We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Were we a bother?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southcape Resort, a Festiva Destination
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mashpee
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Were we a bother?
1. We arrived .5 hrs early and were told our unit wasn't available- true the check-in time was 3:00 pm. We would not have the unit originally assigned as it wa being renovated.
However we could fill out the paperwork and leave them with an impression of our credit card to make key retrievable easier - for them or us?
2. Returned about an hr later to find out we had been assigned another unit as she had us confused with another party?????????. Our original unit was assigned to another couple so the renovation excuse didn't hold up.
3. Inquired as to when the unit had been recently cleaned as I found wire worms and dean insects in the REAL small bathroom. Had recently been renovated was reply. True there is new carpet, new paint and new living room furniture. Not sure about the beds- bedding appears new- Towels OLD and heaven forbid you want an extra towel to go to the pool.
4. Did an inventory- foudn we are lackign 2 glasses. So I took the form to the front desk- housekeeping will deal with this.
5. Returned today to tell them that I had lied- we did have 5 glasses-inventoried for 6-as I'd used one for a vase. Encountered my 1st FRIENDLY staff woman who was even willing to give me an extra blanket so that we can try out the hide-a-bed ( NEW) as the twins are horrible- waiting for our over 6ft tall friends to arrive and try out the master bed- no way would they make it in the twin beds.
We do like this part of the Cape in the off season. WE came to paly golf- would be nice if we could be a little more comfortable in the units.
6. TV's could be updated. Watching the Masters on this small TV will prob force us to leave and find a bar with a big screen tv- and spend more $$$$$$$$$$$$ on beverges.
This is definately not a quality resort as far as amenities are cocerned.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uvmshell51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2010

We visited in February which is not a good time, weather wise, to be on the cape but we enjoyed the accomodations. The condo was very nice, plenty of room for the five of us (three adults and two kids, 9 and 11. Large bedrooms and a bathroom for each bedroom. The only drawback was that the bathrooms were both on the second floor. A half bath (sink and toilet) on the first floor would have been handy. Otherwise it was fine. Very nice pool, fitness room and indoor tennis that we didn't use. The folks in the office were nice, and friendly, as were the housekeepers. The small aquarium at Woods Hole was nice and the Sandwich Glass Museum was interesting too. We also drove to Fall River to see the Naval ship museum display and it was great. It even kept the kids totally interested. It's worth the trip of a bit over an hour.
I woul definately recommend the Southcape Resort but I might not recommend going to the cape in February.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brown4185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

So we must agree with several of the other reviews - straight out this place is just tolerable. We did an Interval exchange based on the amenities and such described. Not accurate! Since we did many side trips we were able to overlook many of the short-comings. However, it was rather disheartening to experience the 'cold, indifferent, and annoyed' attitude of the staff. We arrived in the pouring rain after traveling for more than a full day. The greeting was less than expected as the lady in charge expressed much displeasure with the fact that our arrival was later in the evening and disrupted her evening. The accomidations were not what we had requested and the next morning we asked to be moved. After two days and several 'gentle' inquiries we were moved. Keep in mind, the resort is less than 1/3 full this time of year. Our experiences with the hosts of this property is one of complete indifference. They either don't want to help you find your way (groceries, firewood, or restaurants) or are avoiding being bothered by housekeeping requests (lacking toilet paper, no linens, or pillows). However 'IF' you are a local and wish to use the tennis facilities - you're golden. The amenities are very dated and in need of serious repair. If your are looking for a bed to sleep in and a kitchen to cook in, you will be fine. But if you are looking for New England flavor and hospitality - keep looking. We know their is better in the Cape we just made a bad choice this time.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dragon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Townhouses as described in other reviews. Staff was very helpful with local directions and attempting to correct an electrical problem. The cabins have a rustic look inside with lots of brick and wood. But you won't mistake this for a 4-star resort. Although generally well maintained with fresh paint, it shows its age. We had a curious electrical problem that regularly took out 3 circuits, including the refridgerator and heating system, without tripping any of the circuit breakers. We had to fix it each time by banging on the breaker box. I don't know how, but it always worked. The GFIC test in the box didn't work. All of this made me pretty nervous about how closely the wiring complied with code. Southcape is in a good central location between Falmouth and Hyannis and we didn't spend much time at the resort as long as the weather was good. But it's not my idea of the quality I expect in a timeshare. I'd look elsewhere when exchanging.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RamsHeadFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

The outside of the place has been renovated, but the inside hasn't been renovated since the '80's. The decor is in bad taste, the paint is peeling, and our unit had several things that were broken. The furniture was uncomfortable, and the place had bugs. there was no towel or sheet exchange, except for wednesdays and then you had to drive accross the complex to housekeeping office to get new ones. Our unit had big carpenter ants !! we left early it was such a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lavenderlady_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

We booked this resort thru RCI, as we had points leftover from Wyndham. This is not Wyndham quality, but it was clean. I probably would not stay here again, but it's not so bad that I wouldn't recommend this to other people. We were upgraded to two bedrooms, which was nice. Bed gave me a backache, which was a full size. Twin beds in other bedroom were small, my daughter complained her feet were off the bed and she is only 5'6". No TV in her room and no internet, wireless or hookup. Whirlpool tub in our unit that looked nice, but we didn't use. If you are a Scott tissue user, you may want to purchase your own. They were short on supplies and what they used for TP was very cheap! I hated it. The pool wasn't available when we got there. You had to reserve the tennis courts as outside people from the community use it. Staff was very welcoming and had wine/cheese one nite, pie another, and so on. NIce touch. One nite it was windy and the door to our unit flew open twice. I put the latch on and slept with a chair against the door that nite. I was kind of scared. Not many people at the resort, as it was winter. I had relatives in the area I was visiting as well. Also, great area for seafood! Walked along beaches and found some very nice large shells. At least you don't have to pay to park at the beach in winter. Great shopping at outlet mall near Sagamore and Filenes basement in Hyannis.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMWachholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

The resort is nice, the cabin units are very comfortable and the kitchen is big enough and well provided. We had three units for 20 people and we had an extraordinary experience. Although cleaning was not 100/100 we do recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank gretasosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mashpee
12.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
5.8 mi away
Admiralty Inn and Suites
Admiralty Inn and Suites
#17 of 20 in Falmouth
235 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#1 of 4 in Mashpee
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
New Seabury Resort and Conference Center
11.0 mi away
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southcape Resort, a Festiva Destination? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southcape Resort, a Festiva Destination

Address: 950 Falmouth Rd, Mashpee, MA 02649-3377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Mashpee
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mashpee
Price Range: £95 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Southcape Resort, a Festiva Destination 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southcape Resort & Club, a Festiva Resort, is located on one of the most desirable vacation destinations in the northeast and possibly the country; the Upper Cape of Cape Cod. The Southcape Resort & Club in Mashpee, MA, is a luxurious resort in a peaceful setting with amenities and activities for everyone to enjoy. Spend the days shopping at Mashpee Commons, fishing or boating on the sound, golfing at one of the many nearby courses or just enjoying the amenities right on the property. Southcape Resort & Club is the perfect home base for a vacation at the Cape.While the Southcape Resort & Club offers plenty of amenities to keep guests busy, there are also many exciting attractions and events around the Cape Cod area that shouldn't be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Southcape Resort, a Festiva Destination reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southcape Resort, a Festiva Hotel Mashpee
Southcape Hotel Mashpee
Southcape Resort, a Festiva Destination Cape Cod/Mashpee, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing