We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbor Light Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2007

The Harbor Light Inn is the quintessetil New England Bed and Breakfast. Located in a colonial era seacost village, the Inn gives you the best of modern amenities blended perfectly with New England ambiance. The bed and bath were extraordinary, and the creme brulee french toast was beyond description. Start your day with breakfast on the patio by the pool, followed by plenty of shopping at the water's edge, and along winding, beautifully manicured streets. Finish with a lobster dinner at a nearby (walking distance) restaurant overlooking the harbor, a whirlpool bath and great night's sleep. Perfect.
Don & Carol - N.J.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeCodorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2007

This hotel is a gem. The historic buildings are linked together seamlessly, and each room is beautiful. Every person working there was genuinely helpful and friendly; we were sent to the most delicious lobster dinner at a restaurant walking distance from the hotel. But best of all were the breakfasts, cooked by super-talented manager Susan George. Her food was extraordinarily tasty and original, and she was generous with the recipes. As for Susan herself, we got to talking and she wound up doing a full makeup makeover on me and my friend! It was the highlight of our trip--totally fun. We loved this hotel and the whole hotel experience.

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank brooklynwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2007

We stay at enough B&B's to know the difference - and have no hesitancy whatsoever to recommend the Harbor Light Inn in Marblehead, MA. Why? Well, consider this: the central town location could not be better; the Inn is very attractive, tastefully appointed and obviously well maintained; there are a variety of types and sizes of rooms to meet all needs; a delicious continental breakfast is served in a pleasant "morning" dining room; and the staff (Marjorie, Susan , Ron) is experienced and most accommodating. This is an upscale, thoroughly comfortable and user-friendly inn to which we look forward to returning.

BJ & Charles - Houston, TX

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank TXCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2007

We experienced a very warm and friendly staff and enjoyed the elegance of the room and hotel. Personal attention was given to our stay as well as maximum privacy. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2007

i had read all the reviews put here and because the property is part of select registry, i thought it would be wonderful. i will say that susan the manager was very wonderful trying very hard to make things comfortable for us but we did not get what we thought we were paying for. the room was lovely in decor but the bed was very hard. i had requested that the sheets not be heavily fragranced and while i know the staff worked hard to make that happen, i still could not sleep in them. but beyond that...the bed was not comfortable at all and neither were the pillows. (now i did not make this known to the management and i am sure that susan would have accommodated us but we were there for two nights and i did not want the hassle of moving rooms) my experience with select registry inns in the past are more luxurious and for 185 a night...i thought we would get that. the other thing that irked me was that we paid extra to have a room with a fireplace but were given one duraflame log that burns for 2 1/2 hours and if you want another one...you get charged extra. people also raved about breakfast but i felt it was not worthy of the money. a lot of bready things with no real imagination or creativeness. i also missed the personal contact at breakfast with the innkeepers but being that the inn is larger and the breakfast is buffett...that comes with the territory. overall...i would not return there.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank redceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2007

From Boulder, Colorado, we needed to make last minute arrangements to be with a family member during and after her passing. This was a challenging time for us emotionally and we had never been to this area of the country. Every detail that needed to be taken care of prior to our arrival, during our stay and then during the five day extension of our stay (due to a blizzard that made it impossible for us to return home) was attended to with warmth and compassion and a delicate respect for our privacy. As a result, we were able to let go and keep our focus without intrusions of any kind. From the moment we spoke to the first person on the phone, we knew that we would be able to have our sacred space. From the moment we met Susan, the manager, we were taken care of and sheltered during this time. Everything that we read about The Inn was accurate and even more welcoming in person. Because of our long stay, we moved to three different rooms and each room invited us into its personality. All the rooms are charming and when we choose the rooms, we choose them to suit us and they did. In a way, we feel fortunate to have experienced this Inn during the off season because we were looking for that solitude and even when the Inn was full, we achieved that. The Harbor Light Inn blends into this charming town...no bells and whistles from the outside but as soon as you open the door and smell the cookies, you know you are home.

Stayed: December 2006
Thank TulipsBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2007

We found a jewel on the North Shore. Being from The Ocean State, it takes a lot to impress us. But finding Marblehead Harbor and this wonderful town, full of wonderful shops, pubs, restaurants and friendly people, capped off '06 for us. We stayed at the Harbor Light Inn right in town and walking distance to everything. From the get go, we had a warm and friendly greeting
from Susan. She was very busy baking cookies and goodies for the naxt days breakfast, but gave us a tour of the Inn, and a quick History of Marblehead 101. She showed us to our guest room and made luncheon suggestions. We stayed in room 36 and highly suggest it. The linens, according to my wife, were of the highest quality ,and, the Inn was spotless. The amenities like comfy robes to lounge in , my favorite, a CD/FM stereo and wireless internet access with a good size t.v. Better than home !
We unpacked and went back down stairs and ran into a group staying for the Halloween holiday, only to find the general topic of conversation was about Harbor Light and the charming town...so much nicer than anything seen in Salem. Everybody was happy to be there.Cookies, coffee and tea available all the time. What a treat ! Breakfast was everything they said it would be. Great fresh selections. I overheard a guest with a dietary restriction say that
the hosts we're more than happy to accommodate them. We felt so at home and so welcome by the entire staff. We can't wait to return. Only 90 minutes from Providence, yet we felt we had traveled into fantasy land. Two thumbs up. Great work. Tony
& Janice

Stayed: October 2006
Thank Anthony_C327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,035 reviews
5.7 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
254 reviews
7.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
15.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Light Inn

Address: 58 Washington St, Marblehead, MA 01945-3553
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range: £128 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Light Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old town Marblehead and the harbor district, the Harbor Light Inn offers easy access to beaches, shopping, art galleries, historic homes, museums and a variety of great restaurants. The Harbor Light Inn offers complimentary parking, wireless Internet and an on-site Tavern. Within short driving distance to neighboring Salem, Massachusetts and less than 18 miles to Boston. Corporate retreats, small weddings and executive meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Harbor Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Light Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing