We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at the Harbor Ligh Inn”
Review of Harbor Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbor Light Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Harbor Light inn in Marblehead, MA. I must say, that this was the best inn we ever stayed at. (We have stayed at many, across the country)

It's actually more like a hotel with fabulous amenities, and a real "full" breakfast. Comfy rooms, and a really neat tavern.

The town of Marblehead, is quite amazing, as well. We will try to come back here is the summer.

Thanks to the staff and owners for making this a very pleasurable stay.

Room Tip: From what I saw, all the rooms are nice.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

What a lovely compliment from such a seasoned traveler. It truly is our pleasure to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed our abuntant breakfast in the morning and our cosy Tavern in the evening.
We look forward to providing you with another fabulous visit this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
There are newer reviews for Harbor Light Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2012

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Harbor Light Inn. It is located within walking distance to shops and restaurants and we easily found our way into Boston. The building has a lot of charm and is tastefully decorated. Our room was comfortable and cozy and had a fireplace and jacuzzi which was perfect for the chilly & rainy days while we were there. All of the staff were extremely friendly and very accommodating. We will definitely be recommending this Inn to friends and family and we hope to return again after the Holiday season!! Thanks again for such a relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KirstenG035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

We were so pleased to see your stay with us was rated five star and we look forward to treating your friends with the same friendly hospitality that you came to enjoy on your visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Spent one night in this B & B and had a wonderful time. Firstly - the location in the old part of Marblehead is very nice. Secondly, the Inn, made up of 2 old houses, is nicely done in New England style. our room was very nice with a good old fashioned poster bed. It even has a small bar which was full of guests after we got back from our dinner - and we joined them for a nightcap in a very cozy atmosphere sitting around the (gas) fireplace.
The only criticism I could give would be the breakfast - which we found to be a little bit small in choice and which was made worse that when we arrived after a nice walk around the harbour/Fort Sewall area, the main dish was already finished. They did, however, provide us with nice fresh scrambled eggs, which was a nice replacement.
The price we paid was a bit higher than what we would have expected to pay for a B&B, however it does offer a bit more than what one would expect and all in all, a very nice experience worth the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your Romantic Getaway. We truly appreciate feedback so we can continue to give the very best service and strive to be better.I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and took full advantage of enjoying our "Select Registry Inn".
We do have a wonderful full breakfast buffet and are always willing to cook to order if any item runs low or any dietary restrictions apply. I am pleased to hear my staff did take care of this situation and make you eggs to order . We are happy to do this.
We look forward to your next visit to the Harbor Light Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I may have been expecting too much after reading all the wonderful reviews and learning they were part of "Select Registry". The breakfast was very good and the common rooms were quite lovely. Loved that they had a little bar and you could order small plates. Staff was friendly as well.
Read a review about it being noisy if you had a room on the street side. We were in room #26 and it was on the street side but did not notice the noise as we had to run the window a/c unit at all times. The windows were painted shut. I noticed other rooms had the windows open so must have just been ours. The chipped paint on doors, around door handles, and window were not very pleasing to the eye. The hallway ceiling had a lot of stains also. My husband is very easy going but when we got to our room he actually want to find other lodging. Unfortunately that is not possible with most B&B's so we just dealt with it. Again, maybe our standards are just too high but I think the room was clean but in disrepair.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WakeboardingMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Owner at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear Guest,
We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the cozy tavern. It is unfortunate that your room was not up to your standards and we would have gladly moved you to another room if you had let us know. The hallway ceiling that you photographed was caused by a guest above the week prior to your stay. He wanted to create a steam bath, so he turned on the shower full blast and closed the bath door and waited for it to "heat up". Unfortunately he did not close the shower door and the spray landed on the floor and poured through the ceiling in the hall. We had to wait over a week for it to dry. It has been repaired and repainted. The peeled paint that you found on the shutter in your room was located in the pocket behind the window shutter. Since it was not visible with the shutters in their open position, housekeeping and our maintenance man missed it. Thank you for bringing that to our attention. It has been repainted.
I could not find a problem with any of the windows in the room. I checked each one and they all opened easily. We would never paint a window closed. Since they are approximately 200 years old, they have original glass and may seem fragile. I hope that the overall condition of the inn better reflects the attention to detail that we strive for.
Thank you for your comments and bringing the shutter paint to our attention.
Peter C.

We appreciate all comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The Harbor Light Inn is welcoming warm and comfortable.It is in Marblehead which is more quaint than quirky Salem.Positioned very close to the harbour means it is quiet and is in a lovely period house.The restaurant only serves a plentiful breakfast but limited bar snacks are available on request-this is good as there are not many restaurants in walking distance.The exception is the excellent 'Barnacle'about 10 minutes walk away.Our room on the ground floor had a large private terrace which has close proximity to the swimming pool in season.Staff were very helpful and as usual,coffee and cakes were available in the afternoons.Use of a computer was complimentary and overall we had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the ground floor if you are not good with stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

My husband and I recently travelled to MASS. from Ontario, Canada on a last minute honeymoon. The highlight of our trip was going to be our stay in Salem over the weekend leading up to Halloween. However, the entire city was booked solid! Luckily, the Harbour Light Inn in Marblehead, a very short and scenic drive from Salem, had a last minute vacancy and put us up in a fantastic room.

The staff was extremely friendly, accommodating and eager to show off the best Marblehead has to offer. The Inn is very welcoming, with fireplaces to greet you in two sitting rooms and the dining room. Our room (22) was fit with a double jaccuzzi tub and a log burning fireplace, which they lit for us. The Inn also includes a "nook" fit with a wet bar and a friendly bartender to serve up some drinks. The bar was a great place to come for a night cap and meet other guests. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful and is served in the very cute dining room that looks out onto the pool area. Good coffee too!

My husband and I later reflected that we wish we had known of this place before stopping in Salem and Boston to make this is home - base, doing day trips along the MASS coast.

Driving times, with decent traffic:
Salem - 15 mins
Boston - up to an hour
Plymouth - took us 2 hours with insane traffic in the Boston area

We'd love to come back, and hope to bring some friends along with us. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodihalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Owner at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

We are so glad that we were able to be part of your honeymoon trip. It was a great time to visit our area with all the activities going on at that time. The staff enjoyed sharing our town with you and appreciate our kind comments.
Hope we see you on anniversary soon.
Peter C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Just returned from two wonderful days in Marblehead....the Harbor Light Inn was the perfect place to spend the last two days of our week-long New England getaway (we flew out just 20 hours prior to Hurricane Sandy arriving in the New England area).
The inn is beautiful and the staff is friendly, helpful and full of information about the area. I would highly recommend this historic inn as the perfect place to stay in the Marblehead/Salem area. We hope to return.
Shari and Roger
Tampa, Florida

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shari b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Owner at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Shari and Roger,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad that you got out on time and hope the weather was also in your favor when you returned to Florida. Hopefully, you flwe over the storm.
Hope you come back soon.
Peter Conway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,992 reviews
5.7 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
227 reviews
13.0 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
1.2 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#2 of 19 in Marblehead
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Light Inn

Address: 58 Washington St, Marblehead, MA 01945-3553
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range: £161 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Light Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old town Marblehead and the harbor district, the Harbor Light Inn offers easy access to beaches, shopping, art galleries, historic homes, museums and a variety of great restaurants. The Harbor Light Inn offers complimentary parking, wireless Internet and an on-site Tavern. Within short driving distance to neighboring Salem, Massachusetts and less than 18 miles to Boston. Corporate retreats, small weddings and executive meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Harbor Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Light Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing