We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Marblehead, stay at the Harbor Light Inn”
Review of Harbor Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbor Light Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2007

The Harbor Light Inn is the perfect place to stay. Walking in is like going back in time and yet, it feels like home. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, the breakfasts spectacular, and the garden and pool are perfect for relaxing. The Harbor Light Inn staff takes care of every little detail (there is always a treat in the dining room during the afternoon and evening hours), everyone is friendly and very professional. The atmosphere is great... I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SusanaMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2007

As all the reviews say, this inn is quaint, the breakfast delicious and generous, the pool area is beautiful and the inn is walking distance to everything. However, if you're looking for a romantic getaway, don't book room 23. All night, all we heard was water running through pipes. I don't know if it was toilets flushing and/or showers or jacuzzis running but they definitely need a new plumber.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank traveler22nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2007

The Harbor Light Inn is the quintessetil New England Bed and Breakfast. Located in a colonial era seacost village, the Inn gives you the best of modern amenities blended perfectly with New England ambiance. The bed and bath were extraordinary, and the creme brulee french toast was beyond description. Start your day with breakfast on the patio by the pool, followed by plenty of shopping at the water's edge, and along winding, beautifully manicured streets. Finish with a lobster dinner at a nearby (walking distance) restaurant overlooking the harbor, a whirlpool bath and great night's sleep. Perfect.
Don & Carol - N.J.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeCodorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2007

This hotel is a gem. The historic buildings are linked together seamlessly, and each room is beautiful. Every person working there was genuinely helpful and friendly; we were sent to the most delicious lobster dinner at a restaurant walking distance from the hotel. But best of all were the breakfasts, cooked by super-talented manager Susan George. Her food was extraordinarily tasty and original, and she was generous with the recipes. As for Susan herself, we got to talking and she wound up doing a full makeup makeover on me and my friend! It was the highlight of our trip--totally fun. We loved this hotel and the whole hotel experience.

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank brooklynwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2007

We stay at enough B&B's to know the difference - and have no hesitancy whatsoever to recommend the Harbor Light Inn in Marblehead, MA. Why? Well, consider this: the central town location could not be better; the Inn is very attractive, tastefully appointed and obviously well maintained; there are a variety of types and sizes of rooms to meet all needs; a delicious continental breakfast is served in a pleasant "morning" dining room; and the staff (Marjorie, Susan , Ron) is experienced and most accommodating. This is an upscale, thoroughly comfortable and user-friendly inn to which we look forward to returning.

BJ & Charles - Houston, TX

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank TXCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2007

We experienced a very warm and friendly staff and enjoyed the elegance of the room and hotel. Personal attention was given to our stay as well as maximum privacy. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2007

i had read all the reviews put here and because the property is part of select registry, i thought it would be wonderful. i will say that susan the manager was very wonderful trying very hard to make things comfortable for us but we did not get what we thought we were paying for. the room was lovely in decor but the bed was very hard. i had requested that the sheets not be heavily fragranced and while i know the staff worked hard to make that happen, i still could not sleep in them. but beyond that...the bed was not comfortable at all and neither were the pillows. (now i did not make this known to the management and i am sure that susan would have accommodated us but we were there for two nights and i did not want the hassle of moving rooms) my experience with select registry inns in the past are more luxurious and for 185 a night...i thought we would get that. the other thing that irked me was that we paid extra to have a room with a fireplace but were given one duraflame log that burns for 2 1/2 hours and if you want another one...you get charged extra. people also raved about breakfast but i felt it was not worthy of the money. a lot of bready things with no real imagination or creativeness. i also missed the personal contact at breakfast with the innkeepers but being that the inn is larger and the breakfast is buffett...that comes with the territory. overall...i would not return there.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank redceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,050 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
0.1 mi away
Harbor Gardens
Harbor Gardens
#9 of 19 in Marblehead
22 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#4 of 19 in Marblehead
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Light Inn

Address: 58 Washington Street, Marblehead, MA 01945-3553
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range: £134 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Light Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old town Marblehead and the harbor district, the Harbor Light Inn offers easy access to beaches, shopping, art galleries, historic homes, museums and a variety of great restaurants. The Harbor Light Inn offers complimentary parking, wireless Internet and an on-site Tavern. Within short driving distance to neighboring Salem, Massachusetts and less than 18 miles to Boston. Corporate retreats, small weddings, elopements and executive meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Harbor Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Light Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing