We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time visit - Pretty good!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waxy O'Connors

Waxy O'Connors
Ranked #10 of 66 Restaurants in Lexington
Price range: US$9 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Florida
Level Contributor
239 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“First time visit - Pretty good!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

This was my first visit here. I met a girlfriend here for dinner, who had been here before and suggested it. It was a Friday night and looked pretty busy from the outside. Most of the crowd appeared to be at the lively bar area. We were seated promptly in a quiet corner. Our waitress was attentive and efficient. We both got Fish & Chips which were very good. Fish very tasty and plentiful and fries good too. The live music (rock & roll-not Irish) was starting when we left and it was very loud, it would be difficult to talk normally over it. The atmosphere was quaint - typical pub. Will probably visit again - food average, service good. Nothing outstanding but not bad either.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Coco1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    32
    25
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Yuck.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Fries tasted rotten. The chicken in my chicken sandwich was so over cooked i couldnt chew it.
good place to drink. Definitely dont eat anything here though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CMiche47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
427 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“A Keg Full of Friendly Atmosphere To Go With Your Beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

The place is impressive when you first walk in. To the left you will notice the keg room which gives it the look and feel of a micro-brewery without actually being one. In front of you is a very large bar that was mostly empty and has more than enough TVs for your viewing pleasure. As you head down toward the bar and the main dining area you will notice on your left a game room area where on this night there were two games of darts in play.
The furniture is dark wood, as is the bar, and the lighting is more on the dim side than the bright side. This provides a warm and homey feel to it. They have a decent number of draught beers as well as bottled beers on the menu. I started with the Northeastern nachos ($11) which were of good proportion but average at best. For the dinner course I went with the waitress recommendation, a Reuben sandwich ($9) with hand cut fries. The sandwich was made with two thicker than normal slices of marbled rye bread. The corned beef itself was tender, with a few traces of fat here and there. Overall it was a slight north of average and filling because of the excess bread. I would have preferred a thinner sliced bread and more corned beef but that would mean less profits for the owner. The fries looked great but tasted lousy.

I came to find that this is a chain however it was my first time so to me it didn’t matter since the restaurant was very nice and looked unique. In general, my recommendation is that you should opt to go here because of the atmosphere rather than the food. The menu has plenty of variety so maybe some things are better than others. While the food tonight was average or a tad better, the main reason to come should be because of the very comfortable feel that the place offers, whether you are hanging at the bar, playing darts or having a quiet dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrOcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Hoped to get some real Irish Pub atmosphere, food, and drinks. Décor was good. Food was average packaged stuff. Beer was standard big brewery selections. Best beer was Smuttynose Porter! Would not go back! The worst part is there is no Irish music. Just boring rock and roll!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place for a beer, food is sketchy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Waxy's is a large Irish style pub located in an office/industrial park area. The service staff is cheerful and seem to know a lot of the clientele who appear to be regulars. They offer a decent selection of beer on tap. There is a pool table and plenty of TVs for sports watchers. The food however is questionable at best. I had bangers and mash, a classic pub offering. The portion was immense however the kitchen deep fries the sausages instead of cooking them on a griddle which is the correct way. The result is a greasy mess. My friend had chicken wings. They were average at best. I can't say whether or not I would return but I certainly cannot recommend this place. They would be well served to rethink and refine the cooking procedures they use.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodieman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waxy O'Connors also viewed

Lexington, MA
 

Been to Waxy O'Connors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing