We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbor Light Inn, it grows on you”
Review of Harbor Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Light Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Thomaston, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Harbor Light Inn, it grows on you”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place is so warm and wonderful. Okay YES, they have a very good photographer and the rooms look a bit more elegant than they are. But not by much. But think about it- good website, good photography...yep they tend to do everything well here. All first rate. Polite, elegant, romantic, ambiance, style, service, location, class and most of the breakfast is beyond description. Even the coffee is first rate. You'll love this place. Seriously.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
What a great compliment! Thank you for taking the time to write and spread the word with such an enthusiastic review!
It is our pleasure to have you visit and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    72
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
61
257
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently took a day trip to Marblehead, MA. While walking around Marblehead we found a beautiful Inn. There was a sign saying Taven. We stopped by and discovered such a quaint bar. There were a several people there and we had a great conversation. We ordered some appetizers that were delishes. The bartender sang us a song. It was so much fun. We recommend you stopping by or stay overnight. It is a special place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usconstitution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for a night after flying in from then UK. Being fellow innkeepers we are aware of possible pitfalls when it comes to lodging, and the Harbor Light Inn presses many buttons in the right way.

What it has failed to do with the a/c ducting in our room was preventing an echo chamber from the next door room.

We were soundly asleep when our 'lively neighbours' decided to return to their room at 23.45, and of course it was too much trouble to close the bedroom door quietly as they had 2 other friends in tow. The friends decided to catch up on their evening, with much chat and laughter, and after 15 minutes I decided to go and ask them to be quiet! They did apologise...but they still carried on chatting away and did we really need to know ALL about their evening, as they had spent the evening together!

The door of course needed to be opened again...and slammed again ...and opened again...yup you've guessed it...slammed shut as 10 minutes later the friends decided to tell the whole landing that they would all meet up at 08,00 for breakfast. The remaining couple still couldn't take their conversation down a notch or four...but thankfully after about 30 minutes they retired to bed and thankfully for us decided to not have some carnal thrusting.

So morning comes and the 08.00 meet up was completed again on time with a jolly slam of the bedroom door.....and there they stayed for over 1 hour...so we decided to depart for some grub.

Apart from these clients who seemed unable to respect fellow guests, the inn was very pleasant, the king bed comfortable and central a/c machinery quiet ...the breakfast was a simple but tasty selection of hot or cold options and some daily newspapers were provided. The staff seemed interested in their rolls and the inn was clean and well kept and offered reasonable value in a central Marblehead location.

Would we go back ...yes but we might enquire about staying in a different room or at least reminding fellow travellers that their lives at 23.30 are really something we would not hear about!

Room Tip: Ask about internal noise from other rooms if you are a sensitive sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidbignose!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
We are so sorry to hear that you were kept awake by noisy neighbors. We are looking into the air duct situation to remedy any future disturbances that is within our control.
As fellow Innkeepers I am sure you have had guests who are not used to staying at Inns and not aware of how noise travels.There is a staff person on duty all night, which we bring to everyone's attention on check in. We only wished you had called to alert them of the noise and they would have personally taken care of the situation for you. I know as a guest it is uncomfortable to be the one to monitor a sensitive situation and we would never expect our guests to be the one to handle this. The Inn has so many first floor common Parlor rooms that this guest could have enjoyed into the evening without disturbing your sleep.
On your next visit please remember we have staff here 24 hours for your comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burton on trent, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had started our break in New England by staying with friends in Marblehead and visiting around the area and then shot off to the Berkshires, Hyannis and Newport ,RI. However we wanted to have a quiet few days to wind down before returning and decided that Marblehead was the right place to finish. How right we were and how right to choose this perfect Inn.

From the first, professional, contact on the phone to the courteous welcome on arrival, you just knew it was going to be good. A private car park, pure gold in Marblehead, was available but better still a bay to discharge your luggage before going down a steep slope with your car. Coupled with a rear access door entrance was easy for us (Pensioners with one on a stick/cane!)

Superb room with attractive lighting, a French window onto a private patio (shame it was a bit damp) and a Jacuzzi. The bed was a delight and the linen was of the highest standards. This was adjacent to the rear access and a short corridor to the front and reception.

Breakfast was taken in two rooms, one a gloriously sunny morning room with the food served in a room adjoining facing the front of the property. Food was plentiful and varied, with hot choices included. There was also a cosy bar which we used one night of our stay.

The Inn is so central that you can't help but have a potter out to see the delightful array of shops, coffee houses and bars, all within a 400 metre walk (well maybe 600!). St Michaels Church, 300yrs old, and the Jeremiah Lee Mansion are two treasures too many people miss. Every house has its own history culminating at Abbot Hall. For loads of information visit the Audio Walking Tour of Historic Marblehead website, brilliant!

So in summary: great little Inn which, if I did not have friends in Marblehead, I would certainly, without doubt, use again. Prices? On the high side but you get what you pay for so I would still come back. Downside? The town switches off at 10.00pm! (but that is an English thing!)

Room Tip: Read the hotels website. It is a very honest assessment of their rooms. Also phone if in doubt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OwdRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review of our Inn, staff and town! We are so pleased to hear you had a very positive experience with our staff and Inn. It is always our objective to make guests feel comfortable and I am happy to hear we succeeded.
We look forward to seeing you on another trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

A wonderful Inn to stay at while visiting Marblehead Mas. The staff was very friendly, and the room very comfortable. The Inn gave the felling of being home while away from home. Romantic spot in a town very rich in history. Plenty to do and all within walking distance of the Inn. I booked room 22 and was not disappointed, it was exactly as described in the Inn's advertisement. A definite place to return to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikepfef42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Very charming Inn. Location is very ideal, you literally walk out the front door, turn left, and you have beautiful mom and pop shops within feet. We were on the third floor with creaky stairs, so don't expect to go anywhere without alerting your neighbors . The bed was slightly stiff, but still comfortable. Nice breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CS_Stach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsham, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our long-time favorite inn in Swampscott MA was recently razed to accommodate condominiums, and after staying at the Harbor Light Inn in Marblehead we feel like we again have a home when visiting the area. The Inn is beautifully decorated, our room was lovely, the staff was generous and welcoming, the afternoon "snack" (a to-die-for chocolate cake) was incredible and the breakfast was fabulous (pear and almond French toast -- how great is that!). Aside from all that, it was a beautiful early-May spring day and everything was in bloom. Marblehead was at its best. This will be our home-away-from-home whenever we're in the Boston area!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 409Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
When one door closes another door opens. We are so glad you walked into ours! We are so pleased to hear we made you feel at home and you enjoyed all we have to offer! Welcome to our family of repeat guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,954 reviews
5.7 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
389 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#2 of 19 in Marblehead
319 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Light Inn

Property: Harbor Light Inn
Address: 58 Washington St, Marblehead, MA 01945-3553
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Light Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old town Marblehead and the harbor district, the Harbor Light Inn offers easy access to beaches, shopping, art galleries, historic homes, museums and a variety of great restaurants. The Harbor Light Inn offers complimentary parking, wireless Internet and an on-site Tavern. Within short driving distance to neighboring Salem, Massachusetts and less than 18 miles to Boston. Corporate retreats, small weddings and executive meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Light Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing