We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B”
Review of Seagull Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marblehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seagull Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The Seagull Inn, Marblehead, MA was the most enjoyable accommodations I have ever experienced. From the moment we walked up through the lovely front lawn, and were greeted by the proprietors, Ruth and Skip, we were pampered. After Skip asking if he could help, he offered us a glass of wine… then we were shown around the property … Our “room” actually turned out to be 2 adjoining rooms with a breathtaking view of the ocean.. then we were told if we needed more space we could take the next room too. When have you ever been told that at any lodging?? The room was lovely with a very New England/Ocean motif – most of the artwork and furniture made by Skip… Nice assortment of COMPLEMENTARY snacks … including a decanter of Sherry! For breakfast we were greeted by Ruth’s amazing assortment of fine foods from homemade hand ground wheat biscuits to lox and raspberry butter. Lovely conversation with Ruth and Skip added so much to the breakfast and the stay. After 2 days I felt like a member of the family instead of a stranger renting a room. I already inquired about staying next year and would absolutely recommend it to anyone..

Room Tip: I believe each room has an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed at the Seagull Inn in the Seabreeze suite for a few days this week and it was fantastic. From the moment you arrive Skip and Ruth great you with great smiles and warmth. Everything is wonderful to every last detail: from the breakfast to the snacks offered in the suite. It is charming, cozy, and you feel right at home. We will be going back again in the future.

Room Tip: The seabreeze suite is terrific for families where as the lighthouse suite is perfect for a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shenin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We just returned from a visit to Boston, MA the week of the Boston Marathon 2013. We were renting an apartment on Newbury Street, just over from the explosion and due to the events, we were suddenly displaced. In an effort to make the best of a touch situation and see another area of Massachusetts, we searched the internet for a B&B north of Boston and found the Seagull Inn. They had a room available so we headed there right away. When we arrived, Skip greeted us as if our visit had been planned for months. The home is filled with his woodcarving skills and fabulous artwork and has the feeling the wonderful seaside home you wish you had grown up in. It is sunny, comfortable, inviting and the rooms are filled with yummy bedtime snacks to nosh on as you drift away reading a wonderful book you pull from a nearby shelf. Ruth creates a wonderful continental buffet in the morning and both she and Skip are superb conversationalists. They are knowledgeable about the surrounding area and advised us on all the must sees in the area. A brief walk from the B&B took us to Castle Rock and beautiful views and around another bend was a lighthouse followed by sweeping views of a harbor at the next stop with more gorgeous photo ops. To say we were lucky to find this gem of a B&B and it's hosts on such short notice is a huge understatement. The night we were displaced to Marblehead ended up being the best part of our week long trip to Boston. We only regretted that we had not stayed there the entire week! I only hope we are fortunate enough to visit Skip and Ruth again in their beautiful home and hope that someday you are that lucky as well!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong. The beds are comfortable and we got a tour the day we left of the other downsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Fortunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

We just spent a lovely, relaxing weekend at the Seagull Inn in Marblehead, MA , where we stayed in their two-room suite. The inn is lovingly furnished, and our comfort seemed to have been of the utmost importance to Ruth & Skip Sigler, our hosts. There were so many special touches, from snacks and a stocked mini-fridge to an extensive continental breakfast, which included yummy home- baked sweets, along with many healthful, organic options and delicious coffee and a wide variety of teas, available 24/7. Extremely well-versed in the history of the town and the surrounding area, the hosts were helpful and knowledgeable without being at all intrusive. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pizzapal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed in the Library Suite which had it's own private bathroom with plenty of fresh towels. The bed and sheets were SUPER comfortable. Buffet-style breakfast was good, had a great variety (loved the lox). The B&B is in a great location- outside of Salem but close enough. The owners, Skip and Ruth were a little on the chatty side, and had strong opinions on what's "worth seeing" (almost pushy). At the same time, they were very nice and accommodating. It was raining when we went, but there were bikes and kayaks that you could use. If you are staying in the area, would recommend staying at Seagull Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dendrob8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My family of four (2 adults, 2 children ages 8 & 10), and my mother enjoyed our stay at the Seagull Inn thoroughly. This was my mother's first time staying at a B&B and she was a bit concerned as she prefers fancy hotels. Nevertheless she had a fantastic experience. After leaving the Seagull Inn and moving to a nondescript condo in Cape Cod - we all missed the comforts of being in the Seagull Inn. Our accommodations worked nicely for our family. My mother had her own private room with a bed and couch. My husband and I had the room adjoining and my children had the room with twin beds just next door. My mother's room was the gathering room which she thoroughly enjoyed. Skip and Ruth provided us our two favorite treats in the evening - chocolate and wine. Breakfast was delicious and there was a variety of food. My husband has food intolerances and Ruth very kindly provided food he could eat as well. This was a place we will remember for years to come. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I visited the Seagull Inn for the second time this summer. The owners Skip and Ruth really made us feel at home. My husband and I were traveling with our dog, and we were happy to discover that it is a pet-friendly B&B. We had a large comfortable room that was quiet and clean. The location was great - walking distance to the park by the lighthouse and a few minutes to drive to the beach. We will definitely stay there again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beacon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Harbor Light Inn
Harbor Light Inn
#1 of 19 in Marblehead
467 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#4 of 19 in Marblehead
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harbor Gardens
Harbor Gardens
#9 of 19 in Marblehead
22 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Seagull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Inn

Address: 106 Harbor Ave, Marblehead, MA 01945-3848
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range: £100 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On beautiful Marblehead Neck near ocean and harbor, this old New England inn has been restored with cherry floors, Shaker furniture, and original paintings. Comfortable and private guest suites, expandable for families. Water views from porch, dining room, some suites. Beautiful gardens. Kayaks and bikes free for guests. Beaches nearby. All rooms have private baths, TV/VCR/DVD, phone and refrigerator. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing