We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingy and rundown”
Review of Old Corner Inn

Old Corner Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manchester-by-the-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Corner Inn
Reviewed 13 July 2008

It seems clearn that no one is making any effort here. We stayed for one night in late June. Our room was spacious, but totally without comfort - a hard, lumpy bed, a side table and lamp on only one side of the bed, the bathroom was tiny and awkward with whitewashing only half way up the wall. When we arrived we asked if there were any menus from the local restaurants but were told "they haven't dropped them off yet." One of the front windows is covered in plastic. The breakfast was a bit of cold cereal and some nasty coffee. Everything was worn and threadbare. What's the point? I would never recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Calicocatlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2007

We do not share the experiences of the two critics and recommend this place.

The Corner Inn is a former danish embassy built in 1865. So the Inn is definitly not a modern place but it has all that a german/european visitor expects from Newengland Inns: old architecture and furniture, a friendly Innkeeper and interesting talks with nice guests from all over the world. We had a good stay and enjoyed the two days.

We stayed with our two children (7/10) and had two rooms and a bath connected with a corridor what was very comfortable. The rooms were old but clean. The rate was about 125 $ / night what is reseonable. The breakfast is fine.

The Innkeeper Michael (a dedicated golf enthusiast) gave us a lot of good advises, what to do and where to go. Manchester ist close by. All the places on Cape Ann can be reached within a few minutes.

There is a railstation nearby that takes you to Boston. Manchester ist not a tourist place and has a good beach. Michael will tell you where.

At all we recommend this place and request all guests to comment their stay at Tripadvisor. Just two old statements do not give a full impression.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank KM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2006

We stayed for two nights while attending a nearby wedding. Wow, was this place a downer. The living and dining room furnishings were quite unimpressive and lighting dingy. The inn had a variety of sleeping rooms so we can only speak for ours. It was large with decent closet space, but the bed was hard and lumpy. While the bathroom was fairly clean, it was a tiny space, with cheesy wallpaper, rust and messy caulk around the fixtures. The breakfast merely included single serving cereal boxes and store-bought bread and english muffins to put in a toaster that barely functioned. After two nights, the bill was $325! Instead of the "gracious manor" as advertised on their web site, we felt like we'd just stayed in my grandmother's broken down old house. With such a convenient location, this inn has much potential as a lovely B&B, but it needs substantial upgrades before we will return.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dispratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New Jersey
16
Reviewed 21 October 2005

A friend and I stayed at the Old Corner Inn during the month of October. This Inn has alot of potential, however we found it to be run down. The furniture in the lobby is worn and there was wall paper stuck to the fireplace, apparently the owner ran out of wall paper, or they didn't feel like finishing it. The rooms were clean but they were all lacking. With some TLC this place could be very nice. Some fresh paint, wall paper, bed linens would make a huge difference. The bathrooms were really bad, the wall paper was coming loose in one of them and instead of repairing it they put a row of tacks to hold it in place. The main doors were never locked, anyone could just walk in and roam around, the bedroom doors had locks, but it felt a little strange to think that anyone could just enter all hours of the day and night. Again, it was very clean, I just feel that with the amount of money they charge to stay there that they could at least do some minor repairs. We stayed 2 nights and our bill was over $300.00, definetly not worth the money. We will definetly return to Massachusetts, but will not stay at this Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank manu-le-belge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester-by-the-Sea
3.4 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
6.7 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
242 reviews
8.2 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
409 reviews
6.3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
9.9 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Corner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Corner Inn

Address: 2 Harbor St, Manchester-by-the-Sea, MA 01944-1423
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Manchester-by-the-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester-by-the-Sea
Price Range: £30 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing