We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Travelers: Beware Pee Wee Hockey Season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Boston Marlborough
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Marlborough
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed here on a Thursday night in January. The rankings are too high for this Residence Inn given the noise issues.

Had a big business meeting and was taking my son to Boston area colleges. Unfortunately for us, Pee wee hockey hell ran amok down our hallway for 2+ hours. There is an arena across the street. Called front desk. No real response (they'd heard it before). At one point, the front desk just stopped answering our calls -- despite our invocation of the Magic Words "Trip Advisor!" We called maybe 4 times total. A new person came on the front desk at 11pm and she hadn't been informed -- which is simply inexcusable. It was 120 minutes of hell. Doors slamming every two minutes. Kids banging on doors. At one point the front desk answered and said that there was only a coach and a parent for the entire team of 9-year old boys. But nothing was really done about the noise.

We endured it for two hours -- 9pm till 1130pm. Awful. The boys' noise echoed throughout the hallway. No support from the front desk. I will not ever again stay at this location, despite having repeat needs in the area for a good hotel.

Breakfast buffet was marginal at best. As for dinner the night before, we were equally doomed, having arrived at 7:25pm and that was shut down.

The decor is updated. But Marriott is building these hotels with no noise protection. There are products on the market such as sound-deadening sheetrock -- but that is not being used. The carpet and walls do not add to the noise dampening -- the noise reverberates.

This hotel has made its decision to just cater to hockey teams. That is fine. But business and other travelers beware.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeegan122569, Mike Egan posting for the General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

We appreciate your feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. With the New England Sports Center across the street, we do often receive hockey groups on the weekends. Unfortunately each group behaves differently, but we try to handle the noise complaints with the parents and coaches as the issues arise. We generally have security on during busy hockey weekends to make everyone’s stay enjoyable- and quiet. We not only cater to hockey teams, but have a large, loyal business clientele as well.



I am sorry you did not have a great stay due to the noise level of this group. It appears we handled your phone calls to the front desk improperly, and we will continue to train and coach the staff to better handle these situations.



Upon returning to the area we would like to have you back again as this is normally not a problem.



Thank you,



Brooke Deviley

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2012

Stayed here during the week of Thansgiving. Very clean, very friendly staff. Always a safe choice. Best hotel in Marlboro. A great advantage is that it's a accross the street from the hockey arean. Will return again in January. A+++

Room Tip: all rooms are great but it's always safe to book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeegan122569, Regional Sales Director posted for the General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel.
We appreciate your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you in January.
We'll be sure to have the lobby fireplace going as I'm sure it will be colder than November! Thank you for the compliments.

Brooke Deviley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

This was my first time staying at this residence Inn in Marlborough. What I like about it is that they are the same every where. You can always count on a clean room, good breakfast and a reasonable price. The people who work here were great and pleasant to deal with. We stayed in a studio room but it was plenty of space for us and we got real comfortable really fast. Updated appliances and countertops, plenty of plates, pots, pans and silverware for two. I have never been dissappointed with any Residence Inn and this place was no exception.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon_and_stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

this was a great place to stay, had excellent full breakfast. nice quiet place to stay, also great list of tv channels, the best part of the stay was the room was really spacious almost like an apartment style with fireplace that you could turn on that made it feel really at home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David6872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Marriott's Residence Inn is a well-established and highly-regarded brand. For good reason. The Marlborough Residence Inn lived up to the chain's reputation.

Travelling with our dog, we had a spacious room, a large kitchenette, comfortable bed and good work space. The manager's reception offered hamburgers and hot dogs (at no extra fee), while the pool area was clean and inviting. We only stayed for one day, but my other experiences with Residence Inns have been for a week or so. For stays of that period or longer, the Residence Inn probably has no rivals.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuckNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed here from 8/24-8/28 for an ice skating boot camp. The hotel and room was clean. The staff was very pleasant and always seemed to be smiling and willing to be accomodating.
I had a room at the end of the 2nd floor by the steps and it was very quiet. The room was very comfortable. It was a studio set up and the tv was able to swivel between the couch and the bed. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate (love those waffles).

The only negative was that the chlorine in the air at the pool was a bit hard to take.

We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Drove in - our 8-1/2-hour trip became over 11 hours. Arrived at 8 pm; staff was welcoming and helpful. Room was exactly what I needed, clean and comfortable. Furnishings are older (frayed arms, etc.) but comfortable.

Breakfast buffet was excellent. The staff quickly replenished or replaced anything that even looked old, cold, or less than great. The prep team was pleasant and cheerful.

My only problem was that while we noted ahead of time there were three of us, and reiterated upon checkin, there were only two sets of towels provided. I guess if I ran a hotel, I wouldn't want to put extras in every room, but when three adults check in, the extras should be automatic. I shouldn't have to ask.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBA1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marlborough hotels
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston Marlborough
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
#7 of 12 in Marlborough
172 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Marlborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hyatt Place Marlborough Apex Center
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Marlborough
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Boston Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boston Marlborough

Address: 112 Donald Lynch Blvd, Marlborough, MA 01752-4720
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marlborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Marlborough
Price Range: £94 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boston Marlborough 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Residence Inn Boston Marlborough - the newest hotel in Marlborough - we've perfected the extended-stay experience by combining the comforts of home with a passion for making guests feel welcome. Our all-suite Marlborough, MA hotel is across from New England Sports Center, close to Solomon Pond Mall, and minutes from Worcester. New Energy Alliance, Creganna-Tactx Medical, Sunovion, and key corporations are nearby, too. Here at our Marlborough, MA hotel, home comforts and a sense of community help you feel relaxed and connected. Start your day with a complimentary Home Touch hot breakfast buffet. Work easily with complimentary high-speed Internet access and an ample desk. Make a meal in your kitchen - equipped with a cook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Boston Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Boston Marlborough Hotel Marlborough
Residence Inn Marlborough
Marlborough Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing