We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very romantic”
Review of Marblehead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marblehead Inn
Ranked #2 of 20 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbury, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very romantic”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We had a fantastic time this past weekend at the Inn. It was perfect for our weekend get away to the Marblehead area. Perfect location to get into town from and only about 30 to 40 minutes from Logan. We would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which was lovely. It had a little sitting area and a small gallery kitchen. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jls56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you, Jill. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and that you'd like to come back. We're looking forward to seeing you and Gary again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    50
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
90
124
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2013

as a couple we have traveled extensively in the u.s and overseas.rarely do you find a place that could replace the feeling of home--well this is it--Karlene and John are the best hosts warm,comfortable and fun is the perfect description--we love it--carol & dennis new jersey

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you, Dennis. Having you say that the Inn feels like home is high praise and we don't take that for granted. We appreciate knowing that you and Carol love being here as much as we enjoy having you, and we're looking forward to seeing you both again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Three nights or two nights? Late start, looked like we'd get in real late and stay west of Boston for night #1. No problem for the Marblehead Inn, they accommodated the late arrival with no problem.

We had a comfortable suite, with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast (fruit, coffee, oatmeal, and breads) was available on time each morning and they had something new this year... french-toast toast. Very, very good.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 3 different rooms. All very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boatmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you, Bob. It was great to have you back again, and we're happy to know that you enjoy being here as much as we enjoy having you and Rebecca. Glad you liked the French toast, too! We're looking forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed at the Marblehead Inn when we were displaced by fire. Though from the area, we had never been inside. The innkeepers were helpful from the start. Since we weren't sure how long we would be staying, Karlene worked with us on a suite with flexibility. John & Karlene always asked if we needed anything and how we were making out with our house. The expanded dining and sitting area is a great addition to the Inn. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The Inn is convenient located and quiet. The woodwork in the older section is incredible especially the front entry. We have already recommended the Inn to a friend and would do so again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MACabin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you, Mike. We're very glad that we were able to be a respite for you and Carol after the fire. And it's nice to know that you like the new dining/sitting area, along with the inn's architectural details. Thank you, too, for recommending us to Cherie. We appreciate it and we're looking forward to meeting more of your friends and family members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Quebec
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Very nice town, even off season (summer or Halloween?). Easy to get lost, but that's part of the experience !
Quiet house, comfortable, great muffins ! Good location at the entrance of town. Very good selection of rooms, well decorated and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FraLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you, Francoise and Louise. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and your visit to Marblehead - even getting lost! And, we're looking forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The innkeepers are the main reason to stay here. Fascinating, well-traveled, helpful, attentive. The inn itself has great possibilities - good location, fine architecture, spacious and quiet rooms. My only reason for not giving more stars is that the decor is not my taste.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateW396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you, Kate. Those are quite the compliments, and we're thrilled that you feel that way and took the time to let us know.
We're sorry you were disappointed with the inn's decor, but very happy to know that overall you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again and that next time another room will be more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The innkeeper is a lovely person who goes the extra mile to make you as comfortable as possible. I think this is a very important point. Room 1 is a nice room on the first floor, if perhaps a little dark with the deep red paint. It was very clean and the queen bed is new. For me, the quality of the bed and bath are the most pressing issues with any hotel or inn. Karlene, the innkeeper, added a memory foam pad to my bed because it was somewhat firm, which I really appreciated. The linens were good, pillows not down, but pretty good for synthetics, and there were four of them thankfully. I always worry about having not so nice pillows and sheets and creepy bedspreads that haven't been washed enough, but there were no worries here! There is a beautiful cotton quilt on the charming wood sleigh bed, and a white down comforter, both very clean and fresh, which were a pleasure. Karlene also put a coffee maker in my room with excellent coffee, which was wonderful, and muffins or fruit as I desired for the morning. The room itself was smaller than I would have liked and there was no way to sit in a chair and watch the TV (you had to be on the bed). There also is no closet (only an armoire which has hanging space for short items above the clothing drawers). The bathroom, while new and with a marble floor, has a small standing vanity/sink combo of the Home Depot variety, but luckily there was shelving in the room to store toiletries and cosmetics. There is an odd plastic walk-in shower that I expect makes the room accessible for handicapped people. I personally would have preferred either a bathtub with shower or a large tiled shower stall. Due to construction at the inn (the expansion of the breakfast room), I was graciously offered a suite upstairs, however because the bath and bed were older, I politely declined. Since the rooms seem somewhat small, I was surprised to hear that the management has decided to make this suite into two separate hotel rooms. I think it would be much better to just renovate the suite, as having that extra space would be worth a higher room rate. All in all, it was a very good stay and an excellent value, and I would absolutely stay here again when I next visit the area. I think the innkeeper and her husband are wonderful hosts and do the utmost to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHKCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for the review and your complimentary words, Margo. We appreciate it. It was a pleasure having you at the inn and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We're looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Marblehead and it's nice to know that you're looking forward to coming back, as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
5.1 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor Light Inn
Harbor Light Inn
#1 of 20 in Marblehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Salem Inn
The Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marblehead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marblehead Inn

Property: Marblehead Inn
Address: 264 Pleasant St, Marblehead, MA 01945-2147
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marblehead Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban design meets nautical flair with the backdrop of stunning Victorian architecture. We have been busy updating and upgrading our seven rooms and five suites with private baths. All 12 have been newly decorated. All are cozy, stylish, and each has its own personality. We pride ourselves on the amenities at the Marblehead Inn, and below is a list of the perks we think are noteworthy: •Le Naturel Earth Friendly Soaps & Shampoo •iHome ipod/ipad docking stations in the rooms •Sony flat screen TV's w/ cable/HBO •Free Wifi in rooms and all public areas •Private updated bathrooms •Complimentary afternoon wine or tea •Wet Bars in the suites. New for 2016 our newly remodeled front desk and lobby areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Marblehead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marblehead Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing