We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nizami biryani -a total mess”
Review of Royal India Bistro

Royal India Bistro
Ranked #2 of 66 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Burlington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nizami biryani -a total mess”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Was very disappointed when I ate Nizami biryani & chicken Kabab today, no way closer to Biryani. Had lot of hopes after finding good reviews but unfortunately both the dishes wasn't good. My First n last visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anshul3113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    57
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great place for take out. Room is small, but service is good. They also offer delivery. I really enjoy the lamb.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jgeyerhahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
126 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food with superb and friendly service”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This restaurant is good (but not great). The staff is always friendly and attentive. Lunch is the real bargain here and since it is across the street from the Visitor's Center and close to the Lexington Battle Green, it is the best choice for tourists, especially if there are vegetarians in your group.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LesP_Lexington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LexGSR
Level Contributor
119 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Off night maybe”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We've been several times and been very happy with the food. Our latest visit was good, but not great, and therefore a little disappointing. Maybe it was just an off night. We'll certainly go again... and I hope my review will help them get back on game as we'd hate to lose such a great little place.

Note: it's a small place, often with a line. However, they do a substantial take-out business, which we've used and which I recommend if your timing is going to take you into the rush.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LexGSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Based on reviews we gave it a try!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

So the context is, I am of Indian heritage but born and brought up in the UK! I have just moved to the Boston area for work and my parents had come to visit and so we had to take some fellow Indian friends out to dinner and based on reviews picked this place. On weekends, they will not take reservations, so we arrived at 7pm and put out name down for a table. The place is quite small and probably only has around 50 covers. It was very busy and it took around 30 mins to get a table. The food was excellent, full of flavour and the option to pick how hot you wanted it. The chicken chili masala was particularly good and the naan was fresh and soft. They serve alcohol here too so beer can be drunk with your curry. We had kids with us that were hungry so no time to try the starters. Give it a go if you are in the local, and I hope you will like it too!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank merlincryst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal India Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Royal India Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing