We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimalist boutique lodging”
Review of Element Lexington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Element Lexington
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Minimalist boutique lodging”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Lots of environmentally friendly details. Quiet setting close to National Park. Efficiency rooms with morning breakfast and afternoon snacks. Very accomodating to select a room to meet my needs at check-in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreaewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    121
    50
    26
    11
See reviews for
172
89
40
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
245 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 454 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

PROS:
~Clean, minimalist hotel.
~Many parking spaces for hybrid cars.
~Ample complimentary parking
~Quality 'apple scent' toiletries provided.
~Kitchenette in room with full size fridge, stove-top, sink, microwave and washing-up sponge/liquid.
~Coffee/tea supplies in room.
~Really comfy bed and pillows.
~Everything you need in the room like hair-dryer, iron, desk, free wifi.
~Nice buffet breakfast supplied -- including Greek yogurt and egg sandwiches, cereal and mini-smoothies.
~Manager's appetizer and wine reception in the hotel in the late afternoon. Filled the gap til dinner!
~Elevators available.
~Indoor pool and small work-out room.
~Excellent decor, furniture and a tendency to everything 'green' and environmental.
~Quiet.
~We booked ours through an on-line bidding site and got an excellent price!

CONS:
~Hard to find the hotel -- sign is very small and hotel is not visible from the road.
~Had more of a business hotel feel about it and that seemed to be the majority of the clientele, but it was a refreshing change from all the 'country kitsch' and basic chain motels/hotels we'd seen on the rest of our New England trip.
~You need a car -- it's not immediately close to the Lexington touristy sights.

If you found this review useful, please click 'yes'. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Element Lexington, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Iwew,
We really appreciate your comments, thanks for sharing! We're delighted that you enjoyed our minimalist appearance, eco-friendly initiatives and numerous amenities. We hope to see you on your next trip to Lexington. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiervt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Nice, roomy and comfortable rooms, decorated so unlike the usual hotel room . Comfy beds, a couch you can actually sit on and a full-sized refrigerator sets Element apart from other hotels. And the entire facility is immaculate!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiervt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel was decent, but we had too many incidents to give it a positive rating. We had a one-bedroom suite, as we always try to book suites at hotels so our toddler son can have his own space. Upon entering the room, the floor in the kitchen area (which was laminate-tiled) had several grease spots on it. Our son could have easily slipped on the floor if we hadn't noticed it. However, we took care of it on our own as to not bother the housekeeping.

Next, we were supposed to have a crib in our room, but it wasn't there when we arrived. I called down to the front desk, who said it was on its way. 45 minutes later, no crib, so I call another time, and once again, the clerk said it was on its way. Another half hour went by, and I peeked my head down the hallway to see a crib all the way at the other end. I had no idea if it was meant for us, but I went ahead and took it. The front desk never called back to check if everything was set up.

Thirdly, the TV was not working properly, specifically the box where they encourage you to hook up your own devices. I called down for assistance and was told that somebody would help me right away. Never heard from anybody. I let this one go.

Finally, the hotel has a self-service laundry room, since it is an extended stay-type property. My wife decided to do a load while we were there. She left our bag in the laundry room while we went to get change, and upon coming back, our bag was gone. We informed the front desk that someone had taken our laundry. They said they would look into it, but we waited in the lobby area and noticed that they barely moved a finger to find out what had happened. It wasn't until a week after we left the hotel, and only once I had filed a complaint with SPG corporate, that they miraculously found our laundry. We were told they would ship it to us right away, of which I was very appreciative. However, two weeks went by, and we hadn't received it yet. I understand they were going out of their way to return our clothes, but if you say you would do something, then I expect you to follow through. It took another complaint to finally receive our clothes.

Other negatives included the thermostat not working properly - the A/C would either cool the room past our temperature setting, or not kick on until it was 4-5 degrees over our setting. Also, the pool was closed during our stay there without any prior notice.

There were some positives - the location is ideal for exploring the Concord/Lexington area. Breakfast was free and pretty good in the mornings. On the weekday evenings, there was a happy hour in the lobby with free drinks and snacks. However, these were far outweighed by everything that went wrong.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NourishingGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Element Lexington, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear NourishingGrace,
We are so sorry that you and your family did not enjoy your recent stay with us. Great customer service is very important to us and we will address your comments with our team to ensure that this doesn't happen again. Please contact me at MCascella@paramounthotelgroup.com to discuss your experience further. We sincerely hope the rest of your visit in Lexington was a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
174 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks in the Element Lexington and it felt like home!
The suites are very nice and modern..not the typical American "frills and flowers" but nice dark floors, a good couch and modern kitchen. The shower was also very nice with a rainshower head and also a small hand shower that you could take out. Very convenient.

The staff is so nice! Especially the 2 guys who take care of breakfast every morning. They are so friendly and always good humored.

If you want to go to Boston you can drive 10 minutes to the Alewife T-station and park your car there for 7 dollars per day. The T takes you into Boston in about 15 to 20 minutes.
All in all the journey typically took us 45 minutes.

I liked the Green approach of the hotel towards the environment. They minimize the amount of water that comes out of the taps.

Breakfast was also great and somthing else than just cereal and danish. They had egg burrito's, smoothie's and lots of fruit and yoghurt. And a nice selection of danish and other sweet delights.
It was the same every day but we thought it was fine

Room Tip: Upper floor would be best since the hotel has wooden floors and people can be heard walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank americagirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Element Lexington, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear americangirl22,
We really appreciate your feedback, thanks for sharing! We are delighted that you enjoyed your extended stay with us and felt at home at Element. We hope you were also able to experience our Relax evening reception. We hope you'll come back to see us should your travels bring you back to Lexington in the future. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Excellent little hotel. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, very eco-friendly.
Hotel is convenient to local points of interest. Easy access from Rt128.
Also the property is dog friendly. Good morning breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We went to a wedding nearby and this was just right - reasonably priced, convenient, clean, and modern. We arrived early (11:30 am) and had to wait until 1:30 for an available room, but the staff called housekeeping to find the first clean room for us. Room was large and roomy, with lovely kitchen area. My one complaint would be the inadequate lighting throughout the room. Bathroom especially needs more/brighter light. Breakfast, included, was very adequate. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stillred51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
0.1 mi away
Aloft Lexington
Aloft Lexington
#3 of 4 in Lexington
478 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Hastings Park
The Inn at Hastings Park
#1 of 4 in Lexington
148 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western at Historic Concord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington
3.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Element Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element Lexington

Property: Element Lexington
Address: 727 Marrett Rd # B, (for October 1, 2008), Lexington, MA 02421-7311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Element Lexington 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Element Lexington focuses on keeping guests feeling fresh, focused and at their best. Surrounded by rich colonial history and a vibrant business community, it is located 20 min from downtown Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Element Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element Lexington Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing