We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convention sensation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Marlborough
Charlotte, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“convention sensation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

New England Traditions convention...
this is our second year staying at the hotel while we paint, paint, paint. Knowing the restaurants are overwhelmed for breakfast, we asked for a fridge and microwave, which they put in our room minutes after arriving. This let us grab a bite to eat before our morning classes and get there in time. Our beds were comfortable, and the room staff was great. Our air conditioner stopped working our first evening there and the repair man replaced it within the hour. Our bathroom sink was stopped up when we got there, and one phone call to the front desk had the repairs done in minutes. I found the public bathrooms very clean and neat. There was always drinking water in each of the classrooms, a blessing. Overall I can't say enough good things, and I will be booking my room for next year as soon as I can.....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krazldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We are thrilled you had such a great stay! Whether it’s making sure the rooms are spotless, or fulfilling a simple request, our staff’s attention to detail is what sets them apart. We care about our guests and want their stay to be memorable. Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to your next stay!
See you soon,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    172
    142
    81
    55
See reviews for
154
53
29
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coloma, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We spent 4 nights at this hotel last week as part of an organized tour. Our room was quiet. I have to say that they have the WORST customer service ever. There were 7 - 8 tour busses there every evening and I know that most of them had continental breakfasts each day. They would only have 1 person working in this area to collect tickets, refresh food, etc. They constantly ran out of food and the staff, while not "rude", were less than accommodating.

Almost everyone in our group had problems with their electronic keys not working and had to get replacements. A friend found bedbugs - we did not.

When we returned from our first day trip, I stuck the key in the door - and thee door swung open. The maid hadn't closed the door properly.

The pool was cold.

I definitely would not go to this place again.

Room Tip: The only tip I have is STAY AWAY
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retta61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. It is our goal to provide a great experience for guests and surpass their expectations. Your suggestions and concerns have been noted and I’ll be sure to address them during our next staff meeting.
Respectfully,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marlborough hotels

Phila., PA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Large hotel, but very quiet. Comfy beds. Good place for a large meeting or conference. Staff very accomodating. A little off the highway and not that easy to find, but worth the trouble. Nice bar area with a big screen tv.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bonnie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Every guest can expect to find peace and quiet during their stay with us. We do whatever it takes to make your trip relaxing. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to see you again soon!
Many thanks,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel was terrible. I attended a one day conference here. What I found was filth and disorganization. The restroom floors were literally covered in feces, as were some of the stalls. the tableclothes on the tables were stained and the rooms smelled like mold. We had 15 minute coffee breaks but there were no cups provided and no employees around. The hallways were junked up with carts of supplies and things appeared incomplete or half set up. Our presenter almost fell off the stage when he tripped over wires that were not properly hidden. The employees were polite and friendly but scarce. Overall I would never step foot in here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garden_runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
I’m glad our staff was polite and friendly, but surprised to hear about the rest of your experience. I can assure you that what you have described is not up to our high standards. Rooms are cleaned regularly, linens washed, supplies restocked, everything is done to make your event stand out. Rest assured, your experience will not happen again. Thank you for your feedback.
Respectfully,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We recently stayed several nights at this hotel as part of a tour package. Judging by the coaches in the car park overnight, there were several other groups also staying. The room was Okay -clean, but basic. The problem was the dining experience in both the 'sports bar' in the evening and the restaurant at breakfast time. The staff were clearly incapable of coping with the number of guests staying and there was no evidence of any restaurant management at all. Without doubt this was the worst level of service we have received anywhere during many years of travelling throughout the US. My advice if you stay here: find somewhere else to eat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kay_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry to hear about your experience in our restaurant. It is possible, as you pointed out, that we were understaffed that night which resulted in longer wait times. I have taken note of your concerns as we continue to improve all aspects of our facilities.
Many thanks,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Internet quote was exceeded after the first night. Past experience was continental breakfast was included but not in this case and was quoted without explanation hence cost was excessive but later cancelled. Room was small but OK. Only one luggage rack when 2 could have been used. Chair worked.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Howard Jr. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
We apologize for the misunderstanding. You can be assured of receiving the best experience/price and confidence in booking when you book at bestwestern.com as opposed to any third part site. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope you will come again.
Best wishes,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

A four star Best Western hotel this certainly isn't. Two restaurants only one of which is open at any one time. The main restaurant, only open for breakfast, is understaffed, short on food and pretty poor all round. There was no sausages available at breakfast. No coffee, and although the staff tried their hardest they could not cope. The Sports Bar & Grill was no more than a pub bar with pub grub. The hotel suspended the hotel shuttle bus one evening because they had two tours in the evening. This hotel is by no means of four star standard, I'd be pushed to give it a two star rating. Very disappointing.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
We are sorry you didn’t find your stay satisfactory. Hopefully you found your room comfortable and enjoyed the many amenities that our hotel offers in addition to two on-site restaurants. Thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marlborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Marlborough
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston Marlborough
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
#5 of 10 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Marlborough
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 10 in Marlborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center
Address: 181 Boston Post Road West, Marlborough, MA 01752
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center 3*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel And Trade Center
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Marlborough
Marlborough Best Western
Best Western Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing