We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Home”
Review of Seagull Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marblehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seagull Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better Than Home”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

This was our third visit to the Seagull Inn and have to confess to preferring our evenings spent there than our own home! The warm hospitality (and this is an understatement!) provided by owners Ruth and Skip Sigler applies to all their guests but what really sets them apart is the subtle ways in which they make repeat boarders feel like part of the family.
When you arrive, Ruth and Skip meet & greet you at the door (we’re lucky enough to receive a big enveloping hug), show you to your room (regardless of the number of prior visits) and then invite you down to the kitchen for a cocktail. Please accept this generous offer as you have the opportunity to not only enjoy a very fine glass of your favorite beverage but will often find yourself ensconced in lively and intelligent conversations with locals and guests alike, all who just happen to know when Skip opens the “kitchen”! (One evening in particular was spent with a member of the state department, a farrier, two businessmen, a “local” who hails from Scotland and broadcasts for the BBC from his attic and his British wife who writes for the Boston Globe – too much fun!)
We have stayed in two of the three rooms (the Library Suite and the Lighthouse Apartment) with each offering their own special charm but all the rooms in the inn are focused on comfort – from the supplemental in-room heater and the extra down quilt for cold weather visits to the fans and air-conditioning unit for warm summer evenings. Additionally, each room is supplied with a tray filled with copious packaged goodies, nuts, coffee, water and sherry which we loved being able to snack on at any time of the day.
Breakfast is continental in style and happens to be one of the best EVER with homemade pastries (which change from day-to-day), breads and rolls, jams and jellies, a fresh fruit salad (which also varies daily), an array of cereals, yogurt, smoked salmon, meats, cheeses, juices, hot teas, coffee and loads of great conversation.
The inn is located in a quiet neighborhood on Marblehead Neck and has some great roads for walking, jogging and biking as well as several points of interest that include a park with lighthouse, a bird sanctuary and Castle Rock. Additionally, Ruth and Skip have a few kayaks available for use and paddling on Lady’s Cove is a very pleasant way to spend an afternoon. The town of Marblehead is agreeably curious (check out the gold cod or sperm whales located over many of the homes’ doors), with great shopping, a lively arts scene, lots of historical sites and to some very good restaurants. However, be wary of driving the streets as they are tend to be very confusing and circular in nature…the town is best seen on foot.
To Skip and Ruth, seeing to their guests needs is second nature and nothing is too trivial for their oversight whether that be assisting with directions to Boston or Portland, providing information on local happenings such as a yoga class or recommending a near-by restaurant like the Three Cods. And as they've lived in Marblehead for 40 or so years, they are able to do so effortlessly so you don’t feel as though you were imposing for asking. Not to put too fine a point to it, staying at the Seagull Inn is simply better than staying at home !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrflynn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
67
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed there for two days and three nights and had the best hotel experience yet. The people were friendly and the rooms were cozy. Everyone in our party had fun there, whether it was watching movies in bed or having pleasant chats with Ruth and Skip. The rooms give off a nice homely feeling that puts any guest at ease. We recommend this Inn to anyone who wants pleasant company with great value.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte5593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We stayed at the Seagull Inn for 6 nights over Christmas in Dec 2010. The stay could not have been nicer!. We got to experience gale-force winds, a wild ocean and heavy snow over the holiday, and were delighted with the chance to stay curled up in bed during the worst of it. We were in the Library Suite - a warm and delightful room lined with books that you want to read, and with light that was bright enough to read them - a key issue for my aging eyes these days. Innkeepers Ruth and Skip were friendly, funny and accommodating. When my back molar developed an abscess, they amazingly managed to locate a doctor and dentist for pain meds and antibiotics, despite the deep snow and holiday weekend.

Everything in the Inn seemed focused on comfort - My partner, who is always cold, was happy about the supplemental in-room heater and the extra down quilt. We loved being able to snack on nuts, chocolates, sherry and copious goodies - and were delighted with Skip's offering of wine and conversation after the sun was over the yard-arm. The location is lovely, the ocean is nearby, and the historic homes of Marblehead were charming, and fabulously decorated for the holidays. Breakfasts were delicious, varied and plentiful and the coffee was excellent. We look forward to visiting again and again.

Karen and Mike

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen_in_Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Allenhurst, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Ruth & Skip Sigler made our stay very special.
The view from the B&B is breathtaking
The Sigler's coundn't be better hosts
The breakfast was outstanding
and so were the extra's that separated this B&B from most we stayed at.....

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholasNosofsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Stayed for 1 night whilst in the Salem area....wished we could have stayed longer but they were full...we only managed to get the one night due to a cancellation. Despite the fact we didnt find the B&B until almost 9pm, Skip made us extremely welcome and shared a wine with us...he is very chatty informative guy. Ruth provides a lovely breakfast and we would strongly recommend a visit. Thank you Ruth and Skip

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cordelia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Repentigny, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My spouse and I stayed at the seagull inn for 3 days at the end of august. It was are first experience in a B&B and it surpassed our expectations. The host ruth and Skip are very friendly and they greet you with a glass of wine or beer which is very nice. The location
is very beautiful and quiet with some nice streets for walking or jogging. There is some nice site to relax and view the ocean like the lighthouse or castle rock which are a few minutes walk from the B&B. The brakfast is fantastic with smoked salmon, bagle, fruits and everything you need to start your day. There is some great restaurant on the beachfront where you can eat all the seafood you desire. The Library room is very clean and comfortable whith hundreds of very interesting books. If you go to Boston take the ferry in Salem, it is a beautiful ride by the sea and you get in Boston in the harbor.
Richard and Diane

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Over the Fourth of July weekend we enjoyed the comfort and beauty of Marblehead's Seagull Inn, with warm hospitality provided by owners Ruth and Skip Sigler. These folks really know how to treat their guests right, providing clean, convenient and reasonably priced accommodations and one of the best (and fullest) continental breakfasts we've ever had: homemade breads and rolls, jams and jellies, fresh fruit, an array of cereals, smoked salmon, cheeses, juices and—most importantly—great coffee. We stayed in the Library Suite, a small wing of the house off the main living room with a queen-size bed, TV with VCR-DVD player (the inn has a selection of movies), a small refrigerator, antique desk, plenty of closet/dresser space, and a private bathroom across the foyer with large shower and plenty of towels, hand soaps and shampoo. And yes, the suite is indeed a library, with shelves full of all kinds of books for your enjoyment—we never turned on the TV! One nice detail: although it was quite warm that weekend, the suite is sufficiently shaded with wood blinds on the windows, so we used only the fan to keep cool at night (there is an air-conditioner, but we didn't turn that on either).

The area near the inn—on Marblehead Neck—has some great roads for walking and jogging, and points of interest including a park with lighthouse and a great view of the harbor (and spectacular fireworks on the Fourth) and Castle Rock, a pathway next to a castle-like mansion that has a breathtaking view of the water (ask Ruth about the history of that mansion...it's quite a story). The town of Marblehead is quaint and quintessentially New England, with some great shopping, an active arts scene, and lots of historical sites—not to mention some very good restaurants (in particular, we liked Maddie's Sail Loft for a perfectly delicious fried-clam plate). You can't go wrong in Marblehead...especially if you're guests of the Siglers!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahtsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
3.1 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,954 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#2 of 19 in Marblehead
319 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbor Light Inn
Harbor Light Inn
#1 of 19 in Marblehead
436 reviews
2.9 mi away
Coach House Inn
Coach House Inn
#7 of 9 in Salem
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Inn

Property: Seagull Inn
Address: 106 Harbor Ave, Marblehead, MA 01945-3848
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On beautiful Marblehead Neck near ocean and harbor, this old New England inn has been restored with cherry floors, Shaker furniture, and original paintings. Comfortable and private guest suites, expandable for families. Water views from porch, dining room, some suites. Beautiful gardens. Kayaks and bikes free for guests. Beaches nearby. All rooms have private baths, TV/VCR/DVD, phone and refrigerator. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing