We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malden
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Hotel is easy to find; we were surprised by the knowledge of the receptionist; he did her best to find the better deal for us for our next stay. Rooms are spacious and very clean; with great amenities with just renovated furniture, bathroom and carpet. The best thing is we could take easy routes via. Public services right outside the property. We had a non smoking room and it was really pleasant and amazing stay there was not a bit of smoke smell in the room. The breakfast is considered above average for this type of hotel. We were really impressed with this hotel. I would stay at this hotel with my family anytime I'm in Boston or surrounding areas.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    9
    23
    24
    80
See reviews for
25
45
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This is the kind of hotel where you go because you need a place to stay, and all you want is a roof over your head, clean sheets and hot water. The hotel delivers these, and nothing more.
The rooms are billed "non-smoking", but by now the smoke is embedded into the carpets, and the place seriously needs a renovation.
The front desk got our neighbor to lower the volume on their TV, for which we are grateful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hd27dfh23789h7892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telaviv
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

One of the big problems in Boston is the price fixing - as the majority of 3-4 star hotels are over priced by $100-$250 and a tourist has no choice but to pay it because the lower 2-3 star lodgings are all pits that should not be open in the first place. The Econo Lodge in Malden should be put out of business by the board of health on multiple counts but it remains open so that you will be forced to stay at the overpriced haunts that think they are the ritz carlton.

Econo Lodge is supposed to be a clean bed or over night stay near an airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savvy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Econo Lodge during your recent last visit to our area and appreciate the review.

We have engaged a professional team for regular cleaning with a strict instruction to check the rooms and amenities of the room before checking in a new guest.

We request you to make a note of our efforts and consider staying with us in future and have a new satisfactory experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malden hotels

Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This was the worst room we have ever stayed in. The locks on the doors were broken, the door jam had been repaired but looked like a kid had fixed it and there was light shining all around the door as if the door didn't fit. The carpet was stained, there was no channel listing for the tv, the room had a terrible stench, the widows were so dirty as well as the window sill, there was no coffee pot and the continental breakfast area was so old and dirty that we couldn't eat there. The neighborhood seemed less than desireable. It was a pleasure to check out!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan32548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with the Econo Lodge during your recent visit to our area and the review.

We are addressing your observations related to the amenities and cleanliness.

Each room will be thoroughly checked before checking in a new guest.

We await your earliest next trip to our area and promise a nice stay with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I have many complaints about my stay here at this particular lodging. Firstly, I booked a non smoking room but I was put into a handicapped smoking room. Then when I requested for what I originally asked for in my reservation they gave me the dirtiest room I have ever stayed at. There was an odor that lingered about the place like the smell of rotten eggs. The television cable was not working...broken. The sheets were old and worn out. There was old leftover pizza from previous guests that was left for so many unknown days in the refrigerator that house keeping forgot to clean out. Overall the hotel was dirty and unwelcoming and i highly not recommend you stay here while visiting. I recently stayed this past week and I don't believe the services have drastically improved since I left.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Kdang808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and we appreciate the time taken to write the review.

We have checked each of the points mentioned in the lengthy review.

Nevertheless we have taken each of the responsible department to task to ensure that
there is no second chance to have any negative comment.

We hope you would appreciate our efforts and do visit us to confirm this.

You will find your next stay a really nice experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Do not book a room here!
Rooms are gross, even the nonsmoking rooms stink. Clientele is super sketchy, seriously wouldn't be surprised if they rent rooms by the hour. Found a guy passed out in the lobby when I decided to check out early because I couldn't stay there anymore.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Econo Lodge during your recent visit to our area.

We also appreciate your review and observations.

We have investigated the happening and taken the appropriate steps to improve everything which you have mentioned in it.

We have taken all the steps to ensure that our guests get the best services and hospitality during their stay.

We invite you once again to choose our hotel again and feel the new experience of hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

i whole heartily agree with everyone of these reviews. The place is unbelivably sketchy. My room was possibly the most depressing "bates motel" imaginable. I could not believe that this was a hotel in the choice hotels group that i am a member of. The walls were dirty the locks on the door seemed flimsy,the cable T V barely worked. I was afraid to shower in case someone came in.The bed had burns and i didn't trust sleeping on the sheets.The a/c was the best part it only had one setting and that was freezing. I had to stay 2 nights and when i left the first night i did not leave anything in the room. i also did not trust my car in the lot and expected it to be propped up on milk boxes with no tires. I guess the saving grace for this hotel is the hooker clientel, when i went for ice there was a woman all of sudden by my door with a propostion i asked if she came with the room since she was there and the room costed me over 100.00 dollars. She smiled and walked away.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for writing the review and observations.

We apologize for whatever may have happened howsoever.

Please note that we have investigated the unfortunate trouble you had, but have taken remedial steps to see that it never happens again to any of our guests.

We have done a thorough check up of the rooms and taken steps for maintaining the best cleanliness in the rooms and premises.

Once again we are sorry for the same and please do rethink and visit us.

We will see that you get a nice experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malden
2.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Boston - Logan
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Revere
Quality Inn Revere
#4 of 5 in Revere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Boston Logan International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Logan International Airport
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Boston Logan Airport
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 321 Broadway, Malden, MA 02148-4521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Malden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge(R) hotel is conveniently located just seven miles from the Boston Logan International Airport. This Malden hotel is only minutes from the University of Massachusetts Boston (UMass Boston), Tufts University, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Northeastern University and Harvard University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Malden
Econolodge Hotel Malden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing