We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Inn, not much of a Tavern”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbor Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Light Inn
Ranked #1 of 20 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn, not much of a Tavern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Nice 2-night stay-package included $50 restaurant certificate ($20-30 savings).The receptionist was very helpful with restaurants and things to see. A different hostess equally helpful on day 2. Took care of dinner reservations too. The suite (Rm 25) was nice-on second floor, and part of an addition so it was modern vs. old New England quaint. Quiet at back of house, comfy King bed, large bath with jacuzzi (very large so we didn't try it since it would take long time to fill; small gas fireplace. Suite's sitting room somewhat claustrophobic due to wall to enable private door-- we really didn't need it. Good if you had a teenager with you- sofabed. Breakfast just OK but nice sun room--ample continental; one hot item, but these were not great (a somewhat greasy quiche one morning, and an egg and veggie casserole that was a bit tired by 8:30 when we ate. Pricey, but relaxing inn with several sitting rooms, Nice tea/coffee service available all day, newspapers/games/puzzles. Very few guests during our stay so it was not bustling--perhaps in the summer, a better vibe in evening and at breakfast. The tavern is really just a small room--well appointed but not really a place you'd want to linger.

Room Tip: If you want more than one bed, the suite (rm 25) is most expensive but gives privacy. Jaciuzzi coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPWAnnapolisW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    71
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
60
252
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I cannot write enough wonderful things about our visit to Marblehead and the Harbor Light Inn. Marblehead itself is such an idyllic town. The people we encountered were pleasant and friendly. The architectural sights and the views of the harbor are lovely.
As for the inn, the room (room #5) was spacious, clean, and quiet. The breakfast was tasty, and the coffee was really good. We arrived on a Sunday. My husband is a huge football fan, and the owner and manager happily accommodated him by turning the game on the big-screen TV located in the dining area. All of the staff were helpful and nice. Our visit was perfect, and I highly recommend a visit to the town and the inn!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank adieringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are always happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us and that we made your stay perfect! We look forward to seeing you in the future to experience more that Marblehead has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon night here. We really liked the Inn. It is very cozy, clean and the rooms have what is needed to make your stay fantastic. The breaksfast was also very good and with many options.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gabyhm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us for your Honeymoon. Thank you writing and for giving us five stars! We wish you both all the best in your new life together and look forwards to seeing you here again for Anniversary celebrations or for any season you feel a need to get away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We've stayed in several different places in Marblehead (check my reviews,) but without a doubt this is my favorite. Everyone’s different and what I like you might not, but let me list for you all the things that make this a wonderful place for us. Beautiful, Colonial rooms (with fireplaces!) Fresh, hot breakfast! Lovely common rooms (plural!) A bar! A front desk! Parking and it's located in the heart of one of the most beautiful North Shore towns there is. There are a lot of beautiful towns in the North Shore, but Marblehead is one of the best. It's only 2 blocks away from a beautiful harbor view, and there's shopping and there are restaurants. In short: it's convenient, spacious, easy to find, easy to use and very upscale. There are over twenty rooms, and the staff is exceedingly pleasant. The manager is wonderful, and I really just cannot recommend this establishment enough. Do yourself a favor, if you need to stay on the North Shore stay here.

Room Tip: There are rooms with shower stalls and rooms with full sized tubs. If this is important to you, make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Peter,thank you for writing this wonderful five star review! We are so happy to hear you have found your place in Marblehead for your future visits. Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm about us on Trip Advisor!
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Marblehead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I have been coming to Marblehead to attend an annual gathering with friends for several years and the Harbor Light Inn feels like home! The staff is wonderful and welcoming, ready to help solve any problem. I've stayed in many different rooms and each one has a special charm. Comfortable gathering spaces and a great little bar that attracts lots of locals. I will be back!

Room Tip: The ones with fireplaces are awesome and romantic. There is no spa or fitness center. Didn't kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckytraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
We always enjoy having our repeat groups back. I am happy to hear our intimate atmosphere makes you feel at home. It is always our pleasure to welcome back friends and meet new ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Spent the weekend. Rooms and suite were lovely and clean. Keep in mind that it's an older location, and if something breaks in the room, it may not be corrected immediately. Food was good, and staff friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earlybird199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time for reviewing our lovely Inn and friendly staff. We take a lot of pride in our property and try to take care of everything here at the Inn as soon as possible. Brian is on staff to do just that. Our front Desk staff are always willing and able to make your stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was the third year in a row I've come here for a long weekend get away, and as always it was fantastic. The town of Marblehead is one of my favorite places to visit, and this inn is a great place to stay while visiting. Personally, I prefer the B&B experience to a big hotel, but I also like a little privacy/anonymity and this place strikes a good balance. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, there's a lovely sitting room and a cozy tavern if you want to be sociable, but they also offer a small DVD library and plenty of drink and snack options if you just want to relax in your room.
The only downside to the visit was the cold... we chose one of the fireplace rooms and the fireplaces do not have dampers, so a board was kept in front of the fireplace to reduce the draft. Even with it in place, the room got quite chilly at night and the heater was a little too loud to sleep with. But, it's an old house and those are things you have to deal with, just like squeaky stairs, so we threw on some warm socks and cuddled under the blankets and slept just fine!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbaldwin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
It is so nice that you enjoy returning to our beautiful Inn and appreciate our friendly staff and antique home. We're sorry to hear that you were chilly but happy that you managed to bundle up.
Several of the rooms have individual heaters and we are checking to see why yours may have been too loud. Thank you for taking the time to write. We look forward to another visit from you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
11.7 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
5.7 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
1.2 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#2 of 20 in Marblehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Light Inn

Property: Harbor Light Inn
Address: 58 Washington Street, Marblehead, MA 01945
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Light Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old town Marblehead and the harbor district, the Harbor Light Inn offers easy access to beaches, shopping, art galleries, historic homes, museums and a variety of great restaurants. The Harbor Light Inn offers complimentary parking, wireless Internet and an on-site Tavern. Within short driving distance to neighboring Salem, Massachusetts and less than 18 miles to Boston. Corporate retreats, small weddings and executive meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Harbor Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Light Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing