We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Marlborough
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet was exceptional! The hotel offered lots of amenities such as, arcade, fitness room, pool, restaurant and separate bar and lounge. It was also conveniently located near shopping and chain restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bethany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Exceptional is the perfect way to describe our breakfast and service. I’m glad we were able to go above and beyond to make your stay special!
Come back soon!
Rick Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 814 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Really impressive hotel located outside Boston in peaceful setting while still less than 2 minutes from the highway, very well located.

There are so many genuinely nice and considerate employees at this hotel, the lobby is beautiful, hard to imagine finding these amenities at this level of quality outside Boston.

In addition to its meeting/ballroom spaces located within the hotel, the trade center is an excellent resource for companies looking for such space/value.

The food is very good quality, reasonably priced and, as many have said previously, the breakfast (hot and cold, impressive quality/variety food) and breakfast staff are excellent as are so many at the front desk and within the other departments (sales, housekeeping, management, maintenance, etc.)

Appreciating that it must be quite the task to run such a large hotel (over 400 rooms!), it's a pleasure to recognize the efforts and successes of all those responsible for making this hotel worthy of recommendation.

Naturally, there is always more to be done (elevators may well need updating as it can sometimes take a long time to arrive even when not busy, rather small fitness area for size of hotel) and updating is an ongoing reality.

Considering the importance of quality/value, this hotel presents an excellent option for both business travelers and families.

The grounds and indoor pool area (with attached outside deck) are in excellent updated condition and there is a nice arcade area and car rental in the beautiful lobby area.

Room Tip: Hotel designed like a plus sign so you can choose what direction you want to face (i.e. sunrise or s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your detailed review! Providing you with the highest quality stay for the best value is our motto. We appreciate you recognizing our efforts and for sharing your amazing experience. We look forward to your next stay!
Rick Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stay at this hotel just about every year when I attend a conference there. It's adequate, but nothing over the top. Let's start with some of the positives. It's conveniently located right off the highway and near lots of stores and restaurants. There is a huge hotel parking lot, so no issues trying to find a spot. There are four elevators and I have never had to wait very long at all. Check in is quick and efficient. The room will run you about $120.00 a night. It's value priced. The staff in the restaurant for breakfast are super attentive and check on you all the time to make sure you have everything you need. There is a hot and cold breakfast buffet option that saves you time if you are in a rush. The rooms are generally clean and well stocked with towels. Wifi is free and the connectivity good. There is a room service menu in the rooms and it looks like they have many choices for guests and the prices are reasonable. I have never ordered it myself.

Now for the negatives. The entrance for the hotel is easy to miss because your GPS will have you turning into a shopping plaza with the hotel in full view behind it and no way to get to it from there. You actually have to go past the shopping plaza and turn right about 1/8 mile down the road. The interior of the hotel is dated and could use some sprucing up. My phone never seems to work in this hotel. I get a "no service" signal all the time. The workout area is extremely small and I have never been able to use it because all of the equipment is occupied. I think they have two machines and a weight bench in there. It's tiny for the size of the hotel. The water pressure is crazy low and it is difficult to rinse off soap and shampoo. I hate the shampoo and conditioner combined in one bottle because that really never works on my hair. There is no rapid check out where the bill is slipped under the door in the wee hours of the morning so you can bypass the front desk for check out. There is no safe in the room. I have also never seen a guest services book in my room to let me know about the hotel amenities. This time when I arrived in my room, all the drawers were wide open and all of the cushions up on the sofa and the chair. Maybe housekeeping got interrupted and left it that way?

I only stay one night here when I visit. It's seems like an okay hotel for a couple of days for business, but not exactly a hotel for vacation.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Michie1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review. Your feedback will be mentioned during our next meeting. We’re confident that we offer excellent accommodations for both business travelers and vacationers alike.
Many thanks,
Rick Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I found the facility to be clean, the hotel staff very helpful, price was reasonable ($110 With taxes), restaurant was clean and the waitstaff was professional, clean and friendly. I found nothing off putting with my stay. Check out in the morning was quick and easy. Breakfast was plentiful, looked appealing and proved tasty and was hot.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Richard J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

That’s what we love to hear! We want every part of your stay to be as comfortable and easy as possible. Thank you for sharing and we hope to see you again soon!
Many Thanks,
Rick Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel for business meetings and for overnight stays when in the area, it is very close to a variety of areas and easy to get to from all points within the state. The lounge and bar staff at this hotel are very attentive and ready to please.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Darla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your recommendation! Our staff is something else. They’re always willing to go the extra mile to make your stay special. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you’ll come again soon!
Rick Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The room had no glasses just plastic cups. The fitness center had different hours on website, hotel room info book, and on the door. The tv guide was completely wrong. The Allstar Bar is one of the best places to eat in Mass.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I’ll be sure to look into the hours listed for the fitness room. I’m sorry you didn’t find your stay satisfactory and I will personally investigate these issues to make sure they’re resolved asap.
Many Thanks,
Rick Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Recently stayed for a night here on my way to Boston. This hotel is very nice. Breakfast buffett was a nice touch. The room was very clean however the rugs could you use a good shampoo. Pool seemd nice but did not get to use it. Very quiet and no problems while we were there

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

The breakfast buffet is always a guest favorite. I’ll be sure to make a note about the rugs. We want every aspect of your stay to be as clean and comfortable as possible. Thank you for your comments and we hope you’ll come again!
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marlborough hotels
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Marlborough
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Marlborough
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston Marlborough
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
#7 of 12 in Marlborough
171 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 12 in Marlborough
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center

Address: 181 Boston Post Rd W, Marlborough, MA 01752-1840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marlborough
Price Range: £68 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center 3*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel And Trade Center
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Marlborough
Marlborough Best Western
Best Western Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing