We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stretch your imagination”

DeCordova Sculpture Park & Museum
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The largest of its kind in New England, this sculpture park encompasses 35 acres, 20 miles northwest of Boston. The park features a constantly changing landscape of large-scale, outdoor, modern and contemporary sculpture and site-specific installations, and hosts more than 60 works, the majority of which are on loan. Year round activities include snowshoe tours, yoga in the park, birding tours, curator and artist conversations, and many special talks, screenings, and events.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Stretch your imagination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is not your 'typical' sculpture garden. Follow the path at your leisure and view a variety of wonderful and unexpected 'sculptures'. I think our favorite was the knights in the woods....you come upon them scattered there....and it lights the imagination. We were there on a rainy day but umbrellas solved that easily and we hardly noticed as we strolled the path. Take a look at the website for some examples but you will find the unexpected around each curve.
It is a thought provoking day out. There are rotating exhibits in the main building but we found the sculptures were really the highlight. Stop in the cafe for a cup of tea or coffee, etc.
(We didn't think to ask if they plow the paths in the winter so not sure how this would be for a visit with a foot of snow on the ground if they don't!)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank chimneysweep1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    57
    20
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Methuen, MA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“My rating is on the low side because this is not what I expected; and I do recognize that others really liked this museu”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I was disappointed as I was expecting a museum filled with oil paintings with fancy frames, some well known artist names, etc. - but I didn't find that. In a museum, when I see a piece of art I believe is interesting, I will look at it and recognize the talent of the artist and wonder how they did that. If one cannot figure out how something was created or it is just amazingly beautiful, one can leave the museum feeling satisfied. In the case of the items viewed both in and out of the museum, these thoughts had little bearing. I could easily see how the 'art' was created; for a few examples, one artist had string/wire hanging from the ceiling to a point just off the floor and this was in a vertical line and consisted of a number of these strings; another piece adjacent to the strings was an old quilt with holes cut out of it; outside, one finds an exhibit of stacked newspapers. There is no wonder how these were created - similar to exhibits where artists hang an empty frame on the wall, or have a blank white stretched canvas, or one that is entirely painted one color. There is no wonder here as to how these were created - just amazement that someone has done this and it hangs in a museum. Granted, there were some interesting pieces in the museum as well as on the grounds. I preferred the outside grounds and it is pleasant walking there. For those seeking regular art (oil, watercolor, acryllic, etc) with impressionism, realism, cubist and all the other forms, this might not be the museum for you. For those interested in contemporary or items described above, this museum would be worthy to check out; again, the grounds are nice to walk around.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank methuenma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great day trip from Boston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

My boyfriend and I visited the DeCordova Sculpture Park and Museum this past weekend after stumbling across its listing on Trip Advisor's "Best Kept Secrets" page. We decided to pair a trip to DeCordova with a lunch in Concord, MA (as Lincoln and Concord are just a ten minute drive apart). After lunch we arrived at a little after 2:30pm and had plenty of time to explore for a few hours before the park closed at 5pm. It was a chilly day so we spent less time than we otherwise would have walking around outside. If it had been a bit warmer I would have loved to wander around the premises a bit more or sit for a while on the outdoor terrace. There is a beautiful view of a nearby lake so I would love to return in the summer and just sit for a while and take in the view. As far as the art itself goes - it was fun to check out. It's definitely a bit "out there" but fun to just wander through and look at. Overall a good excursion from Boston and an easy way to get out of the city for an afternoon.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morgan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sculpture in a Natural Setting - What Could Be Better?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This fabulous find is a hidden gem in the Boston area offering great art in a spectacular setting. My husband and I enjoyed a visit here last Friday and spent a most enjoyable day wandering the grounds, exploring the sculpture outside and exploring the museum with its fine exhibits. I would definitely recommend this sculpture park/museum if you are in the area. The programs for children seem to be a great way to get the whole family involved. The catered food available at the cafe' is reasonably priced and delicious.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Audra631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

The DeCordova is one of the best places to visit/take visitors if you have nice weather and a car. The grounds are fabulous, and the art sneaks up on you as you walk around. Indoors is great, too, but plays second fiddle for me. The view from the upper terrace over the reservoir is spectacular.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DeCordova Sculpture Park & Museum also viewed

 

Been to DeCordova Sculpture Park & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing