We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've already booked for next summer.”
Review of Seagull Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marblehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seagull Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Ruth and Skip are great hosts. There were 7 of us staying with them and our every need was met. The kids loved the bicycles, kayaks, and especially the tree swing. I've been missing the breakfast ever since we left. Ruth bakes the most delicious treats. And let's not forget the chocolate biscotti - a to die for treat kept in a cookie jar tempting you all day long. The recipe is in Skip's cookbook.

The rooms were clean. The beds slept very well. There were plenty of clean towels. I can't think of one thing that I could complain about. We stayed a week this time and I have booked the 7 of us for 2 weeks next year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MizMel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2011

Pros: Located in a nice, great neighborhood; there are kayaks and bikes for you to use; the breakfast is fresh and delicious (Ruth even went down to the farmer's market to get strawberries during breakfast!); there are sherry and snacks in your room (we stayed in the Lighthouse Suite); and nice hosts.
Cons: Uncomfortable beds; a large spill in the bottom of the fridge; a shower with dirt on the walls; some stains on the bathroom walls; a difficult to work TV; the said snacks are sometimes past the expiration date; and in our room, the ceiling was caved in (which, admittedly, is not their fault, [and Skip put a shower curtain over it and is to fix it soon], but is still worth mentioning.)
Overall: An inn with a nice breakfast and great hosts, but was not as clean as we would like.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank devontastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seagullinn, Owner at Seagull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2011

We’re sorry these guests were disappointed. We appreciate the input and will certainly take steps to see that their concerns are addressed.

The refrigerator stain had occurred because one of the free cans of soda which we provide had frozen and leaked down the back of the refrigerator and onto the lowest level, which we unfortunately didn’t see when we checked the refrigerator. We had just purchased the snacks, and didn’t think to check the expiration dates, but certainly will in the future, and are glad to have it brought to our attention. We could certainly have happily corrected these problems immediately if the guests had mentioned them to us.

The leaky roof and repairs to the bathroom will be taken care of as soon as our contractors get to us.

We had just added a feather topping to the main queen bed, hoping to make it feel more luxurious. We will certainly investigate whether or not the topping makes the bed less instead of more comfortable. We had never had complaints about the bed prior to this addition. The pull-out sofa bed on which their daughter slept is a top-of-the-line sofa bed, but we would make no claims for exceptional comfort on any sofa bed. A blow-up Aero bed was also available, but we’re unaware whether they tried it or not. We welcome families and children @ $25 per extra person, and guests have always found these extra accommodations suitable.

We sincerely hope these guests will give us an opportunity to provide them with a more satisfactory experience here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

This was our third visit to the Seagull Inn and have to confess to preferring our evenings spent there than our own home! The warm hospitality (and this is an understatement!) provided by owners Ruth and Skip Sigler applies to all their guests but what really sets them apart is the subtle ways in which they make repeat boarders feel like part of the family.
When you arrive, Ruth and Skip meet & greet you at the door (we’re lucky enough to receive a big enveloping hug), show you to your room (regardless of the number of prior visits) and then invite you down to the kitchen for a cocktail. Please accept this generous offer as you have the opportunity to not only enjoy a very fine glass of your favorite beverage but will often find yourself ensconced in lively and intelligent conversations with locals and guests alike, all who just happen to know when Skip opens the “kitchen”! (One evening in particular was spent with a member of the state department, a farrier, two businessmen, a “local” who hails from Scotland and broadcasts for the BBC from his attic and his British wife who writes for the Boston Globe – too much fun!)
We have stayed in two of the three rooms (the Library Suite and the Lighthouse Apartment) with each offering their own special charm but all the rooms in the inn are focused on comfort – from the supplemental in-room heater and the extra down quilt for cold weather visits to the fans and air-conditioning unit for warm summer evenings. Additionally, each room is supplied with a tray filled with copious packaged goodies, nuts, coffee, water and sherry which we loved being able to snack on at any time of the day.
Breakfast is continental in style and happens to be one of the best EVER with homemade pastries (which change from day-to-day), breads and rolls, jams and jellies, a fresh fruit salad (which also varies daily), an array of cereals, yogurt, smoked salmon, meats, cheeses, juices, hot teas, coffee and loads of great conversation.
The inn is located in a quiet neighborhood on Marblehead Neck and has some great roads for walking, jogging and biking as well as several points of interest that include a park with lighthouse, a bird sanctuary and Castle Rock. Additionally, Ruth and Skip have a few kayaks available for use and paddling on Lady’s Cove is a very pleasant way to spend an afternoon. The town of Marblehead is agreeably curious (check out the gold cod or sperm whales located over many of the homes’ doors), with great shopping, a lively arts scene, lots of historical sites and to some very good restaurants. However, be wary of driving the streets as they are tend to be very confusing and circular in nature…the town is best seen on foot.
To Skip and Ruth, seeing to their guests needs is second nature and nothing is too trivial for their oversight whether that be assisting with directions to Boston or Portland, providing information on local happenings such as a yoga class or recommending a near-by restaurant like the Three Cods. And as they've lived in Marblehead for 40 or so years, they are able to do so effortlessly so you don’t feel as though you were imposing for asking. Not to put too fine a point to it, staying at the Seagull Inn is simply better than staying at home !

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrflynn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed there for two days and three nights and had the best hotel experience yet. The people were friendly and the rooms were cozy. Everyone in our party had fun there, whether it was watching movies in bed or having pleasant chats with Ruth and Skip. The rooms give off a nice homely feeling that puts any guest at ease. We recommend this Inn to anyone who wants pleasant company with great value.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotte5593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We stayed at the Seagull Inn for 6 nights over Christmas in Dec 2010. The stay could not have been nicer!. We got to experience gale-force winds, a wild ocean and heavy snow over the holiday, and were delighted with the chance to stay curled up in bed during the worst of it. We were in the Library Suite - a warm and delightful room lined with books that you want to read, and with light that was bright enough to read them - a key issue for my aging eyes these days. Innkeepers Ruth and Skip were friendly, funny and accommodating. When my back molar developed an abscess, they amazingly managed to locate a doctor and dentist for pain meds and antibiotics, despite the deep snow and holiday weekend.

Everything in the Inn seemed focused on comfort - My partner, who is always cold, was happy about the supplemental in-room heater and the extra down quilt. We loved being able to snack on nuts, chocolates, sherry and copious goodies - and were delighted with Skip's offering of wine and conversation after the sun was over the yard-arm. The location is lovely, the ocean is nearby, and the historic homes of Marblehead were charming, and fabulously decorated for the holidays. Breakfasts were delicious, varied and plentiful and the coffee was excellent. We look forward to visiting again and again.

Karen and Mike

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen_in_Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Ruth & Skip Sigler made our stay very special.
The view from the B&B is breathtaking
The Sigler's coundn't be better hosts
The breakfast was outstanding
and so were the extra's that separated this B&B from most we stayed at.....

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicholasNosofsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Stayed for 1 night whilst in the Salem area....wished we could have stayed longer but they were full...we only managed to get the one night due to a cancellation. Despite the fact we didnt find the B&B until almost 9pm, Skip made us extremely welcome and shared a wine with us...he is very chatty informative guy. Ruth provides a lovely breakfast and we would strongly recommend a visit. Thank you Ruth and Skip

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cordelia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
3.1 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,032 reviews
12.7 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harbor Light Inn
Harbor Light Inn
#1 of 19 in Marblehead
462 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#3 of 19 in Marblehead
322 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbor Gardens
Harbor Gardens
#10 of 19 in Marblehead
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Inn

Address: 106 Harbor Ave, Marblehead, MA 01945-3848
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range: £106 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On beautiful Marblehead Neck near ocean and harbor, this old New England inn has been restored with cherry floors, Shaker furniture, and original paintings. Comfortable and private guest suites, expandable for families. Water views from porch, dining room, some suites. Beautiful gardens. Kayaks and bikes free for guests. Beaches nearby. All rooms have private baths, TV/VCR/DVD, phone and refrigerator. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing