We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous local night out for dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Ox

The Blue Ox
Reserve with OpenTable
The Blue Ox is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 177 Restaurants in Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Market Street
Transit: We are a short walk from the Lynn station of the MBTA Commuter Rail.
Lynn, Massachusetts
1 review
“fabulous local night out for dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

everything was great! we love sitting at the bar when we eat... space was available without being crowded. bar tenders were nice, food was delicious especially for my gluten free husband.
will be back especially because it would support local....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lmags40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    61
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Local Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We were in the area running errands and Yelp helped us find this terrific restaurant, sorry Tripadvisor. It was a little after 5 pm on a Sat. and we were en route after reading the reviews. Decided to call to ensure we could be seated and the earliest reservation was at 8:30 pm but the hostess said high top seats in the bar are first-come, first-served and if we could arrive in 10-15 minutes, she was pretty sure we could get in. We arrived and the two friendly hostesses greeted us and one seated us right away. Our waitress arrived in about 5 minutes and was VERY pleasant and seasoned (earned star #1). We had already previewed the menu in on our way via Yelp so had an idea of what we wanted to order. We can't vouch for the drinks (not alcohol folks) but the people around us all looked very satisfied with their cocktails. We started by splitting the Pear Salad which they brought on two separate plates (without us asking, earned star #2). A waiter brought hot bread served with a maple butter on the side which were both outstanding (star #3). Our waitress went over the specials and my hubby decided on one of them, the Filet cooked with a hickory bacon smoker served with mashed potatoes, asparagus and a sweet demi-glace. I ordered the Lobster Scampi which was served over fresh fettuccini and cherry tomatoes. Both dishes were absolutely fabulous and were served in good timing given that it was getting pretty busy!!! (star #4) Our waitress brought dessert menus over but we were stuffed and declined. Then she proceeded to ask if we had dined there before and we told her that we just found them on Yelp hours ago. She delivered our check in good time and while she was closing out our check, the general manager came over to acknowledge that we were first-time patrons. A VERY nice touch and well deserving of star #5. This is how a restaurant should be run: friendly, attentive, knowledgeable and last but not least ...outstanding food! Wish they were closer to where we live!!!! The only confusing notation on Yelp was the two $$ ... our salad and two entrees, without any drinks totaled $72 without tip. Absolutely worth it but I would rank it a little more than two $$.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dkiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not to be missed - north shore hidden treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Have never been disappointed with a meal at the Blue Ox. Great specials - that is if you have any room after all those rolls...can you please pass the maple butter? Yum! One suggestion for parents - even though they have a kids menu, the litle ones didn't really appreciate the fine food - save this for a grown ups night out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Origamimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Filets and Service; So-so Ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

The Blue Ox had changed hands since our last visit, so wanted to give it another try. Our waitress was very informed and attentive. We tried one of the wine specials (an Italian red), which was OK, for close to 50 bucks a bottle (not great). However, we found the house filets to be outstanding! We sat in the bar area (high tables), which was comfortable, but nothing special. Because of the quality of the food, we will definitely come back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuomalainenPoika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston ma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic food great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Had wonderful scallop special last night cute window table for two bar side husband great lobster pasta dish reading the book right now blue bistro seemed o similar perfect size Caesar salad great Cosmo just right size not way too big will be back

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanmichele54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Ox also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Ox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing