We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now called Ying Dynasty”
Review of Cathay Temple - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cathay Temple
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Now called Ying Dynasty”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The food and service are very good. I often have oyster beef and wonton soup. The quantities are generous and the atmosphere is also good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PatofAucoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairhaven, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Noise”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I went for lunch on Sun. Mar. 24, 2013. As soon as my friend and I walked in the door, there were kids running up and down the restaurant and screaming. We almost walked out, but didn't. We regretted that. The food was good but not as good as the last time I was there. The kids never stopped their screaming and running around. I believe they were relatives of the owner. We will never go there again , especially on Sundays or for that matter school vacations. If the owners won't control their children in their business, how do they expect to be successful? I still haven't gotten over this experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Better than it used to be”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Decent Chinese and better than it used to be but nothing spectacular. At least they serve a wide variety of food not just cantonese glop.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BuddyPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
138 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ying Dynasty”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I have ordered take out many, many times as well as dined in. The food is extremely well prepared, I especially love the Wonton Soup, Spring Rolls, & the Mongolian Steak. I have sampled most of what their menu has to offer, another favorite is the Pork Egg Foo Young as well as the whole crispy fish. When I order the fish I do ask for the sauce to be set on the side, otherwise it will smother the fish and take away from the flavor. I have always enjoyed their dishes and highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank badsaltydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ying Dynasty - new name”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Love this place - go quite often and have never been disappointed. Excellent food with great prices. They also make a great scorpion bowl for 2.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathay Temple also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing