We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, reasonably priced sushi.”
Review of Sake Steakhouse

Sake Steakhouse
Ranked #28 of 58 Restaurants in Mansfield
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good, reasonably priced sushi.”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I'm very surprised by the reviewer who had bad sushi here. This is one of my go-to places when I want sushi without breaking the bank. I have found it to be consistently high quality and well prepared. I usually order sushi, sometimes sashimi, almost never ridiculous roles with 18 ingredients, and I have never bothered with the hibachi. I particularly like the fact that they sometimes don't have some items (uni, live scallop), which to me means that they don't push to get one more day out of product that should be tossed. The only reason I give four out of five is that the room that the sushi bar (not the hibachi room) is in is a little bland in terms of atmosphere and has nothing to do with the sushi, which is very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tkautolycus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drinkwater P, Public Relations Manager at Sake Steakhouse, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We enjoyed having you dine with us and look forward to your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    5
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great "kitchen" menu”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We sat in the regular dining room and had a great meal! I am normally not a huge fan of asian cuisine but i was pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMiche47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drinkwater P, Public Relations Manager at Sake Steakhouse, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We enjoyed having you dine with us and look forward to your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A favorite!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Sake's Sushi is probably one of the best around the place. I really really really recommend it especially with parties and special occasions. There hibachi is very entertaining and lively. All of their services (bar, hibachi, dining) are reasonably priced. And even if you don't have a large party, the food there is definitely worth it. I would give it a 6 out 5 if it was possible. But it is so popular that you it is very very crowded a lot and you might need to wait a long time to get seated. So I recommend reservations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caroline n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drinkwater P, Public Relations Manager at Sake Steakhouse, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We enjoyed having you dine with us and look forward to your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iceland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food and great entertainment”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Went with friends for a great night out. Had a really good time! Food was very nice and service was also good. Had some great cocktails while we waited for our table in the hibachi side.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skuggi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drinkwater P, Public Relations Manager at Sake Steakhouse, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We enjoyed having you dine with us and look forward to your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice looking place, too bad the food & service doesn't match!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We will never come here again. We thought we would finally try some sushi here, boy I wish we didn't & stuck to what we know, the other Asian place in the same vicinity. The sushi was NOT fresh. My wife had the yellowtail roll (had a weird fishy smell). I had the spider roll (completely soggy). We also had two small salads, very small! One salad had 1 tomoto & 1 cucumber, the other was just iceburg lettuce. The dressing was way overbearing and the salads were drowned in it. Service was completely clueless. I could not understand the waitress. We also ordered drinks, Mai Tai & a Blue Hawaii. Hello do they know anything about proper liquor pours?? I almost choked on my first sip (my last). Couldn't finish it, just plain gross. My wife is not a big drinker so therefore she couldn't drink more than two sips. This place really needs improvement in all areas. While the waitstaff is friendly, the must know English. Last time I checked we lived in America!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EarlGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sake Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Sake Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing