We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B!”
Review of Harbor Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Light Inn
Ranked #1 of 20 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
LA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B!”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed three nights at the Harbor Light Inn and LOVED IT! The rooms are beautiful, the entire inn has incredible character, and Susan, the innkeeper, is a treasure! We will certainly stay there again. Can't recommend it highly enough!

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lisablin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Thank you for your enthusiastic review. We greatly appreciate you, and all those who contribute on Trip Advisor, for taking the time to share your travel experience. All the best to you and yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    72
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
61
256
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thiensville wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We have stayed at Harbor Light Inn on six occasions, the most recent being in July. Each time we stay at Harbor Light, we are impressed by the charm of the Inn, the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff, and of course its location in beautiful Marblehead.We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maple010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
From the staff at The Harbor Light Inn we want to all thank you for your complimentary review. We are happy to hear your returns visits continue to impress and delight. We hope to see you during the town of Marblehead's upcoming holiday events and gatherings in 2010. THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

From the moment we made our last minute reservation to the moment we left the Harbor Light Inn, everything was first class. Excellent Staff, beautiful surroundings, fabulous service. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBr22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2010
Many thanks! We are happy to hear your enjoyed your stay at the Harbor Light Inn. Hope to see you back in New England soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2010

The Harbor Light Inn remains THE place to stay in Marblehead.
It is cosy,tasteful and all your needs are catered for by the hospitable Owners and their supreme Manager,the vivavcious Susan George. We alwats have a great time when we stay there.
Tom & Elin

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BathDracula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2010
We are honored to be considered "the place to stay" by our lovely guests. Thank you for sharing your great experience with other travelers. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed in room 32 at the Harborlight Inn in Marblehead for four nights in July 2010. The location is great. The building historic. Unfortunately, we arrived just in time for a sweltering heat wave with heat indexes over 100 degrees. However, we thought our "air conditioned" room would keep us comfortable. The downside of a building from the 18th century is that the air conditioning does not really get up to the third floor rooms. We were sweltering. You might stay comfortable is you didn't move at all. Trying to shower, dry your hair, and get dressed to go out was very uncomfortable. We complained to the front desk who said they would crank up the air conditioning to see if that helped. Hours later, it had not. We mentioned it to the bartender, who said he would crank it up more and it seemed to improve slightly.

Then there was the shower. The water pressure was so strong that if you put your face directly in the stream, it felt like it would gouge your eyes out. The tub in the tub/shower combination would not drain and we stood up to our ankles in dirty water. We complained about the tub right away and was told by the front desk that they would have someone check it out "right now." No one looked at it for 24 hours and it was very confusing when they did. When I kept complaining that it wasn't fixed, I would be told a bit more of the story, like. the maintenance man "didn't have the right equipment and had to go to the store to pick it up. He'll be right back." Hours later when nothing had been done, I was told that he couldn't actually leave to go to the store because there was no one to cover for him. When he finally did arrive, I needed to shower and dress for an appointment, but had to wait 20 minutes while he poured Drano (the equipment?) down the drain and waited for the result. Even though he said it was draining faster, it wasn't. I complained again to the front desk and this just went on and on. On the third night, when we arrived back from visiting friends, the hotel offered to move us to a more expensive room (#5) at no extra charge with better air conditioning and we jumped at the chance! Problem was the air conditioning was set so high that we froze all night and could barely sleep. We called the night manager who said he would turn down the air, but that didn't make a difference. In the morning, our heads felt like popsicles. They didn't tell us until the next day that you could adjust the vents, which we did, then opened a window to the heat to help the room temperature normalize. So...on the last day, we finally had adequate temperature control. But unfortunately, the shower in THAT room had no water pressure whatsoever and rinsing off took a half hour. By that point, we just gave up and didn't say anything.

On the plus side, the small pool area is lovely and meticulously maintained. But considering everything else that happened during our stay, we'll never go back. Also, while the owners seemed to be working hard to try and correct the situation after the first two days, it wasn't enough to give a positive review.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank northshoregirl245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We stayed in Room 35 for two nights. The room was spacious and characterful, the bathroom OK. The bed was a decent size but very jiggly, when one person rolled over the other felt it in spades.

Breakfast was hugely disappointing. Service non-existent, very lean pickings and no replenishment of emptied dishes. Perhaps if one were first to the table it would have been OK - we heard mention of smoked salmon having been there earlier ( we were down by 08;30 am) but saw no sign of it. There were one or two rather poncy dishes but little resembling an "American breakfast" , no bacon and eggs for example. There were not even coffee cups and no-one appeared as I went on a hunt through the little kitchen area looking for them. On the second day, I did at least discover the jams in the second drawer down on the LHS of the sideboard..

Location was excellent and central , the car park was good (a real plus in the constricted confines of the town.

However, on the whole, overpriced and trading on (I suppose position mainly).

The bar doesn't serve spirits by the way, it's also very small indeed.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriskLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2010
It is unfortunate that a guest had a less than satisfactory experience while traveling. We try to take great care in meeting all of our guest's needs and ensure that they have the best experience possible. Unfortunately it is difficult to correct problems that we are not made aware of.

The "jiggly bed" is an easy fix and we would have sent someone to remedy immediately, if known. Our breakfast buffet has something for most and we are glad to fulfill any special requests. We are more than happy to accomodate, whether it is a special dietary concern or for those who prefer an omelet or eggs of choice. We prepare special requests frequently and are pleased to serve our guest's needs.

We encourage guests to communicate with our front desk and overnight staff members, on duty 24 hours daily, when a problem or question arises. The Tavern is small, but we are not able to remedy.

In closing, it is frustrating as an innkeeper or hotelier to hear of a guest's complaint, long after they have checked out, when it could have so easily been rectified with a call down to the front desk or brought to the attention of an employee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We had a deluxe room (#34) which was on the top floor. It's one of two rooms that have decks. There is one room on the first floor that has a much smaller deck. Our room had a nice view and the deck was very private. The room was small, but the deck was like another room, and included lounging chairs for sunning, and a table and chairs for the bottle of wine and cheese we brought. Very clean inn, with a nice breakfast included.

The hostess, Darrell, was a delight and made us strawberries dipped in chocolate and coconut as a present for our anniversary! She had the wine glasses in the room -- everything my husband had asked for to make the day special.

I lived in Marblehead almost 30 years ago and we went to all the old haunts-- The Barnacle, The Landing, Crocker Park, Fort Sewell, Maddie's (of course!). The inn was a 4 minute walk to Maddie's Sail Loft and the drinks are still strong....save that stop for last!

Off street parking was appreciated by Ron. He loved not having to drive anywhere until we checked out the next day.

Make sure you take a drive to Marblehead neck before you leave. Visit Castle Rock and Marblehead Light. (left at the lights as you're heading out of town). The lighthouse vantage point has spectacular views of old town.

We tried to plan a family reunion here, but learned that the inn is not too kid-friendly. However, they do have apartments to rent down the street, so if you're interested -- inquire about these.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniceRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2010
Thank you! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your celebratory stay with us. All the best to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,931 reviews
13.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
191 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#2 of 20 in Marblehead
315 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Light Inn

Property: Harbor Light Inn
Address: 58 Washington St, Marblehead, MA 01945-3553
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Light Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old town Marblehead and the harbor district, the Harbor Light Inn offers easy access to beaches, shopping, art galleries, historic homes, museums and a variety of great restaurants. The Harbor Light Inn offers complimentary parking, wireless Internet and an on-site Tavern. Within short driving distance to neighboring Salem, Massachusetts and less than 18 miles to Boston. Corporate retreats, small weddings and executive meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Light Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing