We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and historic B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marblehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brimblecomb Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 19 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The Brimblecomb Hill B&B is so warm, inviting, and comfortable, I can't say enough about it! The original building was built in 1721, and all the nooks and crannies and funny doors and wood floors let you know you are in a place of true historic value. The sitting room where breakfast is set up is full of books about the history of Marblehead, and contemporary magazines and newspapers informing guests of current happenings in this unique town. Our room was one of the two that share a bathroom, which was not an inconvenience at all. We had our own door to the outside and therefore didn't need to disrupt anyone when we came in late. Bed was very comfortable, and the room decorated exactly as you would want it to be in Marblehead! We will stay at the Brimblecomb again and again and again.

Room Tip: The two that share a bathroom both have their own doors outside, whereas the one with private bath u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holl314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Located near the beautiful harbor of Marblehead, surrounded by historical buildings and early American architecture, this small, intimate inn is perfect for a weekend away. Owner Gene Arnould provides a charming, warm ambience for his guests. Breakfast choices are healthy and delicious--continental in style. He also owns an art gallery nearby and is active in the lively Marblehead arts scene.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmknuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We only had the pleasure of staying at the Brimblecomb for 1 night, but we are definitely planning to stay there in the future again as we frequent Marblehead. If you are traveling to this area for the month of October, you are competing for a nice place to stay due to the usual leaf peepers and the folks visiting Salem during this month. I would recommend booking ahead. Marblehead is a charming town with some cute shops-great place if you want to be close to the city, but not IN the city. The room we stayed in was small-really only large enough for a queen size bed and small dresser and nightstand and we shared the bathroom with an adjacent room. That was a minor inconvenience for the price during this season. It was clean, comfortable and in the morning, Mr. Arnould goes to the local muffin shop and brings back fresh muffins and there is coffee also. We also went and had dinner within walking distance at Jack tar at Mr. Arnould's recommendation and it was great. The morning we checked out, we had a nice conversation w/ Mr. Arnould's wife, Janet (I think) and mentioned we were going to the Driftwood to have breakfast. We went to the Driftwood and after realizing it was a cash only establishment, we left to look for a nearby ATM and ran into Janet who was coming to the restaurant to deliver a makeup item I had left on our room along with a Christmas ornament of the Brimblecomb that I had inquired about and she had thought she was out of! If you're looking for cable TV and a hot tub w/ all the amenities, you won't find it here. It's a great cozy spot if you're looking for a place to park and be in a quieter part of the city hosted by a lovely couple! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TampaTravelingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I want to say that Brimblecomb is dreadful - but only because we want to keep it quiet! Our second visit, we really couldnt wait to get back there and while it is often said that one should never go back, we found the place to be just as wonderful as we remembered it to be. We had the Isaac Mansfield room again - perfect for us, although we note the plethora of Dylan Thomas present in the bookshelves (but we would, coming from Wales). Gene & his wife are excellent hosts, kind & interested while in no way intrusive, particularly helpful this year as we visited during the festival & we were guided by them as to what we should do & see. When I hit a blip during our stay (nothing to do with Brimblecomb) Gene couldnt have been more concerned or kinder. Please do visit, but not when we are planning to stay because we want to be able to stay there again!

Room Tip: If you must have a television & drinks making facilities in room, then Brimblecomb cannot accomo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlorenceScholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

As always, our trip to the Brimblecomb was wonderful. This trip, we stayed in Isaac Mansfield room, a charming room filled with an abundance of books and Lincoln memorabilia. This room has its own, albeit small, bathroom with a shower. The bed is comfortable and the rocking chair is a great place to relax and read. The adjoining rooms in the back of the house are just as lovely although they share a bath, perfect for an extended family vacation. The continental breakfast is always completed with muffins from the Muffin Shop, not to be missed. All that being said, the Brimblecomb would not be the same without owner Gene Arnould. He is always lovely to talk with and has great suggestions for local activities. This may have been our 5th or 6th stay at the Brimblecomb, but definitely not the last!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely, but only the Isaac Mansfield has its own bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We had two rooms connected through the shares bathroom. The rooms were adorable. Gene, the host, gave us a nice welxome and a good price for fhe rwo rooms. The house is beautiful, full of books and magazines and reproductio s of boat. There s even a piano. The breakfast wS very good too especislly for a continental breakfast. Great coffd and muffins!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeroDupont-Ongun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We are so used to chain hotels that we had forgotten the charm of a local bed & breakfast. Brimblecomb Hill B&B was perfect for a weekend visit and reunion with an old school friend. The rooms were nicely decorated and furnished, there was a very pleasant and private yard in which to sit, and the breakfast was informal and conducive to making friends with the other guests. It was also fairly inexpensive for this part of the world! I would recommend this to a couple who are interested in exploring the lovely historic town, and relaxing in the peace and quiet of Brimblecomb Hill.

Room Tip: We would have liked to get the "library room" (Isaac Mansfield), but it was already taken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grandmasfootsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marblehead hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor Light Inn
Harbor Light Inn
#1 of 19 in Marblehead
461 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#3 of 19 in Marblehead
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor Gardens
Harbor Gardens
#10 of 19 in Marblehead
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brimblecomb Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brimblecomb Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 33 Mechanic St, Old Marblehead, Marblehead, MA
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing