We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice home”

Hancock-Clarke House
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Due to reopen April 2017. Closed for the season. The home of Lexington's first two ministers and the location where John Hancock and Sam Adams were staying on April 18, 1775. Paul Revere stopped here on his famous "Midnight Ride" to warn Hancock and Adams that British troops had left Boston.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Manitoba
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“nice home”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

the tour guides appear to be volunteering senior citizens. Although they're not very captivating storytellers, they are very knowledgeable about the place. No photography is allowed so we cant share how this what's inside thise 400+ year old house. You cannot take a self-guided tour in here. Tours start every hour. We go through the different rooms in the house but first we start with a video clip about the Concord Lexington Battle. If you have been inside several period home during your visit to Massachussets, this one may not appeart that different.
Buckman Tavern and Munroe Tavern are the other destinations included in the First Shot package.For the price, it is a good deal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Boogalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHSOC, Guest Relations Manager at Hancock-Clarke House, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for visiting the Hancock-Clarke house. You may be happy to know that our photography policy has recently changed and we now allow photography in all three historic houses. Please come back and visit us to take some photos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    41
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Paul Revere's Destination”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

You can find out about the history of the famous midnight ride upon visiting here. As well as information about the times at which the Clarke family lived. There are a variety ways to purchase tickets and I would highly recommend getting the tickets through the Liberty Ride tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHSOC, Guest Relations Manager at Hancock-Clarke House, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your tour of the house last summer. This summer the ticket is no longer included in the Liberty Ride ticket. However, the ticket to visit the house is only $7/adults and $5/ children. Or - you can get the discount package ticket and visit all three houses for $12 & $8 respectively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharpsburg, GA USA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great history lesson.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We purchased a "First Shot" Package ticket for 3 history homes even though we only had time to visit 2 of them because it was cheaper than purchasing individual tickets. We enjoyed an excellent guided tour of this home. Our family of 3 were the only ones there at the time which gave us ample time to ask questions and really look at things closely. Our guide was well versed on the history of the house and the events April 19, 1775. Well worth our time and money spent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank italianlady67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHSOC, Guest Relations Manager at Hancock-Clarke House, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your tour! Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“hancock clarke”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The tour was interesting. The guide (Jane) had many interesting anecdotes to tell about the house and the people who had been there. She had an excellent manner of talking and clearly was enjoying what she was doing, which makes it enjoyable for those on the tour.

Amazing that the house has endured relatively unchanged for so long. Also curious that the reason for that was the relative poverty of the owners! Too poor to make major modifications, but not so poor that they lost the property.,,

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MDGaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very interesting tour”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This house is the 2nd of 3 houses that make up the Lexington Historical Society, the 1st and 3rd being the Buckman Tavern and the Munroe Tavern. If you can visit them in that order, it will make the story each house tells chronological. You can buy a ticket which covers the 3 houses (12$ at time of writing). All of them are well laid-out, with clear signage and in the houses with guided tours, the guides were absolutely excellent. All the houses had good restroom facilities.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SamandPhilip864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHSOC, Guest Relations Manager at Hancock-Clarke House, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review and we are glad that you enjoyed the tours. Our three historic houses have all been recently restored and include new visitor friendly restrooms on site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hancock-Clarke House also viewed

 

Been to Hancock-Clarke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing