We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Relaxing, & Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Medford
GreenLeadersSilver level
Moneta, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Friendly, Relaxing, & Comfortable”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I was pleasantly surprised! Being from the south among Northern folk turned out to be a wonderful experience. EVERYONE was so friendly and willing to help us out-of-towners, especially Steve. Our main destination was the Charles Ro Lionel train store in Malden for their annual open house. This hotel was convenient to Boston, Cambridge and Malden. The hotel shuttle took us to the subway/metro and we could get to Boston within about 15 or 20 minutes (shorter if we had taken a taxi or rented a car). Medford was a charming town, and there were restaurants and shops within walking distance. There are at least 5 Dunkin Donut shops within about 5 miles, and there is a small but adequate mall within 5 minutes. The hotel was clean. The rooms were large in my opinion. We could have probably slept 6 in our room with two double beds and a sofa bed. The beds were quite comfortable, and the price was right. Also, the hot breakfast bar was well stocked and tasty, and I liked the options at the deli/bar. We didn't get a chance to try out the indoor pool, but it looked inviting. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
I hope your trip to the train store was successful this year and glad that you found most of the Dunkin' Donuts in the area! We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    333
    126
    50
    38
See reviews for
384
147
38
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peapack-Gladstone, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Their room layout is uncomfortable, toilet and tub are in tiny room with no space to move around, tub is so small it's impossible to turn around, sink and vanity area not private, bed is too close to radiator, limited access to closet which had broken sliding door. Cleaning staff indifferent to pillow left in foyer for 18 hours, crumbs on carpet next to elevator. Only pluses were tazo tea for breakfast and nice small sleep pillows. No repeat visit is anticipated.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank babette50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and are working with the Hosts to make the changes that we can. While we cannot change the layout of a typical Hyatt Place guestroom, one of Hyatt's other brands may provide a more comfortable configuration for your travels. A contemporary feel, like ours, can be found at Andaz hotels; a Hyatt house property would provide more space for example.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Montgomery, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We needed a place to stay while visiting the kids at school and found this to be a very comfortable place to stay. I was flying in from California and my husband was driving up from New York, and we both arrived very late. The first night we were in a room directly across from the elevator which turned out to be a bit noisy so we got little sleep. After I brought this to the attention of the front desk staff and manager the problem was quickly fixed with a room change. I would suggest booking a room on the higher floors and on the side of the building away from the noise and traffic of the highway. Our second room was on the side facing the back parking lot, and, except for the garbage truck on Monday morning at 6 AM, it was VERY quiet. The breakfast nice and even on the morning we went downstairs late, there was plenty of good food left. The staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful. The only downside is that the bathrooms are extremely small and could use some renovations. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Boston area, especially if you have a car and can get around. The price is MUCH better than if you stayed in Boston itself, and it is so close to the city.

Room Tip: Book a room on a higher floor and is facing the back parking lot...those rooms are much more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzny22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently, we are glad we could provide a good meeting place since you were traveling from different directions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel is in a good location, especially for Tufts University (Go Jumbos).
There is plenty of parking either below in the garage or on the first level in the back, convenient location to the highway (I-93/95). Place could use an upgrade / remodel. Not much to do in the vicinity of the hotel, heck the CVS Pharmacy is closed by 9 pm. Best hotel to stay at when visiting Tufts.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for the nice comments, we are glad to see you found the location and price met your needs so well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Gives you the essentials ... Decent bed, consistent wifi, and free continental breakfast.

The staff is nice as we'll and very helpful.

It's not very close to boston nightlife and things shut down early, but other than that it's ok. If you want good late, there's not a lot of options.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sleepylloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
We appreciate your note about our Hosts - it is great to hear that the human touch was a highlight!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights last week during our first visit to Boston. The hotel is your standard Hyatt Place, thus, it provides nice modern amenities and services. Our room was fairly large, had a big HD flat screen, and a comfortable bed and pillows. One thing lacking though, is an in-room safe. They should put them in. The morning buffet is a step up from most, and offers a nice array of items. Parking on site is plentiful, convenient and most importantly: FREE. The hotel is just off the interstate, and only about 4-5 miles from downtown. Overall, the hotel, although not cheap, is a good value for pricey Boston.
Some other notes: Boston traffic is a nightmare, thus for our two days of sightseeing, we booked the Old Town trolley tour, and found a lot near their stop 13 in Cambridge, so as to not have to drive into the city. The tour is definitely a good value and the way to see the city. The JFK Library had just reopened after the Govt shutdown, and is definitely a must see.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank c1902c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
We are glad to see you enjoyed the trip to Boston and discovered the alternative to parking and driving in the city. Many of our guests enjoy leaving their vehicles in our complimentary parking lots and taking the shuttle to the subway stations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

When you pay more than $300 per night for a room, you would expect a 4 star quality. The amenities and services at this hotel were very basic. The room was spacious but not very clean. The toiletry was limited. The breakfast room is small and can get very crowded. The breakfast did not include many varieties. On the positive side, the front desk staff were friendly. Underground free parking was available. The hotel is conveniently located and many restaurants and small shops are within a walking distance.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mohdriad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your note, glad you found the Medford Square shops and restaurants - it is nice to be able to offer a neighborhood feel at a suburban hotel. Boston hotel prices are higher in October as many events are held in the city and, of course, the Fall Foliage brings many visitors to New England in general.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medford
1.6 mi away
AC Hotel Boston North
AC Hotel Boston North
#1 of 2 in Medford
163 reviews
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#8 of 20 in Cambridge
103 reviews
2.7 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
4 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Boston/Medford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Boston/Medford

Property: Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
Address: 116 Riverside Ave, Medford, MA 02155-4609
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Medford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Boston/Medford 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near downtown Boston and only eight miles from Logan International Airport, Hyatt Place Boston/Medford is the ideal choice for casual travelers visiting Bean Town. Our beautifully designed accommodations and travel enhancing amenities create a seamless experience, so you have the simple essentials on your own time. Enjoy modern conveniences and up-close access to our vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Boston/Medford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Medford Hotel Medford
Medford Hyatt Place
Hyatt Medford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing