We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Marlborough
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

I needed to stay two nights on a business trip and selected this hotel based on proximity and previous experience with H.I.
Pros:
I was surprised at the size of the suite I got with a huge sitting area and kitchenette. The high speed internet service worked very well for me.

Cons:
On the down side, the TV in the sitting area had a distorted picture after being on for a while. They provide only paper cups and single-serving coffee maker. The business center has only one PC and the printer was apparently out of toner as prints came out as blank pages.

Hard to beat for the price though.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TucsonPete_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM265, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
Dear Guest,

You are obviously a seasoned traveler that understands how the little things can make or break a hotel experience. You will be happy to know that since your April 4th stay we have replaced every television with all new 32" flat screen televisions; it was the last of an extensive renovation making our hotel the most updated property in Marlborough, MA. All guest reviews are shared with our staff, we thank you for your comments and look forward to the pleasure of your next visit when in Marlborough area.

Warmest Regards,

Ms. Jahayra Santiago
5084813000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    62
    35
    21
    15
See reviews for
63
14
19
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

Friendly staff, nice bar and restauraunt (but pricey!), clean well kept rooms.. Better bring your car though.. Nothing very close.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnzawislak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
215 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

I stayed here for one night on business while in the Boston area. I often look at trip advisor reviews and base my hotel selection somewhat on these reviews. However, this time I have to say most of the recent reviews are way off! To summarize:

THE GOOD:
-location, right off I-495
-staff; friendly and helpful
-clean rooms; small, a bit dated despite the recent reno's, and almost no bathroon vanity but clean
-lots of hot water with good pressure

THE BAD:
-beds (at least in my room) not too comfortable
-fuzzy television reception on many stations
-side exterior door didn't lock
-over-flowing garbage cans at side doors; sidewalks littered with cigarette butts
-poorly lit working space and bathroom

THE UGLY:
-agonizingly slow internet; almost unusable
-loudest heater / ac unit I have ever experienced; had to turn it off to sleep, and the room got very cold. In fact, the heater cycling on and off on the neibouring room woke me up

There are many hotels along I-495 in this area; I will be staying at a different one next time

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToSquareBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marlborough hotels

Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
272 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

I only stayed one night here but it was very comfortable. The room was clean although the tv was a little dated. The food in the bar was great, very nice burgers. Overall a nice, convenient hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 777pj777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

Nice clean rooms, comfortable bed. Good amenities, bar, restaurant, pool. Nothing spectacular or unique but I will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gi1man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterville Valley, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

I stayed at the Holiday Inn and Suites in Marlborough, MA for one night in mid-December while in the area on business, and was generally impressed with the quality of the experience. Like many Holiday Inn properties around the country, this one has recently undergone a thorough renovation, with new materials, new furnishings, and a general freshening / upgrading throughout. The public spaces are still somewhat small (but not really cramped), but have an up-rated feel that would be at home in a four-star business class hotel.

The room renovations have a similar feel -- richer materials (granite over dark wood in the bath, comfortable chair, two hassocks for flexible seating), nice linens and an upscale feel overall. The room I was in still had a tube-style TV, though I understand all the rooms are destined for flat-panel tech eventually. The hotel's wireless internet worked seamlessly and performed well.

My only complaints -- and that's a strong word in this case -- would be about the relatively cramped accommodations in the bathroom (it's a nicely refitted OLDER hotel after all), where there wasn't any place to put my toiletries on the very small vanity top, and the fact that the climate control system didn't seem to shut off by itself regardless of the temperature you set it at, so I ended up waking up in the middle of the night BROILING. It was very cold out, so shutting the heat down brought things back to comfortable fairly quickly -- but engineering needs to work on that one.

I would be remiss in not mentioning how pleasant and helpful the staff was at this property: my colleague and I needed a place to work for the morning before he caught an afternoon flight, and the staff were very accommodating in allowing us late check-out. In general, the people here just seemed cheerful and helpful, again, in the vein of an upscale business hotel.

Overall, a very positive experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrewKnightWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

first time being away on business and i found the staff, especially the ladies at the front desk, to go above and beyond what you would typically expect from hotel staff to be helpful with everything from check-in to meals to shuttle service. They were very knowledgeable about services provided not only within the hotel, but locally as well. I have stayed at hotels before where the staff seemed bothered or acted rudely when asked a question. However, such is not the case with the staff at this Holiday Inn. They are all very, very friendly and in a genuine sort of way. I would say that being here for 2 weeks, the only downfall to this hotel is the food... the menu is a bit redundant and the food could be better. But that has to be my only complaint.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flexemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlborough
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Marlborough
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
#5 of 10 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Marlborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston Marlborough
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston - Westborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough
Address: 265 Lakeside Avenue, Marlborough, MA 01752
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering on the MetroWest region of the State, the smoke-freeHoliday Inn Hotel and Suites in Marlborough is at the Crossroads of New England in central Massachusetts. Situated on Rt. 495, minutes from Route 290 and the Mass Pike, Route 90, the hotel is surrounded by industry leaders in the fields of bio-tech, high-tech, finance and defense.We offer 153 well-appointed rooms and 20 spacious two-room suites. Suites feature a kitchenette, dining area, living room, and a king bedroom. Standard rooms include our kings and rooms with 2 double beds. Whether traveling for business or with family, our rooms are designed to fit your needs. Our 2nd and 3rd floor rooms are completely renovated with the rest of our rooms and suites scheduled for completion before summer. Hotel amenities include free parking, fitness center, indoor pool, restaurant, room service, lounge with pool table and big screen TV, on-site laundry, valet, ATM and business center. The hotel is completely smoke-free. Complimentary shuttle service is available to local companies as well as restaurants and shopping within a 5 mile radius. Downtown Boston, home of the Boston Red Sox, Bruins and Celtics and the TD BankNorth Garden, is within 40 minutes. Round trip van service to Logan Airport is available for a fee. Worcester, home of many colleges, the arts, hospitals and the DCU Center, is less than 18 miles away. The New England Sports Center is within 4 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Marlboro
Holiday Inn Marlborough
Marlborough Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing