We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty awful actually”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Marlborough
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty awful actually”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Customer service is of no help on issues. Pool closed but still on website. Internet doesn't work. Restaurant food mediocre. Points program is decent, so unless your Marriott gold or something like this would go somewhere else. Out of the places i've tried in the area the hampton is better.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lev Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary S, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Marlborough, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay. We welcome comments about our Hotel and are, of course, very concerned when a guest is dissatisfied in any way.
I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in regards to the pool closing and the wireless. The pool had to be closed unexpectedly for a repair and the wireless provider was called to investigate the problem you mentioned.
I have spoken to the Executive Chef in regards to your comment on food quality, he will correct any deficiencies immediately.
Thank you again for taking the time to let us know and certainly hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you given again when travel plans bring you back to the Marlborough area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    71
    34
    9
    3
See reviews for
40
17
6
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and got a pretty good take on the property. It's conveniently located to a lot of stuff and there's plenty of parking.

However, they need a lot of work.

The hotel itself is quite dated. The lobby area has been updated, but the rooms are still the same (popcorn ceiling). The first room I got looked fine - until I took my shoes off and stepped in a very large wet spot in front of the bed - the kind a pet may make (they swore that they cleaned the carpet for a spot and it was just still wet).

I marched right back downstairs and was given lots of apologies and a new room. The second room looked very similar - except this one had a fridge. And, lucky for me, the last guest left plenty of half-eaten food in the fridge for me to enjoy. Well, I passed on that and brought the leftovers down to the front desk where I got even more apologies.

The staff is the brightest point. Amber, Samantha and Dom couldn't be nicer and treated me like a valued guest the entire time - initial problems notwithstanding.

As far as the hotel goes - they have big HDTV's in every room, but with seriously crappy analog service. I'd prefer to watch TV on an old tube TV instead of analog on an HDTV. Come on - it's almost 2014 (they blamed a corporate Marriott contract).

There's a limited gym - an elliptical, 2 treadmills, a bike and some free weights. There's also a nicer gym in the basement, but you need to pay $10/day for that as they lease the space out to a private company. Tacky nickel-and-dime way to avoid investing in their own gym.

The internet access is free and slow - or you can pay extra every day for "faster" service, without them telling you what either speed is. Another tacky nickel-and-dime thing to do to guests.

This hotel is quite expensive for the area, and the only justification is being part of the Marriott chain.

Overall, I'll likely be back since there are no other brands in Marlborough that I belong to, but if there were, I'd skip this one easily (despite the great staff).

It's a great example of how Courtyard pales in comparison to competitors like Hyatt Place or even Aloft.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dansville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed here for a wedding and found it a bit uncomfortable. The room i was given was on the first floor, facing the entry driveway. I could hear the car traffic and people talking... car alarms going off... horns honking... very frustrating. The room was clean, but the pillows are the worst ever. If i have to stay here again, will bring my own. The worst thing was the heater in the room. So loud and annoying it made sleeping difficult. It comes on and off every ten minutes or so and had a loud bang when it was ready to shut off. It was nightmare. so if you are given room 103, ask for another. A big surprise was on sunday morning, we went out to have breakfast buffet ( it looked really good saturday morning but we were unable to enjoy) to be told, oh we dont serve that on sundays. WOW!!!!! we could not believe it. The only thing available was what was available at the starbucks. So we ordered coffee to go.... IT WAS AWFUL.... complete waste of money.

The best thing about this hotel was the staff... they are the best...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaM692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

All the hotels in Worcester were booked. This was a great option for a few reasons: free parking, only 20-25 minutes from Worcerster (and easy to get to), 35-40 minutes from Boston and clean rooms. The decor of the lobby and the social areas were nice also. The only downside is that the HVAC system in the room was a bit loud.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenr694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have stayed here multiple times while traveling on business. The staff greets me by name before I even reach the desk. The restaurant staff also remembers my name. Makes business travel a lot more tolerable. Rooms are clean. Issues are resolved in a quick apologetic manner. New renovation is great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel over the weekend. There was a load party going on in the hallway and room next door until 4:30 AM. When I arrived that afternoon I was that the hotel had put out signs on the floor saying things like no alcohol outside of rooms not served by hotel staff. So, they knew there would be a problem, but didn't do anything to monitor/stop it. I view the most basic function of a hotel as providing a quiet place to sleep. This hotel fails.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ap9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Very comfortable beds and very clean hotel. Would definitely recommend this one. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was good - lots to choose from. The food in the restaurant for lunch and dinner was pretty good - not great, but good. Overall, it was a good experience and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: May not want to stay in a room over where the front doors are. It did get a little noisy when peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antjekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marlborough hotels
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston Marlborough
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Marlborough
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Marlborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough
0.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Marlborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Boston Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston Marlborough

Property: Courtyard Boston Marlborough
Address: 75 Felton St, Marlborough, MA 01752-1917
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston Marlborough 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Boston Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Boston Marlborough Hotel Marlborough
Marriott Marlborough
Courtyard Marlborough
Marlborough Marriott
Marlborough Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing