We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"One Of The Best"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harborside House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marblehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harborside House
Ranked #3 of 20 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"One Of The Best"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a Great Place to stay. Susan was a great hostess with fabulous hospitality. She had a lot of information to share about the area. The rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Breakfast every morning "Delicious". We enjoyed staying in Marblehead. We had great views of the harbor. We plan on staying there again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casagrandejjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
64
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Advance, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

If you're looking for a great Bed & Breakfast Inn for a getaway in a great part of MA, then Harborside is the place. The rooms are extremely clean, the prices are very competitive, the breakfast is great, and Susan is a perfect hostess. Susan is there if you need her, but she does not make a pest out of herself. The only negative is 2 upstairs bedrooms have to share a bath, however, Susan makes her private bath available after 7:00 a.m. if this is a problem. I have stayed at several B&B and I rate Harborside at the top of any I've stayed at and I strongly recommend Harborside.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advance, North Carolina
Level Contributor
167 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

My dad, brother, brother-in-law and I stayed at the Harborside House during a recent trip to see the Red Sox. Susan and her home were GREAT! I stayed in the sitting room on a very comfortable single bed, and my family members stayed in the other 2 rooms.
Despite the single bathroom, we always had plenty of room and time to get ready in the mornings. Ah, the mornings. The breakfasts were wonderful. We had banana bread or pumpkin loaf, fresh fruit, bagels, English muffins with jelly and butter, and 3 types of cereal to choose from. We also had Susan to sit with us to offer her expertise on Boston and Salem and the subway system. We felt prepared by the time we got into Boston.
Susan made the comment to me on our second and last morning that we had spent our entire trip away and hadn't got to see and experience Marblehead. But I feel that we did. We spent 2 nights and 2 lovely mornings in a wonderful bed-and-breakfast with a gracious host who treated us like family. I feel like I experienced a lovely part of this bayside suburb of Boston. Thanks, Susan.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMDEN
Level Contributor
121 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Harborside isn't large (two to three rooms), but you can't beat its combination of comfort, hospitality, views of the harbor and proximity to Marblehead's Old Town and its amazing assemblage of colonial buildings, still vibrant and in use in the 21st century and not relegated to being soul-less museums as in Willimsburg and Deerfield. I have been staying with Susan Livingston and her Harborside House for almost 30 years now, and it's always a delight: a generous breakfast, comfortable and cozy rooms, and plenty of reading material for planning your in Massachusetts' North Shore.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHARLES G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

My teen-aged daughter and I stayed for two nights in a room with two twin beds -- good quality beds with cozy duvet-type comforters. The room was large enough for us both to feel like we had plenty of space. We had a view of the harbor through the front window and every need supplied, from classical music CDs and chocolates in the rooms to shampoo and other supplies in the bathroom. The bathroom is down the hall and shared, although no one else was staying when we were there. Breakfast is continental, with whole grain bread and English muffins for toasting, cereal, coffee/tea, ample amounts of fruit, cheese, yogurt and a different homemade quick bread each day (pumpkin ginger and almond cranberry). The price was lower than other places I found in the area (where we would have had to share a queen-sized bed and/or pay for parking). The house had many lovely antique details (without being fussy). Marblehead was larger than we expected and had a nice selection of restaurants. Salem is very close by -- and we also visited Beverly and Manchester-by-the-Sea. Note that parking is on-street (readily available) and in the B&B driveway overnight. Marblehead has very twisty roads, making a GPS pretty much a necessity! Susan is friendly and helpful without being intrusive, the perfect host!

Room Tip: All rooms are upstairs, as is the front door, so this is not the place for someone with mobility iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband and I stayed with Susan for Halloween 2013 and it was a wonderful stay. Her home is lovely and welcoming and our bedroom was very pretty with a separate living room with TV. The location is lovely with sea views and you enjoy some scenic seaside walks. We had dinner one night at Jack Tar Restaurant - it is in walking distance, has a great atmosphere, lovely food and fab Halloween cocktails with ghost marshmallows in them. Breakfast at Harborside was great too, breads, cereals, fresh fruits etc.. and I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east charleston vt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have stayed in other B&B's in M'Head and this was definetly the best, Great value, delicious breakfast and very convenient. Susan was a great hostess and had great recomendations for restaurants. The bedroom and bathroom was very clean and cozy. A must stay in Marblehead!

Heanue

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms to choose from so it depends if you wand 2 singles or a queen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.4 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.5 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
7.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
0.5 mi away
Harbor Light Inn
Harbor Light Inn
#1 of 20 in Marblehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#2 of 20 in Marblehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside House

Property: Harborside House
Address: 23 Gregory Street, Marblehead, MA 01945
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harborside House offers gracious accommodations and warm hospitality in a great location. Handsome 1850 home in the historic district overlooks picturesque Marblehead Harbor. Guests enjoy water views from its wood-paneled parlor, period dining room and summer breakfast porch. Two well-appointed guestrooms feature antique furnishings and period wallpaper.Choice of twin beds or double bed. A private bath and air-conditioning are available. Amenities include terry robes, hairdryers, toiletries, two bicycles, WI-FI, beach towels and chairs. Off-street parking. A short walk from Harborside House are antique shops, art galleries, shops of local craftsmen and dining choices to suit every taste bud and budget. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing