We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would go again.”
Review of Not Your Average Joe's - CLOSED

Not Your Average Joe's
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 16
Transit: We are located in the Station Landing Complex, across the Skywalk from the Wellington T stop on the Orange Line.
Description: What does creative casual cuisine mean? Exactly what it says. We"re creative, because we reject the same-old-same-old in favor of tastes that are interesting and unique. We're casual because while our food may be worth getting dressed up for, we invite you to come as you are. We're all about cuisine in the sense that our chefs apply high standards of culinary art. There it is. Creative. Casual. Cuisine. If it sounds like your kind of place, then you – like us- are not your average Joe.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I would go again.”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The decor is very appealing - simple, clean but fun. The service was outstanding! I like to ask for recommendations and the server did me right. I had the tuna (real tuna) salad and would have it again and again. The rest of the group was also happy with their food. The pizza was good as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Check out the half price appetizers in the bar 3 to 6pm”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

NYAJ's is an upscale small chain that turns out consistently tasty food using locally sourced ingredients to good effect. Now, in April, 20 quality wines available for $20/bottle, a great deal.
The regular wine list has several other excellent wines, all are well chosen and well priced.
What we really love is the half price/full portion appetizers deal in the bar/lounge area from 3 to 6pm and again the last hour they're open, 7 days/week. It's easy to make a meal of such tasty treats as the seared Ahi tuna on crispy wontons, the Thai chicken lettuce wraps, the buffalo jerk chicken tenders, the crispy calamari, the vegetable spring rolls, the crab cakes and so on.
Beers on draft are served icy cold, each month there are 3 or so special local ales, always a delicious IPA, this month from Martha's Vineyard to go with the regular Harpoon and Dogfish Head selections. The addition of Dale's Pale Ale in cans from Oscar Blues Brewery an is a real treat for beer lovers, too.
Decor is bright and clean, service is always cheerful and efficient. The location is in the Station Landing development, plenty of free parking.
In short, this is a well-run, very pleasant, excellent value restaurant and bar that delivers consistently good food and drink. The standard menu is enhanced with monthly food and drink specials to keep it all fresh and lively.
There are 15 NYAJ's locations scattered around the Boston metro region, we've tried 5 others and been satisfied to very pleased with each. The Medford location is a standout.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bostonmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Dinner with Friends”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I was in the area for a conference and our group wanted to eat American-style cuisine for dinner. A friend in our group who lives in the neighborhood recommended Not Your Average Joe. It was a Saturday night and we had a group of eight people with no reservations. The hostess was very accommodating and had us seated in less time than then we were quoted, always a plus! While we were waiting we were able to try samples of their four cheese pizza. It helped to curb my appetite and also was very tasty. It makes a great appetizer for the table.

We had very good service. Our waiter was very attentive to the dining needs of our group. I love it when I go out and don’t have to constantly ask the server to refill drinks or bring more bread to the table.

Everyone in our group enjoyed their meals and the service. There is something on the menu for everyone and although the entrees are American-style, some of the dishes have an international twist that works to enhance the flavors. I was definitely impressed by this local chain restaurant and would recommend it to others.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaliyah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This seems to be just an average chain restaurant. The food we ordered turned out to be nothing special, a little on the greasy side. The waitstaff was very nice and attentive however. I probably wouldn't eat here again with so many other choices nearby.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jillem1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, generous portions!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The place is basically brand new. Great atmosphere and the food is fantastic. Full bar with beer and good selection of wines. They offer progressive discounts for your next visits, which are really worth it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeonardoReichardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Not Your Average Joe's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing