We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Inn in Beautiful Marblehead”
Review of Harbor Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Light Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Magnificent Inn in Beautiful Marblehead”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We've stayed in several different places in Marblehead (check my reviews,) but without a doubt this is my favorite. Everyone’s different and what I like you might not, but let me list for you all the things that make this a wonderful place for us. Beautiful, Colonial rooms (with fireplaces!) Fresh, hot breakfast! Lovely common rooms (plural!) A bar! A front desk! Parking and it's located in the heart of one of the most beautiful North Shore towns there is. There are a lot of beautiful towns in the North Shore, but Marblehead is one of the best. It's only 2 blocks away from a beautiful harbor view, and there's shopping and there are restaurants. In short: it's convenient, spacious, easy to find, easy to use and very upscale. There are over twenty rooms, and the staff is exceedingly pleasant. The manager is wonderful, and I really just cannot recommend this establishment enough. Do yourself a favor, if you need to stay on the North Shore stay here.

Room Tip: There are rooms with shower stalls and rooms with full sized tubs. If this is important to you, make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Peter,thank you for writing this wonderful five star review! We are so happy to hear you have found your place in Marblehead for your future visits. Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm about us on Trip Advisor!
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Marblehead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    74
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
62
263
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cary
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I have been coming to Marblehead to attend an annual gathering with friends for several years and the Harbor Light Inn feels like home! The staff is wonderful and welcoming, ready to help solve any problem. I've stayed in many different rooms and each one has a special charm. Comfortable gathering spaces and a great little bar that attracts lots of locals. I will be back!

Room Tip: The ones with fireplaces are awesome and romantic. There is no spa or fitness center. Didn't kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckytraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
We always enjoy having our repeat groups back. I am happy to hear our intimate atmosphere makes you feel at home. It is always our pleasure to welcome back friends and meet new ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Spent the weekend. Rooms and suite were lovely and clean. Keep in mind that it's an older location, and if something breaks in the room, it may not be corrected immediately. Food was good, and staff friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earlybird199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time for reviewing our lovely Inn and friendly staff. We take a lot of pride in our property and try to take care of everything here at the Inn as soon as possible. Brian is on staff to do just that. Our front Desk staff are always willing and able to make your stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was the third year in a row I've come here for a long weekend get away, and as always it was fantastic. The town of Marblehead is one of my favorite places to visit, and this inn is a great place to stay while visiting. Personally, I prefer the B&B experience to a big hotel, but I also like a little privacy/anonymity and this place strikes a good balance. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, there's a lovely sitting room and a cozy tavern if you want to be sociable, but they also offer a small DVD library and plenty of drink and snack options if you just want to relax in your room.
The only downside to the visit was the cold... we chose one of the fireplace rooms and the fireplaces do not have dampers, so a board was kept in front of the fireplace to reduce the draft. Even with it in place, the room got quite chilly at night and the heater was a little too loud to sleep with. But, it's an old house and those are things you have to deal with, just like squeaky stairs, so we threw on some warm socks and cuddled under the blankets and slept just fine!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbaldwin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
It is so nice that you enjoy returning to our beautiful Inn and appreciate our friendly staff and antique home. We're sorry to hear that you were chilly but happy that you managed to bundle up.
Several of the rooms have individual heaters and we are checking to see why yours may have been too loud. Thank you for taking the time to write. We look forward to another visit from you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewksbury, Massachusetts, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I surprised my boyfriend with an overnight stay here for his birthday. It was beautiful inside and the staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. They allowed me to gain access to our room early to surprise him with decorations and they even let me store a small cake in their spare refrigerator. The Inn is located within walking distance of several restaurants and attractions which is very convenient too. The breakfast was a tasty all you can eat buffet of fresh fruit, sweet breads ,bagels/muffins, pancakes and quishe. They were even kind enough to make a whole pot of decaf coffee for me since I don't drink 'regular' coffee. We would have liked to stay another night but unfortunately our schedules didn't allow for it. We will definitely be thinking of this place the next time we want a quick escape from everyday life.

Room Tip: No elevator, if you have issues with stairs request the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
We were so happy we could help you make the Birthday surprise special for your boyfriend.
You put so much effort into it we wanted it to be perfect for you. Thanks for choosing us to create fond memories. We look forward to seeing you both again for any occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Well, I could come back here every year and be happy. It is a great walking town, the kind of place that makes you want to put your own house on the market and move directly here. The setting is pure New England with good restaurants and fun shops. The inn is welcoming and comfortable. I especially loved the tavern where you could sit and drink or get a light bite. There are many cozy spots to sit and enjoy. I can't think of any negatives!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjorie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write the complimentary review. We are pleased that you chose to stay with us on your trip out east to this great town. The Inn does have many common areas and I am glad you had the opportunity to enjoy our intimate Wine and Beer Tavern. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Step back in time in this beautifully decorated and maintained inn located in the historic district of Marblehead. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Service is excellent, and staff is very eager to please.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace. I'm not sure they all have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnh3155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for the complimentary review. We so enjoyed your visit at the Harbor Light Inn and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,973 reviews
5.7 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
11.7 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
216 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#2 of 19 in Marblehead
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Light Inn

Property: Harbor Light Inn
Address: 58 Washington St, Marblehead, MA 01945-3553
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Light Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old town Marblehead and the harbor district, the Harbor Light Inn offers easy access to beaches, shopping, art galleries, historic homes, museums and a variety of great restaurants. The Harbor Light Inn offers complimentary parking, wireless Internet and an on-site Tavern. Within short driving distance to neighboring Salem, Massachusetts and less than 18 miles to Boston. Corporate retreats, small weddings and executive meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Light Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing