We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Morgan's Rest Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Lexington B&B and Inns
South Orange, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay!”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

My husband, 8 year old daughter and I enjoyed a single night stay at Morgan's Rest this weekend. We stayed in the "pool" room - an enormous converted attic with a comfy king size bed, full-sized antique pool table (the room is so big that the pool table took up only a small fraction of the space), delightful private bathroom with a wonderful shower and sweeping cathedral ceilings and numerous skylights. We were able to lie in bed at night and look up at the stars. It was heaven!

We were greeted by Inn keeper Alex who was lovely and welcoming. The location of this B & B is perfect for anyone visiting Lexington proper or Boston in general. Close to the major highways and quietly nestled in a lovely residential neighborhood. This B & B has a lovely little fish pond outside (actually I didn't see fish - but it seems like a fish pond) along with a lovely teak picnic table and lots and lots of strawberry plants. Our daughter slept on a comfy roll-away bed (she loved it) and thanks to a large stone chimney in the center of the room my husband and I felt that we had a bit of privacy even though we were sharing the room with our daughter.

We enjoyed a delicious breakfast of fresh fruit, home made bread, fresh squeezed OJ and a yummy fritata.

We highly recommend this lovely B & B!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
45
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed in the Follen Room which had plenty of space for a rollaway bed. Alex and Jon are wonderful, friendly, and accommodating hosts. They cooked up scrumptuous breakfasts and we enjoyed chatting with them. We felt like we were staying with old friends. The house has a very nice lived-in feel, but is older so don't expect being in the lap of luxury. We were the only guests over the weekend so we were welcomed to use the pool table in the pool room which is a very large, There is a microwave and refrigerator in the upstairs hall for guests. We came in late spring and were told that they had window AC units that they had not installed yet. The ceiling fan was sufficient for us. There was a small TV but we did not watch much of it. We took more advantage of the free wifi. The location is in a quiet residential area. It is close to Lexington & Concord sights and easy access to the Metro and Harvard. But driving to downtown or the North End will require navigating through a lot of city streets. We would definitely stay here again if we are in Boston again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRCSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Morgan's Rest is a wonderful B&B; a comfortable home away from home, and a great place to stay.

The gracious owner went out of her way to be helpful, and answer questions as needed, especially about traveling/driving in the area.

The fresh, home made breakfasts were delicious. We were asked our preference, as well as our preferred hour to eat. Hot oatmeal along with a freshly baked loaf of oat bread awaited us. Before leaving on our last morning, we were given the opportunity to use the loaf of bread to make sandwiches for our daylong train trip.

We were very grateful for this very hospitable and friendly B &B.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garden1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I stayed here on a research trip to Boston, preferring to be in a quieter venue outside the city. I would recommend this bed and breakfast highly, as it is small, personable and a really beautiful house. Also, a much better value (by at least half) than downtown Boston prices. The owners spent a fair amount of time helping me with logistics, and gave me a printed map to the closest subway station (10 minutes away). This worked out very well for me.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibliophiletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We are from the Caribbean and we were interested in staying in a budget bed and breakfast and staying at Morgan's Rest was exactly the winter experience we asked for. Of course, in the summer would be beautiful as well! The service was excellent, the breakfast was AMAZINGLY good and we even got the chance to shovel some snow and make snow angels. Since it was low season, we had asked for the smaller room but the owner upgraded us with no charge to the bigger room which has a pool table and a private bathroom. It's a perfect New England house and great neighborhood!! I recommend this b&b to anyone going to Boston or Lexington, MA, which is on the outskirts of Boston.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blopezlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We live nearby in Boston, and were looking for a very close one night getaway when grandma was available to babysit, but with a relatively new baby we did nt want to go very far. We found this place on tripadvisor, and weren't disappointed!! Very clean, cute, airy, and convenient, we had a great night away. We were in the Pool room with the pool table, and on a cold winter night, it was super fun to stay in and use it! It's surprising how addictive pool can be, even for one who hasn't played in ~10 years... Alex, the owner, was super nice, and made us a FABULOUS breakfast, catering to various special needs, and even insisted we take the remainder of the yummy pumpkin bread she baked fresh that morning home with us, once she found out it's my spouse's favorite. It did not last very long :) Overall, highly recommended, and if you can, get the pool room!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_and_T_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, CA
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We spent two nights at this lovely B&B, enjoying the spacious room with skylights and very comfortable king-sized bed! The attached bath was clean and roomy, and the towels were nice and thick - not those flat little towels you often see in hotels. Nice treat. Also, we enjoyed the fresh bread that the host made for us at breakfast along with coffee - even though we had to catch an early flight out of Boston, they fed us a full breakfast before we had to leave at 5am! Sweet people, beautiful place to stay, and we plan to go back next year.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Hastings Park
The Inn at Hastings Park
#1 of 4 in Lexington
158 reviews
2.5 mi away
Element Lexington
Element Lexington
#3 of 4 in Lexington
444 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aloft Lexington
Aloft Lexington
#2 of 4 in Lexington
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Concord's Colonial Inn
Concord's Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Concord
517 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington
9.1 mi away
Best Western at Historic Concord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan's Rest Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Rest Bed & Breakfast

Property: Morgan's Rest Bed & Breakfast
Address: 205 Follen Rd, Lexington, MA 02421-5943
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing