We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Chestnut Sweet is fantatic!”
other travellers have booked this property
Garden level entrance to Chestnut Sweet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden level entrance to Chestnut Sweet
Our logo Patio and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Garden level entrance to Chestnut Sweet
Our logo
Patio and garden
Through the front door
Garden-level sitting room
Detail of sitting room
Sitting room
Sitting room and hallway to living room
Master bath (first floor) with shower
Vanity (stacked washer-dryer behind louver doors)
Commode and rain shower
Living room looking toward kitchenette
Living room loveseat
Kitchenette, with master bath to right
Stairs to second floor
Second floor queen bed, with skylights
Second floor bedroom
Stairway from second floor to first
Hallway detail
Through front door to garden
Garden patio
A typical street in Marblehead, with historic houses
Marblehead's Old Town House
Marblehead Harbor
Gas House Beach in Marblehead (one of several beaches)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Marblehead, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CateBlurt...
Roseville, California
1 review
“Chestnut Sweet is fantatic!”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Chestnut Sweet is a terrific place to stay while in Marblehead, MA. It is everything you would think of for a New England cottage. Roomy, charming with perfect amenities. Bob & Francie were fantastic hosts and offered tips on local restaurants & grocery stores (loved Shubies Marketplace).

I highly recommend the cottage to anyone going to the Marblehead area. We hope to return!!
Thank you Francie!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Catherine,

Thanks so much for your review, which means a lot to us. We're delighted that you enjoyed the Sweet and hope you'll plan to return often. We loved having you here!

Francie King
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hentschel...
Meinerzhagen, Germany
1 review
“Awesome stay”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a fantastic stay at Chestnut Sweet, everything was just perfect! Francie and Bob are the best of hosts, the Sweet is beautifully furnished and every possible need has been anticipated. It is truly a great place to stay and I can highly recommend it to everyone seeking a cozy and luxurious place to stay for a great vacation in Marblehead or the Greater Boston area!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
Mario, a thousand thanks for this great review AND for allowing us the pleasure of meeting you and your parents. You are our first Boston Marathon runner, and will thus always be a celebrity to us! We hope you'll plan to return another time. Again, great thanks for taking the time to write.

Francie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, North Carolina
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Apr 2015
Mark and Michelle, again my great thanks for your review! You can bet that it will make a great difference when others come to look at Chestnut Sweet and see your words. Wonderful! And I hope we'll see you again soon in Marblehead!

Francie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julie O
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Heavenly Retreat”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booking the Chestnut Suite was the best decision I've ever made! Francie was such a delight! She greeted us with a beautiful smile and welcomed us into her heavenly guest house. The place was completely PERFECT! She was so kind enough to greet us with a bottle of champagne and wished me a Happy 30th Birthday! One of the best places I've ever stayed, hands down! I HIGHLY recommend this suite to any couples who would like a romantic getaway. I'm really looking forward to going back very soon! Thank you Francie for making this birthday one to remember ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was great.
Liked least: I can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2015
Julie, what a lovely review! Thank you so much. It was such a pleasure having you and Gil with us. And now you must come back when the garden is in full bloom and the beach has a spot just for you! Thank you again!
Francie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnville, Maine
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overal appearence of the cottage was so warm and inviting
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Nov 2014
Dear Debbie,
Thank you for the wonderful review and for letting us be your landing spot for the Great Salem Adventure at Halloween! We could not have asked for more enthusiastic or accommodating guests and we hope this will be your first of many stays at the Sweet. We'll look forward to seeing you again in the coming year!

Francie King
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Morro Bay, California
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The decor and amenities
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Nov 2014
Dear friends of the Sweet,
With many apologies for this late response, THANK YOU for the splendid review! We loved having you with us, and we are delighted that the stay was a happy one. This brings hopes that you'll return again and again -- we'd be so pleased!

Francie King
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DLF1234
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Everything about this rental was top notch! Spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated, it was a wonderful place to stay. Francie was so responsive to our questions and requests via e-mail prior to our visit and greeted us upon our arrival with a warm and friendly welcome. We loved Marblehead and Chestnut Sweet and only wish we could have stayed longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Lloya,

What a delight to have met you and your husband, and we do thank you for this lovely review! We hope you'll consider coming back to Chestnut Sweet again and staying longer. It's always such a pleasure to have guests like yourselves -- and we're so pleased the weather cooperated too!
Thanks again,
Francie King
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing