We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend to remember”
Review of Seagull Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marblehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seagull Inn
Ranked #5 of 20 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A weekend to remember”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Our weekend in the Boston area could not have been better as wonderful if not for our choice of the Seagull Inn. The Innkeepers Ruth and Skip could not have been more friendly and helpful in our explorations and navigation in the area. As innkeepers ourself, be assured that your every need will be anticipated. Highly recommend a restful stay in this beautiful town and comfortable Inn. And Ruth's gardens were still in bloom in late October. What a treat.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCOTTRILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
66
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

My wife and I just spent a wonderful long relaxing weekend in Marblehead at the Seagull inn B&B. We stayed in the suite that has a private kitchen and living room with an upstairs bedroom and bathroom, it was very nice and peaceful. Ruth and Skip are very gracious hosts that make you feel very welcome. The Breakfast was great especially the apple cake.
The area and the scenery are wonderful. We went into Salem to a sports bar and watched our Denver Broncos Win (go Tebow). The accommodations and setting are great and I would recommend this to anyone as a nice relaxing B&B with great hosts.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jswanson33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
159 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We really enjoyed our two nights stay and the location is perfect for exploring Marblehead and Salem so long as one has a car. We stayed in the Library Room which was cosy and comfortable and the breakfasts were ample and set us up for each day. Ruth and Skip are delightful hosts. We would stay again without hesitation were it not so far from home.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halcyontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Skip and Ruth were such warm and generous hosts at this cozy B&B located on Marblehead Neck. Our room was so lovely, and stocked with a snack basket, sodas, juices and even chocolates, sherry, and umbrellas in the closet "just in case"-- it is MA, after all. :) As soon as we entered we were offered a beer or a wine, and greeted with a smile and a helping hand. The breakfasts were super delicious...fresh fruits, juices, yogurt, homemade granola, and hard boiled eggs...smoked salmon, oatmeal with shaved almonds, brown sugar and raisin toppings...so much selection, and such a wonderful way to meet the other visitors, too! It was a magical two nights and we look forward to our next visit. So close to the coast, and downtown Marblehead, too. A definite recommendation...and we give it six stars if we could. Our dog agrees with the rating, too!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Seabreeze Suite, which had two rooms and a private bath-- much needed if you require...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverthorne, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I hesitate writing such a positive review, because I don't want this inn to be so booked up that I can't get a room next year!! ( :

I cannot say enough good things about the Seagull Inn - it was an absolutely perfect location; the hosts are gracious, entertaining, genuine and so knowledgeable about the area; the breakfast is so much more than I expected from the "continental plus" description on their site (yummy homemade granola, oatmeal, scones and rolls, plus salmon, cheeses, meats, eggs - delicious!); and my room (the library room) was spacious, comfy and cozy. The easygoing attitude of the hosts (Skip's a riot and Ruth is as sweet as can be - both are always up for a chat!) and warmth of the inn seem to attract like-minded guests. After sharing two breakfasts with everyone - and an impromptu yoga session with Ruth and one of the guests who is a yoga teacher - I felt sad to leave my new friends!

I will absolutely return next year - I just have to decide whether we book it for our anniversary, or if we do a bigger family trip (and book the apartment suite) and send my husband out striper fishing. It just so happens the hosts' son, Randy, runs Sigler Guide Service next door, and striper fishing is their specialty!

Room Tip: Library room is great for solo travelers - it's on the first floor, though, so if you're sen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We Loved the Seagull Inn! Our room was cozy, very comfortable, and well appointed, with a refrigerator full of cold drinks, great shower, comfortable bed, and delectable bedside treats. Ruth's breakfast is soo much more than a "continental" It was served buffet style in the sunny dining room, and included everything you could possibly want for a healthy and hearty breakfast. In addition there were warm, fresh baked breakfast muffins or breads, rolls, and Skips famous home made biscotti! Ruth and Skip are the most gracious hosts, and welcomed us to their home as though we were old friends. There are lots of lovely places to sit, read, work, and relax in the Inn, on the porches, and in the garden. The bikes and kayaks are easy to use, and there are lots of places to paddle or peddle, as well as great walking/running. At the end of the Day Skip welcomes you to join him in a light libation , and he'll share his extensive knowlege of the history of Marblehead, as well as the local lore. The Seagull was everything we could have wanted and more. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My girlfriend found this B & B and did not read any of the reviews before she called and reserved the library room. It was a great place to stay and I would highly recommend it. Ruth and Skip are warm, generous, gracious and fun to hang out with. They give you plenty of space and privacy if that is what you are looking for but you always have an open invitation to sit down and chat with them or share a cocktail (which they provide). Breakfast was awsome, salmon and fresh raspberries from their beautiful flower garden was a real treat. Fresh flowers in the room along with chocolates and a small bottle of sherry. We went out on the Kayaks which was neat. Castle Rock a 2-3 minute walk and the lighthouse is about a 5 minute walk. The Library room was cozy and quaint. This is a lot of B & B for the money and I guarantee you will recommend it to all your friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
3.1 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
10.5 mi away
Winthrop Arms Hotel
Winthrop Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#2 of 20 in Marblehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbor Light Inn
Harbor Light Inn
#1 of 20 in Marblehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbor Gardens
Harbor Gardens
#10 of 20 in Marblehead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Inn

Property: Seagull Inn
Address: 106 Harbor Ave, Marblehead, MA 01945-3848
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On beautiful Marblehead Neck near ocean and harbor, this old New England inn has been restored with cherry floors, Shaker furniture, and original paintings. Comfortable and private guest suites, expandable for families. Water views from porch, dining room, some suites. Beautiful gardens. Kayaks and bikes free for guests. Beaches nearby. All rooms have private baths, TV/VCR/DVD, phone and refrigerator. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing