us the service on request on a weekday.

Housekeeping - great and fast service. We asked for some extra coffee (starbucks brand!) and cream and they brought us back quite a bit.

Room size - very spacious and we have 4 people in a room!!

Not too crazy about the appearance of the hotel though - looks like an office tower.
The free internet was great and the price was reasonable. Wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

I reserved this hotel for myself, my husband, and my 14 year old son for three nights of our family vacation. Its location would allow easy access to Lexington/Concord, and the train to Boston was a five minute drive. Price was much better than downtown Boston hotels. Unfortunately, the Aloft brand is just awful from start to finish. They have thrown out all the old conventional items that those icky, stuffy hotels have: you know, a set of drawers to put your clothes in, a closet, walls with insulation, a bathroom door that provides sound privacy, an efficient front desk, places to hang wet towels.
The noise is the worst part: There is literally no escape from noise: they pump loud music not only in the lobby, but to the pool, the little peaceful-looking courtyard, and you can even hear it in your room at midnight. The hallways reverberate with the slightest noise, and it seeps into your room. The bathroom door is a joke: I could hear EVERYTHING going on when my son or husband went to the bathroom. The air conditioner was loud, and would cycle on and off throughout the night, resembling a tractor-trailer driving by (not to mention the blast of cold air that ricochets off the ceiling and directly onto your head).
Then there was arrival. We arrived at 7:30 p.m., hours after the check in time. Our room was not yet clean, and it would take an hour to clean it. We had to leave and find dinner and come back in order to get checked in.... this after a 12 hour drive from Canada; we were exhausted and just wanted to crash, but could not.
I get what Aloft is doing, but it just doesn't work. I am a designer, and to me, the worst possible design sin is to reinvent something but make it worse, not better.
Unfortunately, that is what has happened here. The only conceivable improvement is that they provide wall pumps of soap and shampoo in the bathroom, instead of providing those wasteful teeny shampoo containers.
I would only stay here if I were alone on a business trip, which appears to be the majority of patrons.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GinnySurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

Nice hotel but a good 30 minute drive to Downtown Boston. if you're saving atleast 100$ per night to stay here then it's a good deal.
Friendly staff and scenic location. biggest drawback - cheap ventilation in the room from loud bulky air conditioning unit that blasts loud cold air from a floor based unit- something u you expect to see At a low end motel!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yyztrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

The Aloft hotel in Lexington is our first experience with any hotel other than the average Hilton or Marriot. We were very excited when we were able to book our King suite on Travelocity for a very low price. We enjoy a more contemporary/modern setting at home and hoped to feel that way while on vacation. The hotel is very pleasing on both the outside and inside. Parking is ample and though our GPS took us on a roundabout way for our arrival we found it to be centrally located to the nearby universities and the city of Boston. The lobby of the hotel has a pool table with seating, a bar (W,x,y,z) with a large HDTV flat-screen tv & fireplace, a snack/food/drink bar (a la carte), and a business center (1 computer, I believe). The staff at the conceirge desk were very friendly and checked us in quickly and detailed the amenities of the hotel. We were given a room on the second floor with a view of the outdoor deck and indoor pool, and also a nice view of the scenery around the hotel (the other side of the hotel seems to view the parking lot). We did not go to the pool and cannot comment on it other than it looks very nice with windows surrounding giving it an outdoor look. The lock on the doors is different from most in that you hold a card up to the door and it unlocks (we received two cards). We had a lot of problems with the cards when we first arrived. It seemed that the system that controls the rooms had crashed and after two sets of keys we were eventually able to freely come and go as we pleased. We will also mention that the staff was relatively quick to help us into our rooms and also compted us sodas or coffees for our entire stay. Our room was exactly as described with a open, loft feel-walls are thin. The bathroom is open to the entrance, but a sliding door allows the toilet and glass shower to be closed off. The closet, safe, and refridgerator are all also located in the bathroom area. Each room has current copies of popular magazines (Spin and Wired) and a single cup coffee maker. We had a few problems with the bathroom, but are probably only issues to us. While the shower looks nice, the tiles in both the shower and bathroom in general can become slippery with the water and especially the soap (be careful). You may want to request a second bath mat for the sink area. The showerhead was also a nuisance to us, it had a very broad stream (similar to the rain shower heads) and offered no other settings. All-in-all the bathroom wasn't a huge deal, just our preferences.
There is a nice desk with an ethernet connection in the room (was difficult to connect at first, but after no problem), a large HDTV flat-screen tv (movie channels included), and cordless phones in the room. The bed is a semi-firm platform looking bed, we slept comfortably both nights, but had hoped for a little bit of a softer bed than was provided. On the left side of the bed is the iron and full ironing board. I noticed someone else said that the air conditioner was loud, but we were fine with the sound and loved that you could set the temperature and weren't stuck with the general few settings you are normally offered. We also slept so well with the black out shades in the room. There is a coin laundry on the fourth floor with an energy efficient washer and dryer ($1.50 each). Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay again except that the regular higher prices don't seem to warrant what you receive.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwebsLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

Downtown Boston hotels seem to me to be crazily expensive. I was on the college visit circuit and the hotel is very well positioned close to 128/95 - though actually just west of the road rather than on the Lexington side. So good for visiting the battle sites and convenient for the boston area.

Aloft is very good value. I paid $150 a night for each of two rooms. Each room had two queen size beds so our family of four slept very comfortably.

This is a new concept hotel that is self-consciously aimed at a young Facebook-style market. But this old codger was impressed. Clearly s lot of effort has been made to take costs out of the system to ensure good rates, while preserving what people want - quiet, comfortable nights.

Pluses: very comfortable beds and good linens. Large airy rooms. Great shower and clean well-designed bathroom spaces. Free Wifi. Good gym. Clear, inexpensive phone call charges. Great large screen TV with OK number of channels. Well lit work space. Natural light through good sized windows. Fridge but no minibar - bless them. Decent fast food style snack and breakfast area - but you are going to want to eat out. Small pool. Friendly staff - but few of them (see below).

Minuses: Single receptionist/manager in fairground-style booth in lobby can get very busy and backed up. Paper cups just don't work in bathrooms - not anyway for guests who like to stand up their razor and toothbrush in a cup. you could fix a cup holder to the wall and it would work. And I am too old to do my laundry - so while it is nice to have a coin-op facility for guests, I left that behind at college. Windows don't open. Staff have to greet you with "Aloha".

But very good overall for a budget hotel - even if you are over 30.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Targetsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
0.1 mi away
Element Lexington
Element Lexington
#2 of 4 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Inn at Hastings Park
The Inn at Hastings Park
#1 of 4 in Lexington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Concord's Colonial Inn
Concord's Colonial Inn
#2 of 3 in Concord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
3.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
3.4 mi away
The Westin Waltham-Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Lexington

Property: Aloft Lexington
Address: 727 Marrett Rd # A, Lexington, MA 02421-7311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Lexington 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Lexington offers a modern and bold travel experience in a historic Boston suburb, surrounded by revolutionary battlegrounds & quaint New England towns and just 20 min from downtown Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Aloft Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Lexington Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing