We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal”

The Inn on Shipyard Park
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Mattapoisett
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Inn is the oldest seaside inn in the nation, still operating as an inn, in its original structure. A short walk to beaches, sailing, fishing, and golf, The Inn is located in the heart of Mattapoisett Village, across from the Town Wharf. Boasting small town flavor in a relaxing setting, The Inn is open year-round.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews on this restaurant I was hesitant to try it. That would have been a mistake. The place was quite busy on a Friday evening which was a good sign. We ordered house wine (more on that later) which was promptly served along with a basket of bread with flavored olive oil which was very tasty. The filet mignon was cooked to perfection - medium rare, and was tender and delicious. The potato and asparagus were also cooked perfectly. The service could have been a bit better. The wait for our check was longer than it should have been. I would have given a 5 star review except for the fact that we were charged an outrageous $9 for the house Pinot Grigio. The house Chardonnay was a more reasonable $7. This is a very good restaurant across from Mattapoisett harbor. I would recommend it but keep your eye on the bar bill.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    29
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bedford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Great atmosphere, not so great food”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We've always enjoyed the pub like atmosphere and delicious dinners at the previously owned and named Kinsale Inn. Last night was our first dinner since ownership changed and we had high hopes. As business owners, we know how difficult it is to start and run a new business, especially a restaurant, so we hoped for the best. We arrived early (6:00) and the restaurant was busy so all looked good. Disappointment....the bread served was bland and the olive oil dip had a strange taste to it. Lobster roll appetizer had an excellent shell, but the filling with few pieces of lobster was mediocre. Our entrees were good, but nothing to rave about. Key lime pie was excellent but the large beautiful chocolate layer cake, enough for 3 people, was still hard, either still frozen, or last week's dessert...inedible. We sent it back and weren't charged for it. Had we not had the dessert and the appetizers, we would have said 4 stars in this review. We're hopeful that they will be able to overcome their difficulties, as it is a lovely town and lovely historic inn.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JANET S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“After 25 years still great”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We had our wedding reception at the Inn 25 years ago this week even though the ownership has changed twice the caring has not, we were treated so well. They have worked hard on trying to restore the old Inn back to where it was and belongs along with the food and service. The weekend bartenders like Jeff and Ryan make your visit even more enjoyable. Please don't miss the opportunity to enjoy this historic Inn if you are anywhere near.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandmheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
125 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good appetizers, bad fish”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Decent service and tasty appetizers (chourico and shrimp quesadilla and excellent crab cake), nice hot bread, and good service. The problem was our baked haddock - two of three entrees were dry and fishy tasting - not good for waterside dining in Southeastern, MA. I'm not sure if this was on the cook or if they were sitting under a heat lamp (which would be on the service). Probably best for pub grub. You have the choice of dining in a dark pub area or a brighter, colonial style dining room, with a few water veiw tables.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JorjeJaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

The fish was old and inedible. The meatloaf was OK but a bit dry. The onion rings were out of a box. The only decent thing was the hamburger and that was only mediocre. This used to be a destination for good food but that was two owners ago when they had dishes like buttermilk lobster with delicious sauce. This is sadly no longer a destination spot. Here's hoping they hire a new chef and put together a better menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuddyPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Inn on Shipyard Park also viewed

 

Been to The Inn on Shipyard Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing