We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We had a wonderful "sister's weekend" here!”
other travellers have booked this property
Garden level entrance to Chestnut Sweet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden level entrance to Chestnut Sweet
Our logo Patio and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Garden level entrance to Chestnut Sweet
Our logo
Patio and garden
Through the front door
Garden-level sitting room
Detail of sitting room
Sitting room
Sitting room and hallway to living room
Master bath (first floor) with shower
Vanity (stacked washer-dryer behind louver doors)
Commode and rain shower
Living room looking toward kitchenette
Living room loveseat
Kitchenette, with master bath to right
Stairs to second floor
Second floor queen bed, with skylights
Second floor bedroom
Stairway from second floor to first
Hallway detail
Through front door to garden
Garden patio
A typical street in Marblehead, with historic houses
Marblehead's Old Town House
Marblehead Harbor
Gas House Beach in Marblehead (one of several beaches)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Marblehead, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful "sister's weekend" here!”
Reviewed 2 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had the best time staying in Marblehead at the Chestnut Sweet! Francie is a wonderful hostess and could not have been more accommodating. I would love to come back with my husband one day!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2017
Libby, wonderful! It's a sweet place for couples! But it looks like you three had a fine time here, too, and I am delighted. It was a pleasure to meet you, and we're pleased that the Sweet was a good landing spot DO come back again -- we would so enjoy it. fbk
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spjamieso...
Coleraine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The ultimate sweet spot”
Reviewed 13 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Found Chestnut Sweet when browsing for a suitable base to spend 4 or 5 days exploring New England immediately north of Boston. It was the perfect find for us
a delightful retreat in a quiet street in Marblehead, only yards from the sea. All of our needs were catered for down to the supply of complementary bicycles for exploring the surrounding area. Francie and Bob are both very approachable their major concern is that you have no concerns while at 'the sweet'. My wife who has very high standards ( after all she married me ...lol) was particularly impressed with the décor, the attention to detail and the relaxed feel of the place. So if you are looking for a relaxing stay in a beautiful part of the world then 'the sweet ' is well worthy of consideration

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
Dear Peter and Anne,
What a splendid write-up and so very lovely to know that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay in Marblehead. We were delighted to meet you and get to know you a bit, and now we hope you'll be back again one day! MANY thanks!
Francie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan C
1 review
“Our honeymoon getaway!”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My husband I stayed here for our honeymoon. It was absolutely beautiful! Just a block or two from a gorgeous view of the water, and it seemed like only 5 minutes away from Salem. My husband and I were astonished at how welcoming and nice the people of Marblehead and Salem were! Francie and Bob are one of the sweetest couples you could ever have to accommodate a vacation stay! They were warm, welcoming, and generous! The sweet was absolutely home for our period there. It was such a comfortable environment--we didn't want to leave! If you're considering a stay in the Salem area you HAVE to stay at the Chestnut Sweet! Thank you Francie and Bob for being such good hosts! You made our honeymoon that much sweeter!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
Morgan and Dillon, what a treat to read your review. We LOVED having you in the Sweet and were honored that you chose it for your honeymoon. And we were delighted that you took such pleasure in Marblehead and Salem—precisely what we always hope for guests. Now, shall we look for you again next year on your one-year anniversary?! We hope so!

Francie and Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheryl B
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great cottage!”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Beautifully furnished and tastefully decorated cottage in a great location. Francie was warm and welcoming, and responded to all our needs. We were delighted to discover a bottle of wine, a big bowl of fresh fruit, plus juice, milk, and coffee - and a little bag of chocolates on our pillows! Thank goodness for the terrific central air conditioning...it was 101! My only challenge, as someone who is highly sensitive, were the fumes from the attached double garage. So Francie asked her husband to park in the driveway for the remainder of our stay. If you like to sleep in, you may want to bring a sleep mask to block out the light from the skylights in the upstairs bedroom. But who wants to sleep late when you are in lovely Marblehead? Thanks so much, Francie!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2017
Hi Kalie/Sheryl, thanks so much for your review. We were troubled about your sensitivity to fumes, as we've not heard this mentioned before by our other guests; I am wondering if these might have come from the next-door lawn mower? This might well have been the case ... In any event, thank you for choosing us, and for coming. We enjoyed meeting you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocoMFett
York Beach, Maine
1 review
“Hidden Treasure in Marblehead, Mass.”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a most wonderful time staying at Chestnut Sweet, a magical cottage tucked away, but within an easy walk to all Marblehead has to offer. Our hosts, Francie and Bob, were warm and gracious; and, they made sure we had everything we needed!
The cottage itself is a destination! It is the perfect place to relax after a day strolling the many historic sights of Marblehead. It is very beautifully appointed and peaceful. You will not be disapointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
What a splendid note! And we so enjoyed your visit and meeting you two! We hope you'll return again, and this time get MANY days of sunshine and warm temperatures to make up for the rain! Thanks so much again.
Francie and Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Thank you Alyssa and Mark, for this lovely comment! We really enjoyed meeting you and hope you'll plan on another visit to our Sweet soon. We loved having you there!
Francie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great place!!!! Very clean and Bob and Francie did everything they could to make our stay great!!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

They cottage was amazing. Very close to Salem and Boston. Marblehead itself was beautiful. Restaurants close by and food was great!!! Can't say enough. Had a great weekend getaway.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Thanks, David and Michelle, for that lovely review -- it was great meeting you, and we do hope to see you again soon! Francie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing