We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded but worth rubbing elbows for those great breakfasts!”
Review of Mildred's Corner Cafe - CLOSED

Mildred's Corner Cafe
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Crowded but worth rubbing elbows for those great breakfasts!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is a breakfast place primarily. The menu is extensive; there's even a separate menu consisting only of teas! Tables are crowded together, but no one seems to mind. Recently, the owner acquired the adjacent space and was able to expand a bit so some of the waiting line can now wait inside rather than lined up down the street BUT it is STILL crowded because the number of customers seems to have increased along with the increase in size. Well worth the standing in line and squeezing in - and maybe even sharing a table with someone you don't know. Food is excellent; ingredients are obviously fresh; the cooks are talented and creative. It might be too intense for younger children, but I'd say 10 years old and up could handle it just fine. No bar or outdoor seating here; strictly breakfast done superbly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank graham072442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
364 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Really Great Breakfast Place”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My family and I had a really great breakfast recently at Mildred's Corner Cafe. We were surprised to learn that they've been there for 12 years! How had we missed this gem all this time?! The food was excellent ... served hot and fresh. One person in our party said the hashbrowns were the best she's had in a long time. I had the BLT, which was loaded with bacon. Coffee was deemed great too. The only downside was the extremely small waiting area (which was only a problem because there were quite a few people coming in for breakfast ... which we actually took as a good sign). The decor was definitely interesting ~~ kind of funky and upbeat, very bright and fun. Lots of tea cups around, some for sale. We had driven by this restaurant many many times but had never been before ... Make no mistake, we will be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyG-818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great big breakfast”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Best and biggest breakfast with a large variety to choose from. So much food it makes 2 meals. The decor is very small and cozy. You will wait @ prime time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryd21christmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome !”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Had breakfast here after the holiday ! Goat cheese and artichoke omelet to die for! My son had the pumpkin pancakes which were yummy! Really cute decor and friendly staff! Can't wait to go back !

Helpful?
Thank Farleysmom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
201 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Best Omelette Ever!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

A friend took me to Mildred's. Okay, its a bit funky and not what I would have expected in Lynn, MA, but I have to tell you, I had one of the best omelettes I have ever had. And that is saying something.

Bacon, Pear, Gorgonzola omelette was ridiculous!

Cutesy teacup sort of interior decor with old movies playing on the monitors. Service was very good, thought I would imagine if they were slammed, things might be a bit different. Clean as a whistle with an open kitchen concept (as long as you are seated in the main room) which I always find interesting. A definite local find.

Go, eat, enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brokenboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing