We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hospitality”
Review of Marblehead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marblehead Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed at this wonderful property having traveled from Ireland for a family wedding. The Marblehead Inn provided us with comfortable accommodation, an ensuite double room with a sitting room/basic kitchen facilities and small patio. The pullout bed in the sitting room meant that there was plenty of space and privacy for our son who was travelling with us. Breakfast was much more than the "continental" that we expected. We want to say a special "thank you" to Karleen who suggested a walk in clinic that we used to deal with a small medical problem, and for generally being incredibly helpful, providing bus timetables, train maps,etc. Nothing was too much trouble and all done efficiently and with a smile. Hope to see you again sometime!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you, Michael. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and accommodations. We very much enjoyed having your family here and were glad to help in any way we could. We hope to see you again sometime soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

We were traveling to Marblehead with our 15-month old to see family and wanted to stay nearby. We had a very difficult time finding a place in Marblehead that would accommodate young children, so I was thrilled to find a place in town that not only allowed babies, but had a crib that they could provide for us. They bent over backwards to let us check in early so that we could get our little one down for a nap, which really helped make our stay more enjoyable. Our room was a lovely, spacious two-room suite. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraM41003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you, Sara. It was very easy to accommodate your family and we were happy to do it. We're looking forward to seeing you all again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Thank you Karlene and John for welcoming me in your beautiful Inn. I am in the process of relocating to the northern Boston area from CA. The Marblehead Inn is an awesome place in Historic Marblehead with top rate innkeepers who can answer all your questions to get you around town and the surrounding area. It's like a home away from home with all the amenities that you need for your stay along with a great continental breakfast to get your mornings started. This was my second multi-night stay at the Inn and I am returning again this week for a longer stay since I've enjoyed my previous stays so much. I highly recommend the Inn for an overnight stay, as well as for extended stays.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattsmithvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you, Matt. We enjoy having you here and it's great to know that you enjoy being here. We're glad you feel at home and we're looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

After four B & B visits in England, the Marblehead Inn made us feel the same as the finest we've experienced there. Wonderfully helpful hosts where the accommodations were spacious and comfortable with newly updated bathrooms. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you're new to Marblehead, don't leave without their maps and directions to your in town l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hickorynative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you, Chris. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and accommodations. We'e looking forward to seeing you both again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Thanks to Bob and Karlene for a wonderful night. The house is beautiful and Bob and Karlene are excellent hosts. Was travelling on business but hope to return for vacation soon!

Make sure to have a pistachio muffin in the morning!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheldon837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thank you, Sheldon. We're glad you enjoyed your stay - and, the pistachio muffin :) We enjoyed chatting with you and we're looking forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We usually stay in Hilton's or Marriotts so our expectations are a bit different. I have a pet peeve about B&Bs or Motels that install flat screen tv's and don't have HD reception. Just me ! After 3 weeks and a few thousand miles we are heading back to Callawassie island in SC. This was our least comfortable bed in our travels thru the Maritimes and New England. Not bad just the least comfortible
Would have liked the option of a full breakfast. For the cost , I expected more

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stronggrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thank you, Gary. We're glad that you and Barbara enjoyed your stay, but sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your bed and breakfast. Our mattresses are on the firm side and, as you can see in other reviews, most of our guests love our beds. We have all new Gardner mattresses, known as one of the finest quality mattresses and box springs on the east coast and all of New England. Many of our guests have said they liked them so much they want to buy one for their homes.
If by full breakfast you mean, bacon and eggs and similar items, I wish you would have mentioned it while you were here so that I could have explained that, by law, we're not allowed to cook for guests and so are unable to offer these things. We do our best to compensate for this by offering a full Continental breakfast and to have some different items every day in addition to the staples.
Our Daily Continental Breakfast consists of: Coffee / Variety of Teas / Juice, 6 Types of fresh fruit: Bananas, Apples, Oranges, 2 types of Melons, Strawberries, Various flavors of yogurt including soy and lactose free options, 4 Varieties of Cold Cereal,a variety of Instant Oatmeal flavors, Banana, Blueberry, Cinnamon, Cappuccino & Pistachio Muffins, OR Coffee Cake OR Danish, 4 flavors of Bagels: Plain, Multigrain, Sesame, Multi-berry, 2 Breads: Cinnamon Raisin AND either Lemon Blueberry OR Apple Streusel OR French Toast, plus English Muffins and Gluten free breads and muffins. We also offer Butter, Peanut Butter, Nutella, Cream Cheese, Strawberry Preserves, Seedless Red Raspberry Jam, Sweet Orange Marmalade.
Thank you again for your comments. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights it was great to relax after the long flight with a cup of tea and snacks (great cake by the way). We walked into town in the evening and had a choice of bars and restaurants, the buildings and harbour are just great. I would recomend Marblehead to anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobL39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

Thank you, Robert. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay - and the snacks :) Marblehead is a great walking town with something for everyone and and we're glad that you found that to be true for you. We're looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,014 reviews
5.1 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
1.2 mi away
Harbor Light Inn
Harbor Light Inn
#1 of 19 in Marblehead
456 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coach House Inn
Coach House Inn
#7 of 9 in Salem
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marblehead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marblehead Inn

Address: 264 Pleasant St, Marblehead, MA 01945-2147
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range: £159 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marblehead Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban design meets nautical flair with the backdrop of stunning Victorian architecture. We have been busy updating and upgrading our seven rooms and five suites with private baths. All 12 have been newly decorated. All are cozy, stylish, and each has its own personality. We pride ourselves on the amenities at the Marblehead Inn, and below is a list of the perks we think are noteworthy: •Le Naturel Earth Friendly Soaps & Shampoo •iHome ipod/ipad docking stations in the rooms •Sony flat screen TV's w/ cable/HBO •Free Wifi in rooms and all public areas •Private updated bathrooms •Complimentary afternoon wine or tea •Wet Bars in the suites. New for 2016 our newly remodeled front desk and lobby areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Marblehead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marblehead Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing