We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Tapatia

La Tapatia
Ranked #26 of 151 Restaurants in Marlborough
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Small family-run restaurant a bit off the beaten path. Fun atmosphere, very friendly staff and the most fresh, authentic Mexican food I have had in a long time. Complimentary chips and salsa and good selection of Mexican beer. The tamales are perfect! Mom sends the food from the kitchen in random order as she prepares it. Portions are not huge, but you will not leave hungry or disappointed. Ala carte selections a better value than combo platters. Very modest prices. Winner of the “Best Taco” Presented by the Association of
Mexican Restaurants of New England at Taco Fest 2013!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    21
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So so...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

My wife and I visited this on a Sunday evening. The restaurant portion had two other tables being served while we were there. Our table was wobbly and the chair I sat in was loose. We were attended to relatively quickly and placed an order for guacamole and tamales as appetizers. We also ordered water WITHOUT ice but the waitress didn't relay that part and both came with ice. The guacamole and tamales were excellent. My wife was disappointed at the plastic bowl the guacamole came in as it looked like the stone ones we've seen in other restaurants. My chicken enchiladas came and were rather bland and looked lonely on the plate.
We also ordered the flan for dessert and were disappointed at the unusual texture in this. Typically, flan in one of my wife's favorite desserts and she only had one bite before we discarded the rest.
Overall, I'll not be going back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drtryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I go there for lunch. The food is great and the service quick. Always crowded at lunchtime. The lunch crowd is made up of local people. There is free parking across the street.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Waterford, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

The food was good, but was pricey for what you get. You must request complimentary nachos. No free refills on soft drinks, and any combo platters are at least $14.00. $35.00 for 2 to eat and I left hungry. I will not be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Where Mexicans eat Mexican Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I went with my family on a Thursday evening - and was just awed at the great flavors and authentic foods available. Choosing was the challenge from the extensive menu! My son had the tamales, and said they melted in his mouth. We had a wide selection of tacos and a shrimp enchilada - all tasty. We will be going there often - probably the only drawback is the lack of a liquor license - the food begs for a good Mexican beer!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripletstogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tapatia also viewed

 

Been to La Tapatia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing