We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Royal" is very misleading!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Marlborough
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Royal" is very misleading!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel will meet the needs of hockey family travelers that are self sufficient. If you need accomodations for more than a couple of nights, I would suggest staying at another hotel. This hotel is very large and fails to meet the needs of its guests. If you need the services advertised, don't count on them , especially if you have younger children. The lack of enough luggage carts puts you in a situation of fending for yourself. Parents will have to make several trips to get their families situated. When you ask for a cart, they tell you to look in a closet. No follow up on this one.
If you usually count on the hotel for a quick and wholesome breakfast, not here. Long lines and a miserable wait staff is what you will find, and don't forget you breakfast coupon.
Especially if the hotel is fully booked. Not a good place to try to start off your morning. Kids will be bored standing on line waiting to be sat at one of the tables. And no you can't just grab a box of cereal and a carton of milk and run. You will be faced with people that do not like their job and nor do they have the desire to accomodate you. So moms and dads, you'll be on your own. I travel a lot with my son (14 yrs. old) and even he suggested going to the local DD.
Basically, if you are fine with coming into a hotel and staying away from the staff you will be fine. The room was clean and the beds were fine.

Room Tip: Here's a secret, ask for an end room, they are far from the elevators, but, are separated from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hockeybuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I’m sorry we weren’t able to fulfill your needs. Our staff works very hard to make sure each individually has a comfortable stay. I will bring this experience to their attention to ensure we are doing our best.
Respectfully,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    172
    142
    81
    55
See reviews for
154
53
29
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is not a "pull off the Interstate" for a quick night's sleep place. This is a conference center well away from the freeway, in the woods, in a somewhat hard to find location outside Boston. Because they are not near highways, every room is very quiet.

If you're looking for an "easy off/easy on" overnight, this is not the place. For a conference, it has everything you'd need at reasonable prices. With all discounts and taxes applied, our guest room was well under $125. They have 425 plus rooms.

The property is old but well maintained and exceptionally clean. Our guest room was spotless, we had a huge flat screen TV and acceptable WiFi. Download speeds are not great, but fast enough to get work done. They spent some serious money on the desk chairs...multiple adjustment options. Like most older hotels, the number of electrical outlets is too low. They need to put one or two power strips in the rooms.

The room service menu was short but offered adequate options, the food was fresh, well prepared, very moderately priced and the portions huge.

However, the best part is that these people are geared to meetings. We spoke to 700 in the main ballroom, but there were 15 breakout sessions in rooms that could handle 100 plus. Their inventory of A/V equipment must be huge. They had 5000 lumen projectors in many rooms, audio sound mixers to handle multiple mics and a tech who knows his stuff.

Good meeting spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your glowing review! I’m glad everything went well with your meeting. Whether you’re a group of 10 or 100, we make sure all of your needs are met. We’ll see you for your next meeting!
Many thanks,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet was exceptional! The hotel offered lots of amenities such as, arcade, fitness room, pool, restaurant and separate bar and lounge. It was also conveniently located near shopping and chain restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bethany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Exceptional is the perfect way to describe our breakfast and service. I’m glad we were able to go above and beyond to make your stay special!
Come back soon!
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Really impressive hotel located outside Boston in peaceful setting while still less than 2 minutes from the highway, very well located.

There are so many genuinely nice and considerate employees at this hotel, the lobby is beautiful, hard to imagine finding these amenities at this level of quality outside Boston.

In addition to its meeting/ballroom spaces located within the hotel, the trade center is an excellent resource for companies looking for such space/value.

The food is very good quality, reasonably priced and, as many have said previously, the breakfast (hot and cold, impressive quality/variety food) and breakfast staff are excellent as are so many at the front desk and within the other departments (sales, housekeeping, management, maintenance, etc.)

Appreciating that it must be quite the task to run such a large hotel (over 400 rooms!), it's a pleasure to recognize the efforts and successes of all those responsible for making this hotel worthy of recommendation.

Naturally, there is always more to be done (elevators may well need updating as it can sometimes take a long time to arrive even when not busy, rather small fitness area for size of hotel) and updating is an ongoing reality.

Considering the importance of quality/value, this hotel presents an excellent option for both business travelers and families.

The grounds and indoor pool area (with attached outside deck) are in excellent updated condition and there is a nice arcade area and car rental in the beautiful lobby area.

Room Tip: Hotel designed like a plus sign so you can choose what direction you want to face (i.e. sunrise or s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your detailed review! Providing you with the highest quality stay for the best value is our motto. We appreciate you recognizing our efforts and for sharing your amazing experience. We look forward to your next stay!
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
324 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I stay at this hotel just about every year when I attend a conference there. It's adequate, but nothing over the top. Let's start with some of the positives. It's conveniently located right off the highway and near lots of stores and restaurants. There is a huge hotel parking lot, so no issues trying to find a spot. There are four elevators and I have never had to wait very long at all. Check in is quick and efficient. The room will run you about $120.00 a night. It's value priced. The staff in the restaurant for breakfast are super attentive and check on you all the time to make sure you have everything you need. There is a hot and cold breakfast buffet option that saves you time if you are in a rush. The rooms are generally clean and well stocked with towels. Wifi is free and the connectivity good. There is a room service menu in the rooms and it looks like they have many choices for guests and the prices are reasonable. I have never ordered it myself.

Now for the negatives. The entrance for the hotel is easy to miss because your GPS will have you turning into a shopping plaza with the hotel in full view behind it and no way to get to it from there. You actually have to go past the shopping plaza and turn right about 1/8 mile down the road. The interior of the hotel is dated and could use some sprucing up. My phone never seems to work in this hotel. I get a "no service" signal all the time. The workout area is extremely small and I have never been able to use it because all of the equipment is occupied. I think they have two machines and a weight bench in there. It's tiny for the size of the hotel. The water pressure is crazy low and it is difficult to rinse off soap and shampoo. I hate the shampoo and conditioner combined in one bottle because that really never works on my hair. There is no rapid check out where the bill is slipped under the door in the wee hours of the morning so you can bypass the front desk for check out. There is no safe in the room. I have also never seen a guest services book in my room to let me know about the hotel amenities. This time when I arrived in my room, all the drawers were wide open and all of the cushions up on the sofa and the chair. Maybe housekeeping got interrupted and left it that way?

I only stay one night here when I visit. It's seems like an okay hotel for a couple of days for business, but not exactly a hotel for vacation.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Michie1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review. Your feedback will be mentioned during our next meeting. We’re confident that we offer excellent accommodations for both business travelers and vacationers alike.
Many thanks,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I found the facility to be clean, the hotel staff very helpful, price was reasonable ($110 With taxes), restaurant was clean and the waitstaff was professional, clean and friendly. I found nothing off putting with my stay. Check out in the morning was quick and easy. Breakfast was plentiful, looked appealing and proved tasty and was hot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
That’s what we love to hear! We want every part of your stay to be as comfortable and easy as possible. Thank you for sharing and we hope to see you again soon!
Many Thanks,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Adams, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel for business meetings and for overnight stays when in the area, it is very close to a variety of areas and easy to get to from all points within the state. The lounge and bar staff at this hotel are very attentive and ready to please.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Darla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your recommendation! Our staff is something else. They’re always willing to go the extra mile to make your stay special. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you’ll come again soon!
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marlborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Marlborough
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston Marlborough
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
#5 of 10 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Marlborough
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 10 in Marlborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center
Address: 181 Boston Post Road West, Marlborough, MA 01752
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center 3*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel And Trade Center
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Marlborough
Marlborough Best Western
Best Western Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing