We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harbor Light Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hawthorne Hotel(Salem)(Great Value!)
US$328
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Salem(Salem)
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wylie Inn and Conference Center(Beverly)(Great Value!)
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
ExtendedStay
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plaza Motel(Peabody)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody(Peabody)(Great Value!)
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Danvers)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
364
78
20
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
78
20
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew englandsmall barmy husband and icasseroledining roomfrench toasthot dishold townposter bedworking fireplacesail loftshops and restaurantswalking distance to everythingthe entire staffplenty of parkingnorth shorefort sewall
Filter
Updating list...
431 - 436 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2009

My husbandand i just came back from the best visit ever to the Town of Marblehead. We checked into the Harbor Light Inn on a rainy gray day and our trip went sunny as soon as we walked inot the inn. Tbe greeting from the manager, Susan, was friendly and she could not have been more helpful, from our tour of the beautiful inn and grounds to our room. We were shown a room on the third floor that gave us lots of room, a king size bed and large sitting area. The room was just what we needed to forget the weather outside. The next three days got better and better especially when the sun came out. The breakfast each day was a favorite with a large buffet and new guests to meet. The pool was beautiful and heated to my husbands delight. the bar was fun each night and we even had dinner there on the first night when the weather was not enticing us outside. Great wines and the bartender even sang!
We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights, during a recent visit to Marblehead and Cape Ann. We selected this hotel largely because of recommendations from Frommer's and TripAdvisor. We were disappointed.

When we were there (mid-June) there was a lot of maintenance work going on the exterior of the building and some painting inside. The main problem with that was that workers were parked in the guest loading zone during the day, so it was difficult getting our luggage in and out of the hotel. Also, the pool area was uninviting due to all the noise and the pool water looked dirty.

Our room on the third floor was spacious, but not well maintained or very clean. The bedding in particular was worn, the sheets were of a poor quality and didn't match, and there were spots on the comforter. The king bed was comfortable enough. The handle on the bathroom door was practically falling off, as was a shelf near the bathroom sink. When we arrived, the toilet was plugged up, but we were able to unplug it.

One thing that should be noted is that you have no control over the temperature in your room. The building has central air conditioning and heating. Being on the top floor, our room tended to get uncomfortably warm in the afternoon and there was little we could do about it. A couple of the windows could be opened, but wouldn't stay up. We managed to prop them open with some books, but it didn't do much to cool the room.

The buffet breakfasts were OK, but not anything special. We didn't use the on-site bar. There was no bartender present on two of the three nights we were there. Also, the prices on the drink and appetizer menu were high.

The staff that we saw were friendly and generally helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebirds277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Here on business and what a great surprise. I usually now prefer small intimate but upscale inns to the garden variety chain hotels. This inn was a very pleasant experience due to the freindly helpful staff and the quality of the furnishings and amenities. too bad the previous reviewer did not try the breakfast, it was the best ! Lots of choices, great egg caserole and fresh salmon platter. Next time I will bring my wife. I know she will love this place and this town.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Booked into the Harbor Light on recommendation of a colleague who lives locally. Was surprised to have to pay 50% of stay up front on booking, and the remainder on arrival, but not a huge problem. Room comfortable enough, although the sounds of the plumbing became wearing during the week. Bathroom tired and in need of some TLC. Was surprised to find an envelope inviting me to leave a tip for housekeeping staff - might have left something if I hadn't found a half drunk bottle of beer by the TV. Can't comment on breakfast - I had to leave each morning by 7:30, and breakfast wasn't served till then.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Igloo124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

After the Marblehead Inn blundered our reservation, we found ourselves without a room one week before a family event. Being from out of town, we had no idea of where to stay at the the last minute. We wanted to stay at a B&B as we hoped to combine our trip with a romantic weekend getaway.

After going on to TripAdvisor, we called the Innkeeper of The Harbor Light to see if there were any vacancies. Margaret answered the phone and was most professional, friendly and empathetic to our plight. A room was available. Within minutes we received our email confirmation. The day before we arrived, I re-confirmed and Rob the Innkeeper was extremely helpful and provided us with additional information for our arrival.

The room was clean, had all the amenities we needed, and was so quiet! We slept like babies after our trip from New York City. The breakfast was hearty, fresh and abundant. We were set for the day. While we didn't take advantage of the in-house tavern due to the family event, we did notice many happy guests congregating there.

Overall, I would recommend the Harbor Light Inn to those who wish to stay at a lovely, Historic Inn, coupled with a luxury experience.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCTravelingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews