We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even close to a Wyndham resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southcape Resort, a Festiva Destination
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mashpee
Chattanooga, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not even close to a Wyndham resort”
Reviewed 15 March 2009

We booked this resort thru RCI, as we had points leftover from Wyndham. This is not Wyndham quality, but it was clean. I probably would not stay here again, but it's not so bad that I wouldn't recommend this to other people. We were upgraded to two bedrooms, which was nice. Bed gave me a backache, which was a full size. Twin beds in other bedroom were small, my daughter complained her feet were off the bed and she is only 5'6". No TV in her room and no internet, wireless or hookup. Whirlpool tub in our unit that looked nice, but we didn't use. If you are a Scott tissue user, you may want to purchase your own. They were short on supplies and what they used for TP was very cheap! I hated it. The pool wasn't available when we got there. You had to reserve the tennis courts as outside people from the community use it. Staff was very welcoming and had wine/cheese one nite, pie another, and so on. NIce touch. One nite it was windy and the door to our unit flew open twice. I put the latch on and slept with a chair against the door that nite. I was kind of scared. Not many people at the resort, as it was winter. I had relatives in the area I was visiting as well. Also, great area for seafood! Walked along beaches and found some very nice large shells. At least you don't have to pay to park at the beach in winter. Great shopping at outlet mall near Sagamore and Filenes basement in Hyannis.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMWachholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    53
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
55
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
caracas,
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

The resort is nice, the cabin units are very comfortable and the kitchen is big enough and well provided. We had three units for 20 people and we had an extraordinary experience. Although cleaning was not 100/100 we do recommend this place.

  • Liked — big units one hor and 30 minutes distance to Boston Nice places around
  • Disliked — cleaness
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gretasosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foristell, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

My husband and I stayed at Southcape with my parents the week before high season 2008. We were in a townhouse where the deck faced the trees. The resort wasn’t as nice as other properties we have stayed at (RCI), but livable. It was a 2 bdrm, 1 king and 1 with twin beds. There were 2 bathrooms with the king room having a double-wide folding door to the bathroom and the other was next to the other bdrm with shower not tub. Original architect could’ve easily added a half bath to the downstairs – well, plumbing efficiency not there.

The folding bthrm door in the king was not repaired properly. Where it should’ve ‘locked’ it didn’t even connect. The old placement was a foot off of the new and a new magnet was not there. Therefore, the door would not fully close. New baseboards in the bathroom were not painted (I believe they should be painted before nailing in) and there were cob webs drifting around the high ceilings.

We went through our in-house supply list and realized we were missing a few necessary items. The housekeeping staff was very helpful in replacing them and even extra items, e.g. they let us have 2 fry pans, extra towels, etc. Just ask.

We did not use the pool or tennis courts – too busy - it is a convenient location. Only the king room had another TV (older). Note – we always carry a cable converter to assist our portable DVD player. Even when we stayed at a Westin with a newer TV, there was no input access – weird. We had to use it in that bdrm.

This was a vacation that also included five days in Maine, as far as the Cape goes, we preferred Maine. We can say ‘We’ve been there', but we are looking forward to going back to Maine.

  • Liked — accessability to surroundings
  • Disliked — cleaning details
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmgnpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

I would not go there again and I would not recommend it to my friends.
Our unit was so OUTDATED – I could not believe my eyes – am I in 2008 or in 1980s? The TVs are old and cheap, all furniture smells filthy, there is no internet connection in the rooms. They charge $10 /a person if you want to play tennis at their inside court. And this is for a one-hour session. The beaches around there require parking stickers or you need to pay $20 a day – no discount from the Resort!!! Just sum it all up and your additional bill results in hundreds $$ of unexpected expenses. The state park beach is just laughable if you travel somewhere else even on the Cape! Their pools? Laughable. They look 40 years old and are not clean.
In short, the resort in general seemed a bit depressed and sleepy… No fun under sun…

  • Liked — n/a
  • Disliked — most of it
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FridaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2008

My family and I visited this resort and had a great time. The resort is surrounded by nature and has all the accomodations to make your stay a pleasant one. It is in an ideal location to the beaches and ferries. Very family friendly and close by to a grocery store to stock up for your day on the beach. If you are looking to relax, this is the place to be. The staff is friendly and helpful in getting you around if you are new to the Cape.

  • Liked — Staff was amazing, everything was included in the townhouse, you can pack light
  • Disliked — not walking distance to the beach, requires a ten minute drive
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VMcGhie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2006

We had an nice stay here at the Southcape. We exchanged our timeshare with this place using Interval. We enjoyed the location of our Condo in relation to other Cape sights such as Hyannis, Martha's Vineyard, beaches, Kids museum, etc.

Very clean and friendly staff. Very spacious rooms. The furniture and decor was a bit dated, but in good shape. No high speed internet which would've been nice, but I was able to use the Mashpee Commons - 1 mile away- to use the wireless internet at Starbucks.

Everything you read from the previous reviews on this place are true.

  • Liked — Location, Cleanliness, Peaceful and semi private
  • Disliked — No jacuzzi or high speed internet
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank averagefamilyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2006

Did an Interval International exchange & lucked out to get the cape in the heart of the summer. The resort is a quiet, residential type of accommodation. If you're looking for a resort-type accommodation than this not your place. I loved the relaxation I felt after a day at the beach or site seeing. It was a short drive to one of the best beaches on the cape in Falmouth--Old Silver Beach. Although it's pricey $20/day for parking, it is well worth the charge. you have bathroom/shower facilities & also snack bar serving drinks, lunch, etc.

It was away from the hustle & bustle yet easily accessible to many areas on the cape. The resort itself is a little dated but extremely roomy. Ours was a 2 BR with 2.5 baths/washer-dryer, full kitchen. We had a patio with access to barbecue facilities. It has 2 pools & was great to enjoy an indoor pool in the early evening hours -- the indoor pool closed at 845pm. The staff was accomodating and friendly & had nightly activities--pie night, hamburger/hotdogs. We were never around to utilize them because we were always on the go. I'd stay here again if I could.

  • Liked — It was in the Cape in the Summer
  • Disliked — A little outdated, Lighting in living room was poor.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MissJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mashpee
13.1 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
7.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#1 of 4 in Mashpee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
1.6 mi away
New Seabury Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southcape Resort, a Festiva Destination? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southcape Resort, a Festiva Destination

Property: Southcape Resort, a Festiva Destination
Address: 950 Falmouth Rd, Mashpee, MA 02649-3377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Mashpee
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mashpee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Southcape Resort, a Festiva Destination 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southcape Resort & Club, a Festiva Resort, is located on one of the most desirable vacation destinations in the northeast and possibly the country; the Upper Cape of Cape Cod. The Southcape Resort & Club in Mashpee, MA, is a luxurious resort in a peaceful setting with amenities and activities for everyone to enjoy. Spend the days shopping at Mashpee Commons, fishing or boating on the sound, golfing at one of the many nearby courses or just enjoying the amenities right on the property. Southcape Resort & Club is the perfect home base for a vacation at the Cape.While the Southcape Resort & Club offers plenty of amenities to keep guests busy, there are also many exciting attractions and events around the Cape Cod area that shouldn't be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Southcape Resort, a Festiva Destination reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southcape Resort, a Festiva Hotel Mashpee
Southcape Hotel Mashpee
Southcape Resort, a Festiva Destination Cape Cod/Mashpee, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing