We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“needs better cleaning” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thoreau's Walden B&B

Thoreau's Walden B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thoreau's Walden B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“needs better cleaning”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Location is perfect, literally across the road from Walden Pond, and dining in Lincoln offers many possibilities. Our hostess is kind, thoughtful and accommodating and our upstairs room was a good size. House is homey, complete with a large family room which guests can use. But there are 4 small, short-haired dogs which have the run of the house when the kitchen gate is open. The hostess forgot to tell us about the cuties and they shed all over -- in addition to hair on bedroom carpet, some even floated up onto my placemat (which had someone else's food sitting on the corner to boot) at breakfast. As the dogs bed down in the kitchen, along with a caged bird, the general sanitary situation made me wonder. Shower curtain needed cleaning or replacement. Not sure, but I think the upstairs bedrooms share the hallway bath. Good deal for the price if dogs and cleanliness aren't issues for lodgers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rose1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyde Park, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We would return in a heartbeat. We had the bedroom over the garage. Barbara was an absolute delight. We had a wonderful view of the pond. The house is far enough back from the road that you don't realize there is any traffic. Very convenient to town. All in all a great find on the Internet.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Oldvermonters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

This charming little bed and breakfast is literally across the road from Walden Pond, made famous by Henry David Thoreau in his book, "Walden." The innkeeper, Barbara, is one of the nicest people we have ever met. The minute we arrived we felt right at home. We stayed in a really nice little room with a queen bed, and a private bath right next door. The town is just a short drive away, and we went there, drove around, and had a nice dinner. The next morning, we enjoyed a wonderful little breakfast. Then, we walked across the road and enjoyed the tranquility of Walden Pond. All in all, an amazing trip and an amazing B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anon y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We felt like we found a real treasure when we arrived at Thoreau's Walden B&B. Barbara was a gracious hostess, and she welcomed our 14 month old son. We stayed one night for $100, which included a leisurely breakfast of eggs, bacon, english muffins, fruit, and oatmeal for our son. She packed leftovers in to-go baggies. If you stay for more than one night, it's $75 per night. The room we stayed in was an upstairs room with a deck. The decoration was bright and vacation-home-ish. The backyard was charming, with lots of birds flitting around and what looked like a trail, but we didn't venture that far. We went straight across the street to Walden's Pond and enjoyed a stroll around the pond. We ate dinner at 80 Thoreau, which was pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BrooklynMakita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

I found Thoreaus Walden B and B on my GPS, I was tired from my day of driving and business and just needed a place to stay. I called Barbara and she allowed me to stay just 1 night instead of her usual 2 night minimum. It is a 3 bedroom place. Quiet with a brook/waterfalls that Barbara built herself, I opened ALL THE WINDOWS in my over the Garage bedroom which was huge. Flat Screen TV comfortable bed. and all night the sound of the brook outside was soothing. The breakfast was very good, scrambled eggs with basil and tomatoes, bacon, coffee and juice. And right outside the dining room window were about 1 dozen active bird feeders, it was a sight to see all the wildlife joining me for breakfast. I shall return again with my wife next time....thank you Barbara for your hospitality

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ArthurD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincoln
1.7 mi away
Concord's Colonial Inn
Concord's Colonial Inn
#2 of 3 in Concord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord
3.7 mi away
Aloft Lexington
Aloft Lexington
#3 of 4 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Inn at Hastings Park
The Inn at Hastings Park
#1 of 4 in Lexington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
3.7 mi away
Element Lexington
Element Lexington
#2 of 4 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thoreau's Walden B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thoreau's Walden B&B

Property: Thoreau's Walden B&B
Address: 2 Concord Rd, Lincoln, MA 01773-3002
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Lincoln
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing