We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sub in Town”

Village Roast Beef & Seafood
Ranked #21 of 57 Restaurants in Marblehead
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
boston
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Sub in Town”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Call ahead and that saves time, , then Enjoy an enormous sandwich.
I prefer the Roast Beef. My wife loves there salads. There service is fast and the food is fresh.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“so sad!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We used to love this place but after two bad experiences took it off our downtown eats menu. It's been a while and we were hoping they changed a few things, but unfortunately, they didn't. I forgot that they use fake feta cheese on the greek salad. Pathetic! A very full bowl of iceberg lettuce and a ton of manufactured feta. Gross. The cheesesteak was unseasoned, with again disgusting cheese in a soggy bun. It was a joke and no matter how many hours the owners are putting in, they are being deceitful to their guests. Give your food a try, and remember there are many other takeouts in town.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephanie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enormous servings”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My husband got the roast beef dinner, and I got the cheeseburger dinner. We both went "WOW" when we saw the amount of food we got. There were enough french fries AND onion rings to feed a family of four. The food was delicious, but there is no way a normal person could eat all of it. This seemed to be a local diner, and we were glad we found it. If we lived in this area, we would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
where my passport is
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Roast Beef on the North Shore”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Don't be fooled by Kelly's, thats alright but Village Roast Beef is by far the absolute best roast beef on the north shore, hands down. Also you cant go wrong with the Chicken Kabob Sub or Salad, get the extra feta and olives.
While your waiting just treat yourself to some chicken fingers and motz stix!!!

Grew up on this food, ate it since I was a kid!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worst sub shop in town.”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Well...simply stated...stopped eating there after wife, in our opinion, got food poisoning within 30 minutes of eating a take out sandwich. In our opinion, there was a cross contamination problem probably in the back kitchen area where you can't see in. Owner was informed but, in all fairness, he claimed it wasn't his fault.

I should know about poor food handling can do...I have been a chef for over 25 years...and know it is a business killer!

I have had food poisoning as well and know the symptoms.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marbleheadguysson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village Roast Beef & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Village Roast Beef & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing